Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

That bint on the late late

• 29-10-2011 2:46am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,089 ✭✭✭

Did anyone see that medium/healer wagon on the LLS tonight?
    Claims to speak to John Lennon regularly and read a poem 'dictated' to her by the spirit of George Bernard Shaw. His eloquence seems to hav slipped somewhat.
    More worrying was her claims of diagnosing and treating illnesses.
    Scandalous how she was given so much airtime by the national broadcaster, she was on longer than anyone tonight even though she showed herself up as a complete charlatan to anyone but the most vulnerable, who she obviously preys on.
    Interesting to compare her appearance with that of Richard Dawkins in 2009,its on YouTube, he was treated like a bit of a madman and put up against a priest for an argument while there was just an ordinary punter in the audience to doubt this con woman

/rant

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 7,225 ✭✭✭Yitzhak Rabin

She was fairly dire alright.

For example the girl she said "had an accident" when she was younger that took away her confidence. She had a scar on her face that was obviously old, so that was a safe bet that any young girl who has a scar on her face would have had her confidence effected.

Then the usual excuse was trotted out when she got a prediction wrong. "perhaps you're too negative"

• Closed Accounts Posts: 220 ✭✭EKClarke

If no one saw it, (I didn't bother watching it), it's 54:35 into the RTÉ Player.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,720 ✭✭✭Sid_Justice

I do agree it is genuinely scary how much air time this type of stuff gets on the late late. Is it because it's just entertaining to the masses seeing people like this try their parlour tricks live on camera?

Or are people in Ireland genuinely interested / open to this kind of thing and believe it?

It wasn't too long ago the lad who had visions of 'Holy Mary' was given his 15 mins of fame.

This woman appears to me to be a manipulator. If you look at her body language and how she talks, what she stresses etc. she appears to me to be disingenuous. It's very sad really.

Also all her evidence is anecdotal and she always give some example of an authority figure acknowledging and validating her claims.
    I'd also question how ethical it is to publicly heal someone and diagnose their medical problems in front of an audience.
    And when she's talking to the young girl in the audience you can see her apply the tricks of her trade as she compliments her. What she does is nothing a mentalist can't do and they don't claim to be Ghost Busters.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,188 ✭✭✭UDP

Yet again RTE giving the crazies a stage on national tv. I dont see why someone like Dawkins goes on the same show and is effectively ridiculed for pointing out the obvious but crazy people like joe coleman, that crazy medjugorje woman and this loon come on and are given air time to spread their crazy talk instead of being properly challenged. Shame on RTE once more.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,089 ✭✭✭henryporter

They had to bring her on - it was the only way of communicating with Ryan Turdboy who's a complete corpse :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,048 ✭✭✭vampire of kilmainham

i dinent see the LLS i very rareley watch it anyway cant stand that turdhead tubbers he makes me puke

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,062 ✭✭✭number10a

EKClarke wrote: »
    This woman appears to me to be a manipulator. If you look at her body language and how she talks, what she stresses etc. she appears to me to be disingenuous. It's very sad really.

I noticed this too. Before last night, I would have said I couldn't read body language very well, but this woman's body language was screaming "LIES, LIES, LIES!!!". And that shìte about John Lennon telling her to "Turn that bloody hoover off. I want to talk to you." - I nearly wet myself at that point.

I think a big problem is that a lot of the LLS's audience are Catholics, or at least tick the Catholic box in the census. Richard Dawkins gets booed and ridiculed (Looking at the clip I imagine something like this running through people's minds - "Who does that English fella think he is coming over here knocking my religion?! Sure I'm Irish, of course I'm going to be Catholic.") while on the other hand everyone sits back and takes this woman's word as gospel.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 23,316 ✭✭✭✭amacachi

number10a wrote: »
    I noticed this too. Before last night, I would have said I couldn't read body language very well, but this woman's body language was screaming "LIES, LIES, LIES!!!". And that shìte about John Lennon telling her to "Turn that bloody hoover off. I want to talk to you." - I nearly wet myself at that point.

I think a big problem is that a lot of the LLS's audience are Catholics, or at least tick the Catholic box in the census. Richard Dawkins gets booed and ridiculed (Looking at the clip I imagine something like this running through people's minds - "Who does that English fella think he is coming over here knocking my religion?! Sure I'm Irish, of course I'm going to be Catholic.") while on the other hand everyone sits back and takes this woman's word as gospel.

Surely believing her would guarantee a Catholic place in hell?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,992 ✭✭✭✭recedite

Impressive how she diagnosed a stomach ulcer in that girl though.....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,132 ✭✭✭The Quadratic Equation

I do agree it is genuinely scary how much air time this type of stuff gets on the late late. Is it because it's just entertaining to the masses seeing people like this try their parlour tricks live on camera?

Or are people in Ireland genuinely interested / open to this kind of thing and believe it?

It's because its the only level of debate FF tubs is able for and gets to look smug.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,062 ✭✭✭number10a

amacachi wrote: »
    Surely believing her would guarantee a Catholic place in hell?

But that's the cruel irony really. It goes completely against Catholic teaching to believe someone who says they can communicate with the dead, yet the same people who proudly (and mindlessly) declare themselves Catholic haven't the faintest idea of their own religion let alone this obscure point. I would challenge any Catholic to a quiz on their own religion and I reckon I would win hands down in 99% of cases - and that's having never sat down to study it.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 5,172 ✭✭✭Ghost Buster

number10a wrote: »
    But that's the cruel irony really. It goes completely against Catholic teaching to believe someone who says they can communicate with the dead, yet the same people who proudly (and mindlessly) declare themselves Catholic haven't the faintest idea of their own religion let alone this obscure point. I would challenge any Catholic to a quiz on their own religion and I reckon I would win hands down in 99% of cases - and that's having never sat down to study it.

More than a little OT but your post reminded me of a vox pop from the RTE News at 6. They were out on the streets of Galway getting opinions on Mick d Higgins presidency and one lady declared that she would like to see him "promote Ireland as a catholic country. We are letting our culture become eroded" (Rough quote). Cultural catholicism confirmed!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,371 ✭✭✭✭Zillah

I adore this thread title. That is all.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,872 ✭✭✭strobe

That glasses guy in the blue jumper. I want to have his babies.

"poems from George Bernard Shaw, who's writing has deteriorated badly in the spirit world I'm afraid..."

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,872 ✭✭✭strobe

recedite wrote: »
    Impressive how she diagnosed a stomach ulcer in that girl though.....

250px-PortraitOfAnIguana.jpg

^^^

That's the 'Are you taking the fucking piss or not, I can't really tell' iguana. He shows up in threads whenever he is unsure whether or not people are taking the fucking piss.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 7,225 ✭✭✭Yitzhak Rabin

strobe wrote: »

^^^

That's the 'Are you taking the fucking piss or not, I can't really tell' iguana. He shows up in threads whenever he is unsure whether or not people are taking the fucking piss.

Genuine question. Why did she say stomach ulcer? I know she started vague wit the 'problem on this side of the body' sh1te. But she did home in on the acid reflux/ulcer problem very fast. I don't beleive her for a second. But how did she score that hit (remeber, this is a live show, unlike the others where hits can be edited together)

I'm not defending her. I think shes a fraud, but what method did she use to score such a hit early on.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,485 ✭✭✭✭Ickle Magoo

She spent a heap of time with both audience members and we weren't privy to what she was saying/asking...I'd be amazed if she didn't use that time to do a "full body check" and hone in on the body language/answers to "diagnose".

She was so passive aggressive - trying to use that breathy lilty voice until anyone dare question her then the mask slipped...she made predictions about two audience members that they looked completely lost and confused about then suggested someone with a huge facial scar had an accident when they were younger and confidence issues - my five year old could have matched if not beaten her "skills"! :pac:

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 24,427 Mod ✭✭✭✭robindch

yekahS wrote: »
    what method did she use to score such a hit early on.
    The second easiest method is to listen to the audience as they're streaming in and either catch whatever they say, or have confederates pump them for info, then feed whatever you learn back to the fraud on the stage.

James Randi famously cracked the religious preacher Peter Poppoff years ago doing just this:

The easiest way is just to have friends in the audience.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30,746 ✭✭✭✭Galvasean

Was it as bad as that woman who had a machine that sees angels (during Pat Kenny's reign)?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 23,316 ✭✭✭✭amacachi

yekahS wrote: »
    Genuine question. Why did she say stomach ulcer? I know she started vague wit the 'problem on this side of the body' sh1te. But she did home in on the acid reflux/ulcer problem very fast. I don't beleive her for a second. But how did she score that hit (remeber, this is a live show, unlike the others where hits can be edited together)

I'm not defending her. I think shes a fraud, but what method did she use to score such a hit early on.

She said something about a baby before she got a hit. Also if someone in their thirties is fussy enough they all have a stomach ulcer, they're really not uncommon. Also as someone said it's easy to get information in advance. Yer one Psychic Sally actually gets people to put what they want to hear in a box before a show and they're surprised when she says it back to them.

Without meaning to cast aspersions on the lady who was on the show I'd be surprised if there isn't a characteristic smell of someone's breath when they have a stomach ulcer. Or she may have had to fill out something saying what medication she was on. Or she may have smelled of Rennie. :pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,992 ✭✭✭✭recedite

strobe wrote: »

That's the 'Are you taking the fucking piss or not, I can't really tell' iguana.

Nice one. Just wondering what other people thought about the method. :D
    robindch wrote: »
    The second easiest method is to listen to the audience as they're streaming in and either catch whatever they say, or have confederates pump them for info, then feed whatever you learn back to the fraud on the stage.

I reckon that's the most likely explanation, apparently the studio audience arrives well before the show and waits in a lobby area before going in. This is the time they all chat among themselves about their problems/dead relatives, so the psychic fraudster's assistants mingle with them then. Later they relay the info as per "Psychic Sally" in Dublin recently.

So if that's the second easiest method, what's the easiest?
    Actually being psychic? :pac:
    edit; ah right... "having friends in the audience".. but in this case Tubbs said he supplied the whingers himself.