Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Builders...

• 28-10-2011 11:01am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,080 ✭✭✭✭

...have been waking me up at 8am for the past 3 months. They are working on the house next door, which is practically being rebuild by the looks of things - except it still only looks half finished.

We live on a tiny road and my bedroom is at the front of the house on ground floor, so they are hammering away literally about 10 feet from where I sleep. Sounds like they are actually in the room with me.

I might have to do a murder.*

*this does not count as a confession.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,455 ✭✭✭Where To

Thats great news OP, you can put your alarm clock on adverts.ie

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,918 ✭✭✭✭orourkeda

still in bed at 8am?

You must enjoy your lie ins

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,688 ✭✭✭Kasabian

Sorry OP the lads are on Boards all day, we are not getting anything done. Should have been out in a week.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,647 ✭✭✭✭Fago!

orourkeda wrote: »
    still in bed at 8am?

You must enjoy your lie ins

I just woke up. AAAAHAHAHAHA!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,762 ✭✭✭✭Princess Consuela Bananahammock

Tusky wrote: »

I might have to do a murder.*

*this does not count as a confession.

It foes to the Futurecrime division...

Everything I don't like is either woke or fascist - possibly both - pick one.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,080 ✭✭✭✭Tusky

This morning it sounded like one of them was trying to murder a piece of metal with another piece of metal. This went on from 8:00 - 8:30am. He then stopped and made a phonecall to his girlfriend. I heard every word. By the end of it I was looking forward to him hammering the metal again.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 441 ✭✭godscop

Typical Poles not respect...:)

godscop wrote: »
    Typical Poles not respect...:)

They're Irish! Nice lads too, just wish they would stop waking me up (I work late).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,231 ✭✭✭✭ejmaztec

They're Irish! Nice lads too, just wish they would stop waking me up (I work late).

Irish builders building? You should capture them for further study.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,751 ✭✭✭Saila

This morning it sounded like one of them was trying to murder a piece of metal with another piece of metal. This went on from 8:00 - 8:30am. He then stopped and made a phonecall to his girlfriend. when I heard listened really really hard I could hear every word. By the end of it I was looking forward to him hammering the metal again.

thats better.. adjusted for realism

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,559 ✭✭✭blaze1

Ha, you sound like my neighbour who has been giving out for the last 2 weeks.....

Hope you dont have to get work done in your own gaff at any stage op.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,417 ✭✭✭Miguel_Sanchez

I think I know what street you live on Tusky....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,145 ✭✭✭LETHAL LADY

Do they all have great cracks?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,790 ✭✭✭Feisar

Whats the watershed when it comes to noise? Might be 9 o clock. Check that out. Or have a word with the neighbor and see if work can be done elsewhere till 10 in the morning or something.

Although 8 o clock??? It really is time to be making a stab at the day at that stage!

First they came for the socialists...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,790 ✭✭✭Feisar

Soz, just seen you work late, I was a bartender back in the day myself. Its a pain in the hole being woken up.

Chat to your neighbor.

First they came for the socialists...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,953 ✭✭✭aujopimur

I had to read this a second time.

I think I know what street you live on Tusky....

Oh yeah? Give me the general area/initials of street!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,219 ✭✭✭woodoo

I feel for you. I just got up there at 12 made a fry. Thats the way to spend a morning :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,417 ✭✭✭Miguel_Sanchez

Oh yeah? Give me the general area/initials of street!

V Road.
    D 7.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,073 ✭✭✭Rubberlegs

blaze1 wrote: »
    Ha, you sound like my neighbour who has been giving out for the last 2 weeks.....

Hope you dont have to get work done in your own gaff at any stage op.

Precisely. Had a lot of work done to our house, and have been asked several times by the neighbours will it ever be done. When you're on shift work, funds are low, and ya can't hang a bloody picture on the wall after lunchtime at the weekends, and you're in giving out, not any time soon:mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,193 ✭✭✭✭Kerrydude1981

Invest in some ear plugs op,might sort ur problem while the work is been done next door

V Road.
    D 7.

Nay. I'm in D8. Appears I am not alone with my problem then!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,389 ✭✭✭mattjack

what's a builder ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,654 ✭✭✭cruiser178

This morning it sounded like one of them was trying to murder a piece of metal with another piece of metal. This went on from 8:00 - 8:30am. He then stopped and made a phonecall to his girlfriend. I heard every word. By the end of it I was looking forward to him hammering the metal again.

was it a sexy kinda phone call? what exactly did he say just so we all have a clear picture of your situtation.