Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Voting using pencils???

• 27-10-2011 8:39pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,377 ✭✭✭

Went into vote today, wont say where. I wasnt asked for any ID and all they had to mark my selections were pencils??? Wtf, sure anyone can rub out what i put down and change my selection. They probably wouldnt but still the system is open to abuse. Why not use a biro ffs.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,117 ✭✭✭✭MrJoeSoap

Warper wrote: »
    Went into vote today, wont say where. I wasnt asked for any ID and all they had to mark my selections were pencils??? Wtf, sure anyone can rub out what i put down and change my selection. They probably wouldnt but still the system is open to abuse. Why not use a biro ffs.

Support the Irish pencil industry you cheapskate.

Nobody is going around rubbing out your votes ya lunatic.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,377 ✭✭✭Warper

MrJoeSoap wrote: »
    Support the Irish pencil industry you cheapskate.

Nobody is going around rubbing out your votes ya lunatic.

They are, I can feel it

Then just vote the way they want you to vote, problem solved.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,536 ✭✭✭Mark200

If you have ever voted before then you should have been given a pencil then too. Also if you've ever seen a count centre you would know its virtually impossible for someone to change your vote without everyone seeing

Mark200 wrote: »
    If you have ever voted before then you should have been given a pencil then too. Also if you've ever seen a count centre you would know its virtually impossible for someone to change your vote without everyone seeing

Yeah but what about the overnight ballot pixies with the rubbers?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,571 ✭✭✭Aoifey!

Are you sure you actually went to vote and didn't just stay home and draw a picture?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,160 ✭✭✭Eurovisionmad

If they were rubbed out they would be considered spoilt, there's no rubber in the ballot box so any rubbed out marking would be considered to be evidence of tampering, if you do need to change something you ask the presiding officer for a new ballot paper and he takes the spoilt one.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 365 ✭✭shofukan

Roughly 1/3 of people are checked for id.
    If there are eraser marks on the page, the vote is counted as spoilt.
    - A poll clerk.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,076 ✭✭✭Eathrin

Come back here with your theories when Dana is president.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 34,418 ✭✭✭✭hondasam

you should have brought your own biro, I used a biro that was there.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,688 ✭✭✭Kasabian

They had a selection of crayons where I voted. I stayed for hours.

Kasabian wrote: »
    They had a selection of crayons where I voted. I stayed for hours.

Did you vote in your old classroom?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,798 ✭✭✭Local-womanizer

hondasam wrote: »

I did, the place is actually nice now, the little feckers :mad: I made that place what it is today with all our fund-raising!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,756 ✭✭✭InkSlinger67

They were wax pencils ftw!

Yes. I even hung the picture I coloured in for teacher, it will be a lovely surprise when she gets back.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,848 ✭✭✭bleg

They're all laughing at us with our pencils!

Kasabian wrote: »
    Yes. I even hung the picture I coloured in for teacher, it will be a lovely surprise when she gets back.

Were you teacher's pet? I hope it was a nice pic and not rude:pac:

I was the best child at school. I drew a pony. I was upset that I hadn't brought "my little pony" lunch box, could have had it at the desk while staying between the lines.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 854 ✭✭✭Caraville

Jaysus talk about a bad dose of the Jim Corrs OP

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,293 ✭✭✭✭Mint Sauce

You'd think we would have got with the times and got electronic voting machines......

irish-stew wrote: »
    You'd think we would have got with the times and got electronic voting machines......

If only someone thought of that, could be done relatively cheaply.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,739 ✭✭✭✭starbelgrade

irish-stew wrote: »

They invested in electronic counting machines this year.

Someone told me that they're called "calculators" or some such thing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,509 ✭✭✭✭randylonghorn

The voter will go into one of the compartments, and, with the pencil provided there, mark his ballot paper by placing the figure 1 opposite the name of the candidate for whom he votes. He may also place the figures 2, 3, and so on, in accordance with the order of his choice or preference opposite the names of other candidates (that is to say): he must place the figure 1 opposite to the name of the candidate for whom he votes;

Irish Electoral Act 1923

Mind you, I have no idea whether that's the most up to date one, but given the pencils are still around ...

Plus if they provided pens everyone would walk away with them, like they do at the Lotto booths!
    They're all on the pill now ...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 107 ✭✭immature ejaculation

I used a coloring pencil. It was blue!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,178 ✭✭✭Bob the Seducer

Aren't they... you know, indelible pencils, ie; the ones you can't rub out?

I'll feck off with my logic/common sense now, carry on!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,909 ✭✭✭✭Wertz

always thought it was because no-one steals pencils.

Think pens and ink were also a lot messier back when election guidleines were drawn up...smudging and other such issues could spoil a ballot.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 604 ✭✭✭tempura

That would be a great name for a Band !

• Closed Accounts Posts: 36,634 ✭✭✭✭Ruu_Old

E-voting ftw. oh wait. :o

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,194 ✭✭✭osnola ibax

Aren't they... you know, incredible, pencils, eh; the ones you can't rub out?, Giggsy Wiggsy on the wing, hmmm, jumpers for goal posts, hmmm hmmm

FYP

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,186 ✭✭✭Niles

I went in with a tube of prittstick, scissors and passport photos...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 278 ✭✭cailinardthair

They gave me markers.....made me feel so grown up!!!:D

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 93,563 Mod ✭✭✭✭Capt'n Midnight

Pens might leak. Or this being Ireland more likely nicked.

In the 1960s, NASA astronauts discovered that their pens did not work in zero gravity. So like good engineers, they went to work and designed a wonder pen. It worked upside down. It worked in vacuum. It worked in zero gravity. It even worked underwater! And it only cost a million dollars!

The crafty Russians used a pencil.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,260 ✭✭✭Joekers

Pencils what :o don't let the Europeans know we will be the laughing stock of Europe, us Irish and our pencils

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,055 ✭✭✭Cossax

Pens might leak. Or this being Ireland more likely nicked.

In the 1960s, NASA astronauts discovered that their pens did not work in zero gravity. So like good engineers, they went to work and designed a wonder pen. It worked upside down. It worked in vacuum. It worked in zero gravity. It even worked underwater! And it only cost a million dollars!

The crafty Russians used a pencil.

Alas, not.

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 93,563 Mod ✭✭✭✭Capt'n Midnight

as an economy measure we will do this when the current supply of pencils has run out

http://i.imgur.com/A48DY.jpg

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,013 ✭✭✭kincsem

Our pencil was tied with string. Cruel or what? Free the pencil.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,372 ✭✭✭im invisible

as an economy measure we will do this when the current supply of pencils has run out

http://i.imgur.com/A48DY.jpg
    reminds me of when i was in primary school, (and not this evening, voting...) i used to pare pencils down that far, had one that i pared from both ends, and it ended up something like this <>, or this actually
    /\
    \/
    ...fun times

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,243 ✭✭✭✭Jesus Wept

The voter will go into one of the compartments, and, with the pencil provided there, mark his ballot paper by placing the figure 1 opposite the name of the candidate for whom he votes. He may also place the figures 2, 3, and so on, in accordance with the order of his choice or preference opposite the names of other candidates (that is to say): he must place the figure 1 opposite to the name of the candidate for whom he votes;

Irish Electoral Act 1923

Mind you, I have no idea whether that's the most up to date one, but given the pencils are still around ...

Plus if they provided pens everyone would walk away with them, like they do at the Lotto booths!

They're all on the pill now ...

stealing pencils > stealing pens AINEC.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,244 ✭✭✭sdanseo

Being of the school of thought that the guys sitting at the desk are not there to steal my identity, I always offer my ID. I work in a shop and cant look at a customers account without confirming three pieces of personal information; but I can elect the president based on stating my name. I think ID checking should be mandatory but alas too many people in "ah it'll be grand" Ireland would be turned away - turnout would be too low to even bother.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 443 ✭✭Colilfc

Joke is on you, brought my own pen to vote with and gave all the candidates lovely little Hitler muzzies.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 7,102 ✭✭✭Stinicker

Ruu wrote: »
    E-voting ftw. oh wait. :o

Gallagher would be delighted, it was a masterstroke of FF corruption, they almost sneaked that one in under our noses. However the quickly discovered that their core voter support base was too stupid to know how to vote using buttons and that there was millions to be made out of the voting storage for their cronies and "connected people".