Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Customer Service in music shops

• 27-10-2011 5:01pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,514 ✭✭✭

Howdy.

I've set a room up to record various instruments and vocals but my condensor mic is crap and I recently tried out a mates and realised how much better it was compared to mine. I have some dynamic microphones ready to go but wanted a new condensor and lo and behold had a bit of cash if i stay in for the next 2 weeks. I had a good mic with a good price on thomann recommended to me and because
    A) I wanted the mic as soon as possible, preferably today. and
    B) I'd prefer to shop in the country and give business to a local place.

I rang xmusic who, fair enough, didn't have any in stock. In my dealing with Xmusic unless I call over to them in person there is a chance that the phone won't be answered, they have only ever once replied to one of my emails and 90% of the time when i ring with an enquiry, they don't have the item in stock and recommend another item instead which is always at least 150% dearer than what I wanted. I have also been told they could get stock in but had to waut 2 weeks. Then after 2 weeks I've been told the same thing.

I rang Music Maker who did stock the item and I wanted to find out the price, thinking I could catch a bus into town and buy the item if the money was right. Music Maker said they'd ring me back with the info I needed. I'm still waiting for that phone call since around lunch time.

In the end I logged onto thomann and saw another model which was slightly dearer (by about €60 - €70) but I said I may as well get that and ordered it. I might have done the same thing if I'd gone to these local shops (ie buy something more expensive than what I originally was looking for).

It annoys me that I can't rely on local music stores. When I think of buying equipment I think first of thomann or musicstore.de because they have always been reliable to me, have always returned emails and the one time i had to return something had no problems with that either.

I was thinking of sending Music Maker an email saying here's a piece of equipment that I bought today, and I would have bought it in your shop if you had bothered to get back in touch with me like you said you would.
    Would they even care?

I remember a while back there was a campaign with "support your local dealer" as the slogan and the shops were complaining that they were losing business to Thomann, but it looks like they've no one to blame but themselves and I would prefer to spend here than abroad. How the hell can a company in Germany prove to be more reliable?

Should I email them?
    Has anyone else emailed them?

[/rant]

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 641 ✭✭✭ham_n_mustard

How the hell can a company in Germany prove to be more reliable?
    [/rant]

Probably because it's run by Germans...:D

If it's any consolation to you, instrument shops i've dealt with outside dublin can be failry ****é at getting back to you. i recently asked a certain store in limerick for a price on a bass full stack which they didnt have in stock. i left a few days but never heard anything back. so i did exactly the same thing you did, ordered from a german superstore (and ended up getting a 2x12 cab for free, by the way). I know they might be a bit fed up of people asking for prices and not doing anything about it, but in my case i was seriously thinking of laying down over grand for what i wanted. They lost out.
    I know there was a thread about customer service in instrument shops on here recently, seems like some are still not taking any heed....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 200 ✭✭Johnatorium

Howdy.

I rang xmusic who, fair enough, didn't have any in stock. In my dealing with Xmusic unless I call over to them in person there is a chance that the phone won't be answered, they have only ever once replied to one of my emails and 90% of the time when i ring with an enquiry, they don't have the item in stock and recommend another item instead which is always at least 150% dearer than what I wanted. I have also been told they could get stock in but had to waut 2 weeks. Then after 2 weeks I've been told the same thing.

[/rant]

Its happened to me a few times where i've rang xMusic and when i eventually get an answer, they tell me something is in stock......but when i go there to collect it, the various members of staff (who, for the most part, are useless) have an array of excuses as to why they dont have it.
    "The computer says we have them, but we cant find them anywhere", "No, i dont know who would have told you that on the phone".....They're brutal!! And when you are in the store, tryin to get assistance from a sales assistant is tough enough! They seem to mostly employ people who think its cool to work in a music shop, and probably sort all their mates out with their staff discount.....but are absolutely usless at their job!!
    99% of the time, i'd go with Thomann, or Absolute Music in the UK.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,457 ✭✭✭Rigsby

I know there was a thread about customer service in instrument shops on here recently, seems like some are still not taking any heed....

There has indeed been numerous threads similar to this one over the last year or two, all with the same negative comments to make. Various representatives from these shops, posted here, saying that the feedback would be taken on board and rectified. No kudos for guessing if anything has changed.

This thread will only serve for people to let off a bit of frustration. No harm in that, but as for getting actual results, don't hold your breath.

It must be said however, that there are some where it is a pleasure to enter the premises, and where the staff seem to actually care. :eek: Perhaps, if people, from their experience could name some of these, they ( the shops) might get some more deserved custom. This would also bring something positive to the thread.

In my experience, "Guitar Centre" in Exchequer St. is one.

These days, if I am looking for an item, I personally call into a shop. Granted, it is not always handy for people to do so, but this way, you are not waiting on a call back, that more often than not never happens. If the item is actually there, i.e. I can hold it in my hand, then I buy it. If not I buy on line. A lot less frustrating, and cheaper that way.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,438 ✭✭✭✭endacl

Lads. Ye seem to be operating under the misconception that music shop staff see themselves as music shop staff. Have you nor realised yet that they are terribly important music people who work in terribly important positions in the terribly important music business?!? Why should they concern themselves with you an your petty questions? Work on the attitude folks. Maybe we could be terribly important too someday. And get a job in a terribly important shop. Not thinking about any shop in particular, but I'm sure you can fill in the blank...

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 4,172 Mod ✭✭✭✭Siamsa Sessions

I'm suddenly thinking of all those actors and actresses working in cafes, waiting to be discovered.

Trading as Sullivan’s Farm on YouTube

I'm suddenly thinking of all those actors and actresses working in cafes, waiting to be discovered.
    Exactly! Customer: I've been waiting over an hour for my lunch. Waitress: I'm actually really an actress, you know. Customer: An actress? Really? And you can't play a waitress...?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 28 ldee

music maker. you stand at the counter as some a$$ behind it plays the guitar. Eventually he says 'Can i help you?' 'No, i'm just here to admire your playing and not buy strings.'

stopped going there a long time ago.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,520 ✭✭✭Duke Leonal Felmet

Music shops have terrible customer service because instead of hiring experienced sales staff, they hire guitarists who spend their day talking to their mates about music instead of doing their job. I find it baffling as to why a shop owner would hire these people, purely on the basis that they can play an instrument. If they had any sense, they would hire actual salespeople and get them trained in specialist areas, i.e. a drums expert, etc.

Anyway, I rarely use local music shops anymore, mainly due to the pig ignorance of staff.

Thomann all the way. Making a big order from them today, in fact.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 647 ✭✭✭eire1

I get 90% of my stuff from Blanch School of Music. John is brilliant and will order the item if he doesn't have it in stock. I highly recommend it!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 578 ✭✭✭the_barfly1

I've always found that the small local music stores are the best to deal with.
    I live in Portlaoise, and mostly buy anything I need from a little store on the Main St. called Anthem Music.
    Its a small store, with mostly low/mid range stock, but the guys working there actually do give a damn and will order in anything you need and always do their best to give a good price. Yes, it will cost a few bob more to buy local, but when you've got a local store in which you can strike up a relationship with the owners, it means a lot more to me as a customer.
    This is very true when it comes to after sales service.
    I bought a Paiste signature crash cymbal from Anthem a few years ago, which, for reasons I cannot fathom, the main body of the cymbal became detached from the bell after just a few months. All I had to do was drop it back into the shop, who managed to hit the suppliers for a service call/replacement, and hey presto, replacement cymbal in the store for me within the next fortnight. And this is a store which doesn't stock these cymbals usually.
    Good luck trying to get that from Thomann!

I'd regard these types of stores as the "real" music stores of the country, because, the likes of Music Maker and X-Music are really just Irelands own music "superstores". They don't really give a damn because their main income is coming from guys heading in for their "once off" big purchase, and also supplying all of the smaller music stores in the country (Music Maker's distribution wing is MIDI, and Waltons also wholesale to the small stores around the country - X-Music are part of the company who distribute Sennheiser and Roland gear in Ireland).
    The small local shops, as far as I can see, are happy to look after anyone willing to make their "big" purchases with them, because, although they probably have to cut the bollix out of their profit margin to get the sale on these items, they're the guys that know that if they look after you, you'll supply them with their bread and butter by buying all your consumables (strings, sticks, cables etc) with them.
    And to be honest, I'm very happy to support my local store, because I'd be extremely pissed off if I had to travel to Tullamore, Carlow, or Newbridge to pick up a pair of my beloved Vater Stewart Copelands!

The big stores could care less, but look after your "real" local stores, they're the ones you'd miss more if they were gone! ;)

but look after your "real" local stores, they're the ones you'd miss more if they were gone! ;)

This is clearly not the case for almost every other poster in this thread. I can do without some lazy, arrogant, clueless moron providing me with the minimal of service for the maximum price. The sooner the likes of Music Maker (Dub), Pro Musica (Cork) and Walton's (Dublin) vanish from the planet, the better. I get an extra sense of satisfaction every time I buy something on Thomann, knowing that with every purchase, I bury local music shops an inch deeper.

eire1 wrote: »
    I get 90% of my stuff from Blanch School of Music. John is brilliant and will order the item if he doesn't have it in stock. I highly recommend it!
    Fair play to john, but isn't he just doing what would be taken for granted if his shop sold lighbulbs instead if musical equipment? In this industry unfortunately, we settle for less. I send students to one city centre location where, without fail, they are treated with respect, are given a great deal, and always come away smiling. I compare this with my own days starting out... Almost feeling you were being auditioned before you bought. An ex who came home from a certain establishment with a 2nd hand Jasmine acoustic with a hole where the preamp used to live and a 1/4 inch gap between the fingerboard end and body. Paid not much less than she would gave for a new one. Watched the same 'customer service representative' some years later advising the mother of a left handed beginner that her kid should learn to play right handed. Apparently, this was what he he'd done. Did everything else with his right hand while I was there though... Maybe because there was nothing there within the mothers budget in a left handed model? Treat your equipment salesman like a used car salesman. If you're not feeling right another him or her (actually, the ladies in the biz all seem to be sound, maybe the lads could learn a thing or two from the sistas) walk away. And let them know why you're walking away. Rant done. Thanks for your time.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,514 ✭✭✭raindog.promo

My local music store ripped me off for €540 which I had to fight for in court, won and still never ended up getting the money back. Since then I haven't used small stores for anything expensive.

That might be unfair but the aggro I had to go through with it and the fact I still didn't get the money back leaves me once bitten twice shy.

http://www.gigsmartireland.com/forum/viewtopic.php?f=8&t=183

At least with the bigger companies there's some comeback.
    I need to get my amp fixed but I'm still wary of leaving it in with anyone to repair.

Why do I get the impression that most of the users here who get a bad buzz in their local music stores are based in the big cities?
    The guys in my local store would bend over backwards to help you out, and have a great rapport with all the local musicians!
    I'm guessing you lot don't have stores that you frequent where all the staff greet you by name?

Why do I get the impression that most of the users here who get a bad buzz in their local music stores are based in the big cities?
    The guys in my local store would bend over backwards to help you out, and have a great rapport with all the local musicians!
    I'm guessing you lot don't have stores that you frequent where all the staff greet you by name?
    It's more to do with the fact that the big shops are where the beginners go in big cities. For advice. And quality service. which they far to often don't get. You wouldn't believe some of the muck people arrive in for a first lesson with. Because its been sold to them. Probably a wee bit off topic here, but how and ever... I have three shops in mind that I always send people to, solely based on quality, both of product and of service. All in the big city, where I'm greeted by name.

endacl wrote: »
    It's more to do with the fact that the big shops are where the beginners go in big cities. For advice. And quality service. which they far to often don't get. You wouldn't believe some of the muck people arrive in for a first lesson with. Because its been sold to them. Probably a wee bit off topic here, but how and ever... I have three shops in mind that I always send people to, solely based on quality, both of product and of service. All in the big city, where I'm greeted by name.

Well at least there's somebody else here that has SOME positive comments about local stores!
    It breaks my heart a little to see music stores being bashed when I know my local guys run such a good ship! I'd rather know about all the good places so whenever I'm out gigging and find myself stuck for something, I know who to give my business to!

Well at least there's somebody else here that has SOME positive comments about local stores!
    It breaks my heart a little to see music stores being bashed when I know my local guys run such a good ship! I'd rather know about all the good places so whenever I'm out gigging and find myself stuck for something, I know who to give my business to!
    Ditto! Unfortunately the good spots tend to be hidden among the bad. Needles in a sh1testack....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,070 ✭✭✭✭Malice

Watched the same 'customer service representative' some years later advising the mother of a left handed beginner that her kid should learn to play right handed. Apparently, this was what he he'd done. Did everything else with his right hand while I was there though... Maybe because there was nothing there within the mothers budget in a left handed model?
    I'm not sure I understand the point you're trying to make. I'm left-handed but play the guitar right-handed as do many others. For a beginner would recommend trying both ways since if you do persevere with the instrument you'll have a lot more choice and will basically be saving yourself a lot of hassle.

Malice wrote: »
    Watched the same 'customer service representative' some years later advising the mother of a left handed beginner that her kid should learn to play right handed. Apparently, this was what he he'd done. Did everything else with his right hand while I was there though... Maybe because there was nothing there within the mothers budget in a left handed model?
    I'm not sure I understand the point you're trying to make. I'm left-handed but play the guitar right-handed as do many others. For a beginner would recommend trying both ways since if you do persevere with the instrument you'll have a lot more choice and will basically be saving yourself a lot of hassle.
    Worked for Gary Moore too. And lots of others. It was the lie dressed up as advice, just for the wake of a sale, that bugged me. Right handed sales guy who claimed to be a natural lefty? The either brought the kid in for a lh instrument, and nearly got conned. That's a prime example of bad customer service, not well intentioned advice from somebody who has been in the same position.

Not in my 15 years of experience. A small example, I went to a small guitar shop to buy some b and e strings for the electric guitar. I specified electric, he went behind the counter, popped some in a little bag and I paid. Got home, and it turns out they were acoustic strings...

I can't remember the last good experience I had in a music shop, big or small. Guitarists don't make good salesmen, a scientific fact. So now I exclusively shop in Thomann.

Not in my 15 years of experience. A small example, I went to a small guitar shop to buy some b and e strings for the electric guitar. I specified electric, he went behind the counter, popped some in a little bag and I paid. Got home, and it turns out they were acoustic strings...

I can't remember the last good experience I had in a music shop, big or small. Guitarists don't make good salesmen, a scientific fact. So now I exclusively shop in Thomann.
    Maybe that dude was a drummer...?

As I said earlier in this thread. Music shops should hire salesmen, not musicians.

Thomann made a few quid from me today.

Score one to efficient shops with low prices and no wanker salesmen.

As I said earlier in this thread. Music shops should hire salesmen, not musicians.

Thomann made a few quid from me today.

Score one to efficient shops with low prices and no wanker salesmen.
    Amen. Enjoy the new toys till the need for new toys raises its ugly head again! ;-)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,070 ✭✭✭✭Malice

Worked for Gary Moore too. And lots of others. It was the lie dressed up as advice, just for the wake of a sale, that bugged me. Right handed sales guy who claimed to be a natural lefty? The either brought the kid in for a lh instrument, and nearly got conned. That's a prime example of bad customer service, not well intentioned advice from somebody who has been in the same position.
    Ah wait, sorry, I misunderstood what you wrote originally. When you wrote this:
    Apparently, this was what he he'd done. Did everything else with his right hand while I was there though
    I thought "he" referred to the kid with his mother, not the salesperson :o

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15 Dragonaut

I would far prefer to spend money in a local shop which provides employment and money to the local economy and build up a relationship but I end up buying nearly all my gear from Thomann because of the terrible customer service in most of the shops I've had experience with in Dublin.

Why do people hire and then continue to employ someone who has zero customer service skills:confused: They can't complain about sites like Thomann etc. taking business away from them if they don't make any effort to provide a good service for customers.

I don't think it's because guitarists/musicians don't make good sales people. I've worked in shops before(not music equipment stores) and I always done my best to help customers and I think my customer service skills are pretty good:D Maybe they just need to hire the right people or maybe the attitude the staff have comes from the people above them??

I've also found in the past that Xmusic had stuff for sale on their website that they didn't actually have in stock. I don't know if they've since fixed this?

For the moment buying online saves me money and hassle but if a local shop comes about that provides a good service I'm willing to give it a go.

Dragonaut wrote: »
    For the moment buying online saves me money and hassle but if a local shop comes about that provides a good service I'm willing to give it a go.

I agree. But given the sheer volume of bad reps I have come across in music shops in my fifteen years a custom, I shan't hold my breath.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 638 ✭✭✭LpPepper

Head to Jimis music store in Ballymount Industrial State , best customer service ever! Had tubes replaced numerous times for free in amps Ive bought there, great deals and easy to deal with .. Jimmy is an absolute sound guy !

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 557 ✭✭✭ohigg84

I have had bad customer service at Musicmaker, the guys there are total assholes. I was inquiring about getting a Marshall Stack and wanted to try one out, but they were too busy chatting to friends and other staff. In the end, I got mine in Waltons. The best. I know the staff there from George St. and North Frederick St. They are a joy to deal with.
    It should be noted that Musicmaker don't promote any Marshall amps in their stores now, thats what I was told from the manager at Waltons. I can see why..

ohigg84 wrote: »
    I have had bad customer service at Musicmaker, the guys there are total assholes. I was inquiring about getting a Marshall Stack and wanted to try one out, but they were too busy chatting to friends and other staff. In the end, I got mine in Waltons. The best. I know the staff there from George St. and North Frederick St. They are a joy to deal with.
    It should be noted that Musicmaker don't promote any Marshall amps in their stores now, thats what I was told from the manager at Waltons. I can see why..

Agreed, the staff at MM are absolute turds.

I just sent off an email there. If I get a reply I'll post it here.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 557 ✭✭✭ohigg84

Agreed, the staff at MM are absolute turds.

Ha, I think 'turds' would be too light a word, they really annoyed me anyway. I actually tried to trade in a small Marshall amp I still have, and the guy I was dealing with was just so stuck up and arrogant. Then he told me there was a sale on all Marhsall amps, including stacks and cabs and it was still too expensive for me, but I just had to leave, I was very annoyed!

This thread and other similar ones, makes me wonder why people are prepared to put up with bad customer service ( to put it lightly). :confused: I'm sure it is safe to assume that the staff in these places are abrupt or arrogant with the majority of customers. If so, well it is the latter I blame, for not taking their custom else where to a place where they will get the treatment they deserve and expect. These shops must realise how they are generally regarded by the public. They have certainly been given enough feed back here on this forum over the past while. I have come to the conclusion that they have no intention of changing their ways in the foreseeable future, if at all. This is because they know that some ( the majority, or they would not be in business) people are prepared to put up with bad treatment. The frustration levels will drop, as soon as people realise this, and do something about it.

Again, I feel I should point out that there are a small minority of shops who, in my experience, do treat their customers with respect.

I got a reply this morning:

"Firstly thanks for getting in touch, this kind of feedback is invaluable for us. I’m saddened to hear about your experience I hope it was an isolated incident as we are making a lot of changes to try and provide a consistently high standard of customer service.

Can you remember the name of the person you were dealing with? I’d like to get to the bottom of this to ensure it doesn’t happen again.

If there’s anything you require in the future don’t please hesitate to contact me directly and I’ll personally make sure you’re looked after."

Which seems like more than a template letter to me so maybe they're serious about improving customer service, in which case, fair play.

Rigsby wrote: »
    This thread and other similar ones, makes me wonder why people are prepared to put up with bad customer service ( to put it lightly). :confused: I'm sure it is safe to assume that the staff in these places are abrupt or arrogant with the majority of customers. If so, well it is the latter I blame, for not taking their custom else where to a place where they will get the treatment they deserve and expect. These shops must realise how they are generally regarded by the public. They have certainly been given enough feed back here on this forum over the past while. I have come to the conclusion that they have no intention of changing their ways in the foreseeable future, if at all. This is because they know that some ( the majority, or they would not be in business) people are prepared to put up with bad treatment. The frustration levels will drop, as soon as people realise this, and do something about it.

Again, I feel I should point out that there are a small minority of shops who, in my experience, do treat their customers with respect.

I've read in a few different places that the bigger shops get most of their custom from beginners which may explain the condescending attitude that the staff are said to have.

As you say, some businesses are great and should be given credit. I had a great experience in the guitar shop in Maynooth. Good stock, interesting instruments, good prices and friendly helpful staff. I bought a kid's melodian there for for €20 and the guy in the shop showed me how to use it no hassle. Place was called http://www.knbmusic.ie/ (which you already know :D ).

I recommended them in the instruments section. Maybe with the new format of this forum coming in we could recommend here instead.

I got a reply this morning:

"Firstly thanks for getting in touch, this kind of feedback is invaluable for us. I’m saddened to hear about your experience I hope it was an isolated incident as we are making a lot of changes to try and provide a consistently high standard of customer service.

Can you remember the name of the person you were dealing with? I’d like to get to the bottom of this to ensure it doesn’t happen again.

If there’s anything you require in the future don’t please hesitate to contact me directly and I’ll personally make sure you’re looked after."

Which seems like more than a template letter to me so maybe they're serious about improving customer service, in which case, fair play.

I'd like to give them the benefit of the doubt with that reply, but it sounds exactly the same as the posters representing the shops in question said in similar threads to this. So I'm not holding my breath. Action speaks louder than words. ;)

[/QUOTE] I've read in a few different places that the bigger shops get most of their custom from beginners which may explain the condescending attitude that the staff are said to have.[/QUOTE]

I have heard that excuse too, and it is a very feeble an illogical one. Why should beginners be given the bad treatment, especially as these are the ones giving the custom ? All customers are potential buyers, and as such, should be all given the same respect.

Rigsby wrote: »
    I have heard that excuse too, and it is a very feeble an illogical one. Why should beginners be given the bad treatment, especially as these are the ones giving the custom ? All customers are potential buyers, and as such, should be all given the same respect.

I'm not condoning the behaviour, my point was that if they have a steady influx of customers, namely the beginners, they may feel they can afford to be arrogant towards them because the flow of newbies never seems to stop. Much like the way city centre pubs (not all) don't care about their customer service because if you don't return, so what? plenty more suckers to take your place.