Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Ireland is a shíthole.

• 27-10-2011 11:58am
    Closed Accounts Posts: 9,534 ✭✭✭SV

seriously.
    how the fúck do people tolerate this country for anymore than 20 years?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,207 ✭✭✭The King of Moo

Alcohol.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,798 ✭✭✭Mr. Incognito

They spend an evening with you and everything seems better after that

• Closed Accounts Posts: 349 ✭✭talkinyite

I always loved Ireland but I'm starting to think the same now.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,230 ✭✭✭✭ejmaztec

SV wrote: »
    seriously.

Because it's better the sh1thole you know, than the sh1thole you don't.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,534 ✭✭✭SV

talkinyite wrote: »
    I always loved Ireland but I'm starting to think the same now.

I've tried to like the place and get on board with the whole "ah sure it's grand have another pint" but no..no the place is just horrible./

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,159 ✭✭✭✭phasers

Ah shut up whinging

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,054 ✭✭✭luckyfrank

You havnt being to london have you ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,801 ✭✭✭✭Kojak

seriously.

So when are you emigrating?

phasers wrote: »
    Ah shut up whinging

No.
    I genuinely want to know how you can stay in this country for that long without having an overwhelming urge to kill yourself.

Kojak wrote: »
    So when are you emigrating?

Next month.
    Not quite the response you were after is it

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 81,220 ✭✭✭✭biko

Blaming the entire country for life in a ****ty town/village - check.
    Won't leave - check.

In general I disagree, some parts are better than others.
    Some parts are even really nice.

no you are

No.
    I genuinely want to know how you can stay in this country for that long without having an overwhelming urge to kill yourself.
    Because I'm not a miserable bastard?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 566 ✭✭✭bigwormbundoran

seriously.

Fúck away off somewhere better so, I personally love the place and have no intentions of leaving anytime soon!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,933 ✭✭✭Logical Fallacy

Next month.

I reckon it was.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,433 ✭✭✭sideswipe

No.

Next month.

I'm no expert but I reckon this country will improve greatly next month;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,300 ✭✭✭CiaranC

seriously.

Kill yourself

CiaranC wrote: »
    Kill yourself

that's how you tolerate it? awesome.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 575 ✭✭✭IrishKev

fúck off OP

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,455 ✭✭✭Where To

Where would you prefer to live OP?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,145 ✭✭✭LETHAL LADY

Next month.

Good luck and good riddance.:p

lawl.

enjoy your lives drinking in a ****ty bar from 9am till late

the fate that waits for every Irish person.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 749 ✭✭✭BlastedGlute

Problems we have here are only a product of the life you choose to live. I'm sure a hippy not too far from you has a very different pov on life in this country. It's just what you choose to do with it that makes a difference, not where you go to do it!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 205 ✭✭simonmln

Ive been away on college placement in Holland for the last 5 months. Going home for a week on tuesday, and genuinally cannot wait to get back. I've been excited about coming home for weeks aswell.

Ireland is brilliant!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,049 ✭✭✭unkymo

No.

Health,Family,friends,food,education,work,freedom to vote,scenery, people, etc. etc.

lawl.

I don't drink.

Get a hobby or something, try and improve your own life rather than complaining. If you just sit around moaning then I'm not surprised that you're unhappy.

unkymo wrote: »
    Health,Family,friends,food,education,work,freedom to vote,scenery, people, etc. etc.

ah don't forget that freedom to vote one is a bit pointless

they'll just hold the referendum or election again and again until they get the result they want.

Education? you're having a laugh aren't ya?
    Work? Really?

Scenery it has going for it alright.
    the people? lol./

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,132 ✭✭✭silvine

seriously.

I hear Libya's nice this time of year. Send me a postcard.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,522 ✭✭✭Kanoe

Tastes better with a slice of lime

silvine wrote: »
    I hear Libya's nice this time of year. Send me a postcard.

Naming any place that's worse does not take away from just how shít the current place is.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,650 ✭✭✭sensibleken

Well fúck off somewhere else then and leave it to us who love it

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,415 ✭✭✭Archeron

I love Ireland. I dont love some of the shenanigans that have happened lately, but I still think its a beautiful country, and would never want to leave it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 148 ✭✭Shiner11

Everyone's entitled to their own opinion. Even I used to think this country was a ****hole when i was around 15 and i couldnt wait to leave. Now I'm halfway through college and the job prospects aren't looking great but I really hope I don't have to emigrate. I've some great friends here and its a lovely little country to be honest with the possible the nicest people you'll meet anywhere.

OP best of luck where ever your emigrating to, but don't ever diss where you come from.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 399 ✭✭elaverty

Run for President,,every other depressed no lifer, hasbeen is trying it,,,,

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,025 ✭✭✭problemchimp

seriously.
    OOOOOHHHHHH Who's a moaning Michael then? Let's have a screaming competition.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 256 ✭✭Statistician

Things that I hate about this Shíthole:

1. The weather. It's constantly freezing and raining. The worst for me is the constant dreary, drudging, grey skies.
    2. Corrupt and/or inept politicians or the 1% and the the people that vote for Fail Gael. Seriously, what's wrong with people? Why do people accept this crap?
    3. The grinding depression. Job losses, bust developers getting €200k, the IMF, no future
    4. The future has been sold out. Things are only going to get worse. This is just the beginning - just wait until the real cuts and tax hikes kick in.
    5. I'm self employed, but get treated like a criminal by the Revenue. They've just sent me a fine for paying VAT 'late'. I always pay VAT the same time every year, for the last ten years. The full amount owing. This year they fine me 10 months later. I hate them. It's making me look at how to close the company down and relocate to somewhere that wants to promote jobs.
    6. Let's face it. Ireland is backward.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,812 ✭✭✭✭sbsquarepants

seriously.
    No.
    lawl.

Jesus, what a fúcking drama queen!
    If you want to emeigrate to better yourself or just for the craic or whatever your reasons are, best of luck to you.
    No need to throw a tantrum on your way out the door.
    I'd recommend a change of attitude in your new country of residence, or you'll find that's a shíthole too.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,919 ✭✭✭✭Gummy Panda

I blame Phasers

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,264 ✭✭✭✭jester77

No.
    Next month.

Nice post. Why do I get the feeling that when you do emigrate that you will end up spending most of your spare time in an Irish pub talking to the other Irish lads about home!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,034 ✭✭✭Ficheall

Where are you headed instead, OP?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,229 ✭✭✭Dan133269

seriously.

You've clearly never lived abroad have you?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,300 ✭✭✭CiaranC

seriously.

You my friend are a loser. A pathetic loser.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 81,220 ✭✭✭✭biko

Start afresh in R&R (or find an existing "I hate this country" thread there) if you want OP, this isn't going anywhere good.