Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Electric dog Fence -suitable for a gun dog ?

• 26-10-2011 11:57am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 194 ✭✭

Lads , bit of pathetic post I know but looking for advice here......
    Story is that I've a good working springer which I keep in the back garden which is quite large and is well fenced in on three sides but on one side (for about 40 yards) there's a large hedge and despite patching up any holes that I see from time to time with wire mesh , every now and then the wife's dog ( a mutt of a gun shy springer who is totally heedless) finds ways through it or under it. It's always the mutt that finds a way out and then my dog follows him and ignores my recall whistle which he never does when he's on his own.
    I've begged the wife to re-home or get rid of the mutt but she won't budge....and it's driving me mad - had a three mile hike this morning to get the feckers back. It would be too costly to get that hedge dug out and to erect decent fencing so my question is if I was to fit an invisible dog fence
    ( one of those electronic yokes) along the line of the hedge do ye think it would have a bad effect on my working dog. I'm a bit concerned that if he was getting a bit of a jolt every time he went near the hedge that this might put him off going into cover when I have him out shooting. What do ye think
    lads ? Any of ye use those invisible fences to contain your working dog(s) ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,070 ✭✭✭EPointer=Birdss

Why not erect a fence inside the hedge or at neighbors side if theyre amenable?
    Leave hedge as a screen.
    If the dogs keep rambling you might not find em again!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 412 ✭✭Deerspotter

It is all about the training, but in general, I'd said not worth the hassle. Fence it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,807 ✭✭✭Birdnuts

Different I know but I did use a strand of electric fence to keep in my 2 in a rented property who's fence was just that bit too low - it was in the grounds of a stud/sheep farm so I simply couldn't afford the dogs getting out. Anyways it worked very well without any discernable difference to the dogs performance in the field:)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,576 ✭✭✭garv123

Are you on about a electric fence like a cattle fence down low or do you mean the radio fence with the shock collars?
    Id go with the collars because you can train the dog to it and will only get a shock once or twice if you train him to it which is effortless. When he'll her the beep he'l keep back then and not get a shock.

He wont hear a beeping noise when out hunting and will have no problems.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 194 ✭✭brianfrancis45

garv123 wrote: »
    Are you on about a electric fence like a cattle fence down low or do you mean the radio fence with the shock collars?
    Id go with the collars because you can train the dog to it and will only get a shock once or twice if you train him to it which is effortless. When he'll her the beep he'l keep back then and not get a shock.

He wont hear a beeping noise when out hunting and will have no problems.

Thanks and yes it is the radio fence I'm on about.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 194 ✭✭brianfrancis45

Thanks to all for their suggestions. Having read up on the pro's and con's of the radio fence I've decided not to go for that and instead I'll bite the bullet and erect a decent fence.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 412 ✭✭Deerspotter

Enjoy your erection