Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Wicklow road conditions post-flooding

• 26-10-2011 10:55am
    Moderators, Politics Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 24,269 Mod ✭✭✭✭

Was just informed by a friend of mine that this is the road between Ballyknockan and Lacken.

303040_305532006140500_100000511095344_1264299_1968676847_n.jpg

Anyone else know of roads in Wicklow that are impassable after the floods?

• Moderators, Politics Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 24,269 Mod ✭✭✭✭Chips Lovell

AA Roadwatch says:
    *CONDITIONS* *WICKLOW* Gardai say that Lacken Gap, Lacken/Ballyknocken Rd and the local road at Manor Kilbride will remain closed until further notice following severe flood damage. However, the Sally Gap and the Wicklow Gap are passable with absolute caution.

I think the Lacken Gap means the road up to Sorrell Hill from Lacken. Not sure which part of Kilbride they mean. There is a bridge on the way up to the Sally Gap from there.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 31,223 ✭✭✭✭Lumen

I could totally bunnyhop that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 570 ✭✭✭Oldlegs

Lumen wrote: »

Fella on the far side of the road is considering the same :D

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators Posts: 11,669 Mod ✭✭✭✭RobFowl

Lumen wrote: »

I did bunny hop that

(hence the damage ...)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,235 ✭✭✭iregk

Well I can tell you that the N81 while now clear of water is covered in crap so punctures a hoi. Also they have now started roadworks leading into Blessington so again more rough surfaces.

The road from Lacken to Ballyknockan looks like that one in the photo. I've only seen it from the other side so not 100% sure. Either way the bridge ain't there anymore. Likewise the bridge at Ballysmutten (the one that links the back kilbride road to sally gap road is now closed. Still a lot of water around lacken so certainly not doable by bike any time soon.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 68,317 ✭✭✭✭seamus

Throw a bit of gravel on it, twill be grand.

• Moderators, Politics Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 24,269 Mod ✭✭✭✭Chips Lovell

iregk wrote: »
    Likewise the bridge at Ballysmutten (the one that links the back kilbride road to sally gap road is now closed. Still a lot of water around lacken so certainly not doable by bike any time soon.

Don't tell me the Ballysmuttan bridge was washed away again? They only just rebuilt it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,010 ✭✭✭velo.2010

seamus wrote: »
    Throw a bit of gravel on it, twill be grand.

FFS no more gravel!!!:p

• Closed Accounts Posts: 546 ✭✭✭elduggo

Don't tell me the Ballysmuttan bridge was washed away again? They only just rebuilt it.

its fine. It was on the RTE news last night and is still intact.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,824 ✭✭✭levitronix

The council is putting up a guard rail

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,235 ✭✭✭iregk

No no not gone. When they rebuilt it they put in a lot more reinforcements so it should last. It's closed short term for a survey to see if it did sustain any damage. Wouldn't imagine so.

I'm reminded of this classic photo from a Boards spin three years ago.

bridge_05.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,103 ✭✭✭monkeybutter

Nice Package on yer man

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,683 ✭✭✭Carpenter

I went over sally gap today and there is plenty of gravel!!! but no water :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,278 ✭✭✭kenmc

I'm reminded of this classic photo from a Boards spin three years ago.

bridge_05.jpg

Aye that was some epic spin :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,808 ✭✭✭g0g

Are all four routes to Sally Gap ok then since the flooding? A few of us are having a bash at hopefully cycling all four on Sat and I'd hate to find out there are chunks of road missing on my way down one of the hills! :eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,217 ✭✭✭Paul Kiernan

g0g wrote: »
    Are all four routes to Sally Gap ok then since the flooding? A few of us are having a bash at hopefully cycling all four on Sat and I'd hate to find out there are chunks of road missing on my way down one of the hills! :eek:

I bet you would:pac:.

I did Laragh to Glencree yesterday and roads were generally OK. Some rocks and gravel washed on in places but you can generally see them in time. I'd recommend taking it easy and keeping a good look 50 yards ahead.

There were cars coming up from both Roundwood and Manor K. sides as well so both those roads are obviously passable.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,037 ✭✭✭kuro_man

I cycled over ballysmuttan bridge this morning. Bridge is fine but approach road from Blessington side is terrible but passable with care. Its closed to cars.