Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Sean Gallagher is using his wife as a political football

• 25-10-2011 11:35pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,089 ✭✭✭✭hotmail.com

This is something that has annoyed me about Gallagher.

In the last couple of weeks he seems to be appearing everywhere with his wife either beside him or behind him. She's even pictured with him on his campaign leaflet that came in through the letter box. I'm pretty certain no other candidate included their partner in their campaign literature.

Why is using her as a political football, akin to something we see in American presidential elections, where the potential first lady is trotted out and are Irish voters influenced by the appearance of the partner of the potential president?

It shows a certain slyness in Gallagher's character that he uses his wife in such a way.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 189 ✭✭Bergkamp 10

Martin McAleese anyone?

• Moderators, Music Moderators Posts: 8,490 Mod ✭✭✭✭Fluorescence

In the last couple of weeks he seems to be appearing everywhere with his wife either beside him or behind him. She's even pictured with him on his campaign leaflet that came in through the letter box. I'm pretty certain no other candidate included their partner in their campaign literature.

Why is using her as a political football, akin to something we see in American presidential elections, where the potential first lady is trotted out and are Irish voters influenced by the appearance of the partner of the potential president?

It shows a certain slyness in Gallagher's character that he uses his wife in such a way.

I dunno, McGuinness had a spiel about what a family man he is on the campaign leaflets that came through my door about 2 weeks ago. He's not the only one.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25 Cilldara11

Not a fan of Gallagher, but Michael D and his wife appeared on his leaflet, to be fair.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,333 ✭✭✭bad2dabone

she does have nice boobs.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,466 ✭✭✭Snakeblood

I think it's perfectly normal. I wasn't out there getting angry when Obama had Michelle on his arm.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,578 ✭✭✭jonniebgood1

Is there any need for such personal abuse? "slyness in Gallagher's character that he uses his wife in such a way."
    This has nothing to do with the election.

Not a fan of Gallagher in the slightest but I fail to see the issue with his wife appearing with him in official documents/appearances - she could be the wife of the president of Ireland in a weeks time.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,262 ✭✭✭✭Joey the lips

Not a fan of gallagher.... But i seem to remember celia stuck to the hand of a prominant brown envelope man and it done him no harm.

This is just crazy talk. Besides gallaghers wife is a fine looking women. If i were him i would hold her tight.....

Perhaps she has a degree in BS and sean uses her to detect it....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,436 ✭✭✭c_man

I'm pretty certain no other candidate included their partner in their campaign literature.

McGuinness had a big picture of the whole family on his leaflets, can't remember the rest off hand.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27,349 ✭✭✭✭super_furry

McGuinness was parading his grand kids is his tv broadcasts, again I don't think there's anything wrong with that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,979 ✭✭✭✭phog

Have you seen the FG party politcal broadcast for GM, his wife actually takes a slot in it to ask for votes for her husband.

If the partners weren't there you probably be giving out as to what sort of relationship they have as their partner int around showing their support.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,866 ✭✭✭Panrich

bad2dabone wrote: »
    she does have nice boobs.

Evidence?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 88,972 ✭✭✭✭mike65

hotmail.com getting a bit desperate himself, its pretty much standard operating practice.

alright that's enough, there's enough gallagher threads and without "boobs please"