Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

How many of you listen to Flirt FM?

• 25-10-2011 2:46pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,688 ✭✭✭

Alright lads and lassies, just ignore my sig for the time being, in fact, forget that I'm even here! ;-) I'm just curious and want to find out, roughly, how many of you listen to your student station, and of course the frequencey in which you listen to it. And please don't be afraid to post up what you think of the station, its programs and its music.

Many danke's!

How often do you listen to Flirt FM, if at all? 51 votes

Quite frequently
    0% 0 votes
    Every so often
    3% 2 votes
    Rarely
    5% 3 votes
    Never listen to it
    17% 9 votes
    Nintendo 64
    72% 37 votes

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,380 ✭✭✭TheCosmicFrog

Never listen to it to be honest. It's seems mostly music-oriented whereas if I want to listen to or find new music I'll use something like Spotify or just listen to my iPod.

I probably should listen to it more often. I know that the friends of mine who volunteer with Flirt have a lot of passion about it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 436 ✭✭Croppy Bhoy

The music can be a nice change, but the DJing is very amateur. People reading the news and sports out who have speech impediments and stuff.

Also it seems to hardly ever be broadcasting when I check.

The two criticisms are understandable though, fair play to the lads who run it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 231 ✭✭MissMoppet

It seems very 'cliquey'. I don't really listen to it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,930 ✭✭✭✭challengemaster

Always listen to iRadio tbh, better than any other radio station in the country

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,952 ✭✭✭b.o.m.d.a.s.

I have Flirt FM bookmarked on my browser,:)

it's a great source for new music or stuff i wouldn't hear otherwise. especially nice new/rare techno or D n B type things

The Listen Back page is cool.

Favourite programmes are; Feed me weird things, Musicism, Drums and drops, pretty much all the shows on Wednesdays and Thursdays

what also is cool is you can text in live to the shows from the Webpage and get your comments or requests read out live pretty quick

Keep up the good work :)

many bitte schóens

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,924 ✭✭✭✭RolandIRL

sure, if you like listening to the same music every hour for weeks.

Only time I ever listen to the radio is in the car - usually have a drive of 1-3 hours depending on where I'm going, so I get to listen to decent (current) music during it, and decent presenters having a bit of craic (unlike the dryshítes everywhere else)

It's entertaining and easy to listen to - I'm sure if I listened to it every day for hours on end, I'd get sick of it, but I actually have other things to be doing with my life so... yeah

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 86 ✭✭mr_november

:eek::eek::confused:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,952 ✭✭✭b.o.m.d.a.s.

there is actually a really good show on right now, a halloween special of "Feed me weird things":D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,688 ✭✭✭Nailz

Yeah, Alan Meaney is a tremendous DJ (Feed Me Weird Things), love the stuff he plays and is he's very good at mashing too, his tastes are right down my street too, although at the time of morning we broadcast it wouldn't be thinkable to play that kind of stuff; although I think we have a great variety on our own show.

• Moderators, Regional North East Moderators Posts: 12,739 Mod ✭✭✭✭cournioni

I'd rather shoot myself than listen to that tripe. Seriously, the worst radio station in Ireland.

cournioni wrote: »
    I'd rather shoot myself than listen to that tripe. Seriously, the worst radio station in Ireland.

I'm actually finding these posts hilarious. Lets compare:

RTÉ Radio 1 - Crap
    2FM - Crap
    Midlands 103 - Crap
    Lyric FM - LOL
    Today FM - Fairly crap - worth a listen if iRadio doesnt cover the area
    Newstalk - load of crap
    4FM - crap
    Galway Bay FM - Crap
    Shannonside - Crap
    RnG - Crap
    FM104 - Same thing as iRadio, just dublin area with worse presenters

Fairly sure that's most of what would cover the galway area (off the top of my head) and then some - So do tell, what is it you're listening to that you wouldn't consider tripe?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,688 ✭✭✭Nailz

RTÉ Radio 1 - Crap
    2FM - Crap
    Midlands 103 - Crap
    Lyric FM - LOL
    Newstalk - load of crap
    4FM - crap
    Galway Bay FM - Crap
    Shannonside - Crap
    RnG - Crap

Fairly sure that's most of what would cover the galway area (off the top of my head) and then some - So do tell, what is it you're listening to that you wouldn't consider tripe?
    At some point or another I've listened to about 6 or 7 out of the stations named above, and all of them are far better than iRadio, and I'm not a fan of a few of them. iRadio is abject, hateful stuff.

• Moderators, Regional North East Moderators Posts: 12,739 Mod ✭✭✭✭cournioni

RTÉ Radio 1 - Crap
    2FM - Crap
    Midlands 103 - Crap
    Lyric FM - LOL
    Newstalk - load of crap
    4FM - crap
    Galway Bay FM - Crap
    Shannonside - Crap
    RnG - Crap

I listen to all of those stations at some stage or another (bar Midlands 103, 4FM, Galway Bay FM and RnaG) and I would consider all of them to be infinately better than iRadio. iRadio is for scummy teeny boppers that consider the words "willy" and "boobs" to be hilarious. Their presenters "aren't we mad" attitudes, staged phone calls and music make for cringeworthy listening. Give me Lyric "LOL" any day over iCrap.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,570 ✭✭✭Squeeonline

I dont get radio for music. I'll decide what I want to listen to and when, thank-you-very-much rather than being told what to listen to. Also my music tastes aren't found on any radio station I have ever come across.

I can understand for panel discussions, but only ones that are properly mediated. If it turns into a shouting match, I'm gone. If I want to hear badly made arguments I can go text-to-speech on YouTube video comments.