Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Hunters are not safe backstops!!!!

• 25-10-2011 1:13pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 186 ✭✭

I was out stalking last year on one of my lets in Wicklow. It was getting close to darkness as I heard what seemed to be a round go whizzing by me. I guess it was very close as I heard it go right by.

On another evening, a friend of mine was in the wood and six or so rounds went off in his direction. He took cover as he thought he was a gonner.

Anyway, I was out walking the boundary of that same wood last week to check on things and this is what i found

This field that this target is in is flat, if not slanting down towards the wood.

I shoot this same wood behind the target....How in the name of jasus could anybody think that firing straight into a wood could be a good thing to do???

I wonder if the same guy is thinking of safe backstops when he's banging away at deer at the edge of the wood either?:confused:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,271 ✭✭✭✭johngalway

Attachment isn't working :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 186 ✭✭seoirse1980

Try that now

Seoirse

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 584 ✭✭✭Mauser 308

Can't seem to open the attachment.
    Personaly going by your discription of the set up I would report it to the the police and the land owner if you know him. That sounds like a very dangerous set up. And it sounds like only luck that someone has not been injured or worse. :eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 864 ✭✭✭session savage

That there is a prime example of why I think the NARGC safety course is a failure. There are people out there who dont understand what a backstop is and the NARGC "shotgun safety, if you have a rifle you better figure it out yourself" course needs to cover this.

PS: Attachment worked fine for me.

Write a note, print it out, laminate it, bring staple gun ;)

lethaltarget.jpg

johngalway wrote: »
    Write a note, print it out, laminate it, bring staple gun ;)

Yeah, I think that's the best course of action... oh and a large pole with a white flag on it as I come out near the edge of the wood :p

imagesqtbnANd9GcSV7nKPgTy9ZxZxsKrFO.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,102 ✭✭✭Hibrion

I have come across lads before who think a wood is backstop enough! Had one lad say, " sure with all those trees one of them is bound to stop the bullet"!

It's hard to believe but that's what you're dealing with sometimes.

For my woodland stalking I went out and purchased a rifle that I know will be safe in that environment: a 30/30.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,038 ✭✭✭✭Sparks

...and that's why the whole zeroing-v-target-shooting-on-an-authorised-range issue came up in the first place...

I would have went for a 44mag for close up woodland stalking but for the fact that the calibre is restricted and brings with it a host of difficulties in licensing and ammo procurement.

The bloody 30/30 is hard enough to find good ammo for.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,034 ✭✭✭✭It wasn't me!

Hibrion wrote: »
    I would have went for a 44mag for close up woodland stalking but for the fact that the calibre is restricted and brings with it a host of difficulties in licensing and ammo procurement.

The bloody 30/30 is hard enough to find good ammo for.

That and you'd have a nightmare getting it deer legal. Would near certainly require handloads and even then you'd have trouble.

You can get some seriously hard hitting rounds in 44 mag. You can go up to a 405 grain.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,034 ✭✭✭✭It wasn't me!

You can get some seriously hard hitting rounds in 44 mag.

You'll get some that scrape over alright, but ultimately, it's a pistol calibre.

Its low power is what makes it ideal for woodland stalking; in my opinion. A heart and lung shot with a 40 cal is a pretty good way to take a deer if you ask me.

Especially if you are willing to call the deer in. It's a challenge but sure that's what makes it fun.

johngalway wrote: »

It wouldn't be the best place to use a gilly suit anyway, that's for sure!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 480 ✭✭ssl

For the woodland stalker with a very poor shot!

40mmbeehiveround.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,197 ✭✭✭✭Grizzly 45

Didnt know Prez Obama was a deer hunter!!!:p:p

"If you want to keep someone away from your house, Just fire the shotgun through the door."

Vice President [and former lawyer] Joe Biden Field& Stream Magazine interview Feb 2013 "

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,197 ✭✭✭✭Grizzly 45

Would think the grain weight would make up for velocity.Another reason why slugs are also good deer droppers in forestry.

"If you want to keep someone away from your house, Just fire the shotgun through the door."

Vice President [and former lawyer] Joe Biden Field& Stream Magazine interview Feb 2013 "

It is extremely popular in the states. They even use it in handguns for animals up to and including black bear; if I'm not mistaken.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 961 ✭✭✭Longranger

They use the S&W 500 Magnum for hunting kodiak bears in Alaska FFS! If I'm in a situation where I have to shoot a bear that weighs as much as a pallet of concrete slabs I'd want a feckin .50BMG!

I'm not sure I would hunt a bear to be honest.:eek:

I have been invited to Montana to hunt elk and black bear but I'd be quite happy with the elk.

I will not, however, be using a handgun ;)

Grizzly 45 wrote: »
    Would think the grain weight would make up for velocity.Another reason why slugs are also good deer droppers in forestry.

I agree completely. But try telling that to those who make all the decisions. I'd love a nice rifled pump shotgun.

I'm not sure I would hunt a bear to be honest.:eek:

I have been invited to Montana to hunt elk and black bear but I'd be quite happy with the elk.

I will not, however, be using a handgun ;)

I wouldn't bother with bear hunting either, but if I was in a situation where my life depended on it, I'd want more backup than a pistol.

To be honest, I'd be quite happy with a 44 magnum or a 50 cal handgun as "protection" in bear country. That, with a bit of cop on, should keep you alive and well.

I suppose the model 500 would do the job. If I missed with all five shots I could always throw the gun at him! It's so heavy it would probably kill him stone dead;)

haha.. if you missed with all five shots I'd say the bear would have earned a good meal from dodging bullets.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 559 ✭✭✭Sika98k

Make sure to address it to Mr. Dick Head.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 950 ✭✭✭Dupont

so come on tell us what everyone wans to know. what was his groups like????;);):D

Dupont wrote: »
    so come on tell us what everyone wans to know. what was his groups like????;);):D

I hear he was shooting "minute of stalker" all day long.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,460 ✭✭✭4gun

Sparks wrote: »
    ...and that's why the whole zeroing-v-target-shooting-on-an-authorised-range issue came up in the first place...

I zero my gun on my own land all the time I shoot into a 10ft embankment at a downward angle just to be sure to be sure ...you cannot leglislate for morans no matter how hard you try
    sad fact of reality, these guys would f**kup on a range as well
    if there is a campaign in place to "shine a light on poaching" then there should also be a campaign to "report idiots with guns"
    we have all heard by now the near miss stories, God forbid but soon we are going to have a tragedy :eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,777 ✭✭✭meathstevie

And there's me thinking that you had to supply proof of proficiency to get your licences renewed when the legislation was overhauled...here's another fine example that no amount of legislation is a remedy for stupidity.