Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Garda response to floods

• 25-10-2011 12:09am
    Closed Accounts Posts: 5,451 ✭✭✭

Have to say after having driven through Dublin and Kildare the Guards played an absolute ' blinder ' - there seemed to be enough manpower , they had diversions well-marked , closures were well lit , etc.
    Traffic Units especially deserving of much respect.
    Thanks lads.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,127 ✭✭✭✭kerry4sam

Delancey wrote: »
    Have to say after having driven through Dublin and Kildare the Guards played an absolute ' blinder ' - there seemed to be enough manpower , they had diversions well-marked , closures were well lit , etc.
    Traffic Units especially deserving of much respect.
    Thanks lads.

Good man Delancey!

Safety, Well Wishes & Respect all around to those involved :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,056 ✭✭✭✭BostonB

Difficult night. TBH I didn't see any guards tonight, except for one guy standing in a river on parkgate street, fair play. and one guard turning cars around in the phoenix park. But they should have stopped cars entering the Phoenix park as they had the road closed. And got it announced on the radio. Ended up being a car park. They were also stopping 4x4's I would have thought, they could have made it though. No much point having a 4x4 if the guards close the road. But I saw none on the quays, or through the city center, and there was almost no information of the radio. A freak night, I expect everyone was caught on the hop. Repect to anyone working out in that tonight.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,276 ✭✭✭sdanseo

I saw a civil defence Defender on blues tonight for the first time ever (judging by the age of the driver it was probably his first time eevr using them too). Then it got better when they started blaring the old two-tone. "Stupid motorists not reacting I thought" before very nearly veering out of my lane in awe :P

Love those Landys.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,274 ✭✭✭Pigeon Reaper

BostonB wrote: »
    They were also stopping 4x4's I would have thought, they could have made it though. No much point having a 4x4 if the guards close the road. .

Best to stop the 4X4s too. Many users don't know how to drive them in extreme conditions and there are alot of unseen dangers in floods. Manhole covers lift, the dept can increase quickly, strong currents and, the road may even have been washed away.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 24,609 ✭✭✭✭arybvtcw0eolkf

Best to stop the 4X4s too. Many users don't know how to drive them in extreme conditions and there are alot of unseen dangers in floods. Manhole covers lift, the dept can increase quickly, strong currents and, the road may even have been washed away.

+1 on this.

I worked from until just after midnight last night (Defence Forces) and the amount of people in 4x4 behaving like they were impervious to the weather/road conditions was unreal.

Well done to all members of AGS and all emergency services on the sterling work done last night.

I left work last night while the search for the missing Guard was still in operation and I arrive today feeling particularly saddened to hear of his loss.

Garda Jones R.I.P.

And condolences from myself to all his family, friends and collegues.

I didn't see any getting stuck though.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,451 ✭✭✭Delancey

BostonB wrote: »
    I didn't see any getting stuck though.

I did - 2 guys in a Pajero drove into a flood , didn't come out the other side though.

They died OMG :eek:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,451 ✭✭✭Delancey

Well to be more exact their vehicle did not come out the other side - last I saw they were shouting an the driver of another 4x4 to come get them though given what had just happened I think he would have seen sense :)

Some people just don't know their own limits...
    http://www.advrider.com/forums/showpost.php?p=16605199&postcount=23

• Closed Accounts Posts: 414 ✭✭Bosh

Ain't that the truth!

You wouldn't believe the number of people I spoke to in 4x4's during the cold snap last winter who were stuck in the snow and didn't know how to engage the four wheel drive or said "I never thought of using it".

One woman actually said "Does it have four wheel drive?"......while sitting in a Landcruiser.......:rolleyes: