Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Training collar recommendations

• Closed Accounts Posts: 212 ✭✭sincere113

I bought one of these Sportdog trainer e-collars - works grand....

http://www.wildhunter.eu/index.php?main_page=product_info&cPath=114_35&products_id=400

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,070 ✭✭✭cavan shooter

Hi Lads,
    Want to get training collar for weimaraner and wondering which would be best. Petsafe, elite tek or pak ndxt? I was looking at couple on ebay

http://www.ebay.ie/itm/Submersible-Rechargeable-Remote-Dog-Training-Collar-Long-Distance-Elite-Tek-9898-/260872852989?pt=UK_Pet_Supplies_Dogs&hash=item3cbd3bd5fd

http://www.ebay.ie/itm/PETSAFE-VENTURE-900M-DOG-TRAINING-TRAINER-SHOCK-COLLAR-/160539265225?pt=UK_Pet_Supplies_Dogs&hash=item2560e2c8c9

http://www.ebay.co.uk/itm/PAC-NDXT-2-DOG-TRAINING-COLLAR-1KM-RANGE-/110496954836

Is canicom any good also? Dont want to go mad expensive and a distance of 350-550m will suffice. as long as its rechargable and waterproof and works of course im happy.

Are you having some problems with the Dog....they have their uses but as a last resort.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,070 ✭✭✭EPointer=Birdss

PAC ndxt
    Very good collar, tidy, good battery & good after sales service. Waterproof & 500m distance easy. Very good beep button which you'll use more often than not.

PS. That eBay price is too dear. They were selling for 200 in Birr.
    The 2 dog collar works off the single handset by reprogramming buttons.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 417 ✭✭customrifle

Thanks lads, the PAC ndxt seems to be tidy unit alright. I did some more looking online and it seems to be available on some sites for round £160-£170.
    Reason for its purchase is honestly weimaraner let me down badly at w end and went chasing sheep:mad:. He has hunted through sheep plenty of times before without acknowledging them and this was also first time he did not recall straight away when i called or whistled for him. It was first time he was ran without other dogs with him and I let him through the gate first while i was shutting it he took off. Im goin to walk him through flock with lead durin week and correct him if he even looks at sheep but id like to have collar as back up.
    I was very disappointed in him, even more so as just previous to this and just after he set couple of cock pheasants beautifully(I wasnt shooting obviously, just giving him run). It really is amazing to watch him work, i walked up right beside him when he set like stone on 2nd pheasant, it got up less than metre in front of me:D. Hes a good dog with a gentle nature thats why im so surprised with him.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 88 ✭✭wwwboof

try and use the collar as a last resort it could ruin a good dog personaly i wouldnt touch them i have seen a very good dog ruined with one

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,656 ✭✭✭Spunk84

It's all depends on the person using the remote interms of ruining a dog. Same way you can ruin a good dog by hitting it a smack!!!:mad: I have a Sportdog which goes out to 800m best 100+ euro I ever spent!!!! The dog would run away after tweedy birds, 2-3 shocks and he recalled perfectly:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,684 ✭✭✭macadam

Had a canicom for about 4 years great bit of kit waterproof etc give to a lad and he opened it and destroyed the seal, goe easy with a collar minimum shock and beep straight before this way the dog knows when it beeps he is due a shock and the beep should be sufficent.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,070 ✭✭✭EPointer=Birdss

Thanks lads, the PAC ndxt seems to be tidy unit alright. I did some more looking online and it seems to be available on some sites for round £160-£170.
    Reason for its purchase is honestly weimaraner let me down badly at w end and went chasing sheep:mad:. He has hunted through sheep plenty of times before without acknowledging them and this was also first time he did not recall straight away when i called or whistled for him. It was first time he was ran without other dogs with him and I let him through the gate first while i was shutting it he took off. Im goin to walk him through flock with lead durin week and correct him if he even looks at sheep but id like to have collar as back up.
    I was very disappointed in him, even more so as just previous to this and just after he set couple of cock pheasants beautifully(I wasnt shooting obviously, just giving him run). It really is amazing to watch him work, i walked up right beside him when he set like stone on 2nd pheasant, it got up less than metre in front of me:D. Hes a good dog with a gentle nature thats why im so surprised with him.

I wouldn't even call him next time he does that. I'd let him off & rattle him when he gets anywhere near. I'd turn & walk as if nothin happened. Make him think it's the sheep not you. Worked a treat for me. Works on hares too. By sounds of it, it's all you need it for. Hell probably be at your toes for a bit so make no fuss of him & keep going in the opposite direction. Heel or lead him when crossing fields with livestock if necessary then. He'll learn in no time.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 417 ✭✭customrifle

Thanks for all advice lads. Mate is giving me loan of his canicom 1200 so hopefully it ll work. I might invest in one if it does and see if it helps the dobermans recall when he has distractions. Hopefully it ll work out and I'll have picture of weimaraner with pheasant on the first :) again thanks

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 130 ✭✭mixerbarcoe

Spunk84 wrote: »
    It's all depends on the person using the remote interms of ruining a dog. Same way you can ruin a good dog by hitting it a smack!!!:mad: I have a Sportdog which goes out to 800m best 100+ euro I ever spent!!!! The dog would run away after tweedy birds, 2-3 shocks and he recalled perfectly:D

yeah i just bought one of these today found a website that has them cheap on it. there €250 on irish websites got it for €172 on this site.

http://www.britishdog.net/gbu0-prodshow/SportDog_SportTrainer_700.html

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,656 ✭✭✭Spunk84

yeah i just bought one of these today found a website that has them cheap on it. there €250 on irish websites got it for €172 on this site.

http://www.britishdog.net/gbu0-prodshow/SportDog_SportTrainer_700.html

very same one;)great yoke