Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Lights people..

• 23-10-2011 4:59pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,668 ✭✭✭

I know this has been discussed many a time but I'll throw it out there again...what the **** is wrong with people..

It's hard enough driving in the rain..it's dull, it's raining...why wouldn't you turn on your lights :mad:

Sorry folks but I met dozens of idiots today in just a short space of time....may need to "talk to Joe!" :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,080 ✭✭✭✭Big Nasty

Front fogs FTMFW! :D

....should be like foglights, ffs not again.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 81,220 ✭✭✭✭biko

As long as people can see YOU they don't think/care about if anyone can see THEM.
    Some are just cheap, driving around with just barely visible parking lights on. Eejits.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,069 ✭✭✭✭CiniO

I'd add one more thing.

In bed weather you need dipped headlights.

Fog lights are not any good, as they dazzle.
    DRL's are not as good as headlights, as they can't be seen from that far.
    Sidelights (and this seems to be the biggest problem, as they are used by plenty of people) can't be seen on the rainy days almost at all.
    I checked it yesterday - I was trying to look up cars from as far as possible in moderate rain.
    If car had dipped lights on, you can see it from far enough.
    Otherwise you can see the car contour from some distance, but you can't see any lights.
    Only when car gets closer, you can see if it had sidelights on or off.
    In that case, if car can be seen earlier than it's sidelights in the rain, I can't see any reason to turn on the side lights.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,668 ✭✭✭eringobragh

biko wrote: »
    As long as people can see YOU they don't think/care about if anyone can see THEM.
    Some are just cheap, driving around with just barely visible parking lights on. Eejits.

A couple of the 'parking light brigade' as well today! :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,275 ✭✭✭tobsey

You should have dipped lights on for every journey between now and next March/April at least.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,758 ✭✭✭✭TeddyTedson

It really gets on my tits when people blind me with their fog lights. They need to make cars with the fog lights button on it's own.

tobsey wrote: »
    You should have dipped lights on for every journey between now and next March/April at least.

Between something like 2000 and 2007 there used to be regulation in Poland requesting every driver for used dipped headlights at all times from beginning of October to end February.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,157 ✭✭✭✭Alanstrainor

It really gets on my tits when people blind me with their fog lights. They need to make cars with the fog lights button on it's own.
    MCMLXXV wrote: »
    Front fogs FTMFW! :D

NO

NO

I <3 my fogs! :p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,758 ✭✭✭✭TeddyTedson

What does ftmfw mean?

This! ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,518 ✭✭✭✭dudara

Crazy amount of silver car drivers out on the M50 in the spray with no lights. Beggars belief.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,633 ✭✭✭✭Marcusm

dudara wrote: »
    Crazy amount of silver car drivers out on the M50 in the spray with no lights. Beggars belief.

You can't bring skin colour in to this debate!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,445 ✭✭✭Absurdum

the M50 is a big load of pox when there's heavy rain, rear fogs wouldn't be out of place on it

Absurdum wrote: »
    the M50 is a big load of pox when there's heavy rain, rear fogs wouldn't be out of place on it

That's genrally good idea to be using rear fog lights on motorway during rain at high speed.
    M50 though is limited to 100km/h anyway, so it seems to be little to less.
    I'd say above 120- 140km/h that practice makes sence.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,445 ✭✭✭Absurdum

CiniO wrote: »
    That's genrally good idea to be using rear fog lights on motorway during rain at high speed.
    M50 though is limited to 100km/h anyway, so it seems to be little to less.
    I'd say above 120- 140km/h that practice makes sence.

The M50 is like a big swimming pool when it rains, it's something to do with the surface being less porous than normal to save money on maintenance costs. Even cars travelling at 60 km/h throw out massive amounts of spray.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 67 ✭✭Craggy Island

I have a B6 Passat, and judging from seeing other similar models with their fog lights on, I believe in certain situations, as in before dipped headlights are needed to improve your own visibility around dusk, that using fog lights instead of dipped headlights can be less blinding for other drivers.
    I'm only saying this based on my own car's fog lights, as I know there is a massive variation in how blinding they can be from car to car,but mine are pointing down enough IMO.
    Anyone agree?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,213 ✭✭✭daenerysstormborn3

Fog lights are for foggy weather. If it's not foggy, they shouldn't be used. That seems simple enough to understand.

The parking light brigade are out every day. You'd think given the amount of people you see reading while driving, they might actually whip out the car manual and figure out what the buttons are for!

Fog lights are for foggy weather. If it's not foggy, they shouldn't be used. That seems simple enough to understand.

The parking light brigade are out every day. You'd think given the amount of people you see reading while driving, they might actually whip out the car manual and figure out what the buttons are for!

The only difference is that using fog-lights when there is no fog is illegal, and should be prosecuted by gardai (sadly isn't).

Using only sidelights in bad weather or just after dusk or before dawn anywhere, the same as in the middle of the night in lit up area is perfectly legal, and gardai can't do anything about it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 67 ✭✭Craggy Island

!

( Baling twine is for bales, though I can find a thousand uses for them too)

I'm not talking from a legal point of view. I'm talking about what the oncoming driver sees, or doesn't see coming towards them.
    If my fog lights are less blinding than my dipped headlights then isn't it the courteous thing to do to use whichever allows them more visibility. I'm only applying this to my car as I know what the lights look like to others.:)

If my fog lights are less blinding than my dipped headlights then isn't it the courteous thing to do to use whichever allows them more visibility.

If that's true, it means your dipped headlights need adjustment.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,157 ✭✭✭✭Alanstrainor

Feck this for a game of cowboys.

Discussion of fog lights and there correct usage has been done to death on this forum. It's discussion is banned in the charter.

Thread closed.