Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

(Day)Light, camera, action!

• 22-10-2011 7:43pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 10,271 ✭✭✭✭

Jesus, that was some struggle to get this far. Technology and me aren't the best of buddies :D

Piddled around with some waste pipe, my camera, and my scope last night. Took the new rig out for a spin today and this is where bugs bunny met his maker. Also shot a magpie but I wasn't set up for him, typical!

The camera adapter (pipe and cable tie...) is about 5.5 inches long, so it's a pain considering the camera is at the end of that, and I need to shoot looking through the camera, so I couldn't get my shoulder to the gun, therefore arranging things is slightly gammy!

Noice noggin shot.

P1040127.jpg

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,898 ✭✭✭poulo6.5

hi john you have the video up as private. i could not watch it.

you may have to change the settings

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,271 ✭✭✭✭johngalway

Try now, I changed the settings :o

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 102 ✭✭RICHIE.39

Great shot and video.
    Am new to boards and am hopin to start up myself with shootin soon. Gonna make a call to local Garda and few local dealers to get started applying this week. In the meanwhile videos like this are great!
    Thanks John !

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,701 ✭✭✭moy83

Deadly shot john was that the 17. ? Where are the black rabbits i never saw one before

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,576 ✭✭✭garv123

jesus john your fair steady on the target.

what software did you get in the end to edit the video?

I have the same idea for making videos when i get the licence eventually, may have to sort out a better camera first. Hope i can get a shorter connection though. Throw up some pics of the setup when you have time :D

Thanks Richie, what gun are you going for?

AVS Video Editor 6.1 is what I used in the end, I say used, I chanced my arm pressing buttons mostly! I've a sock filled with polypropylene beads under the butt, that's why she's so steady. Not sure how to mount the camera any closer really, as the eye relief comes into play, then the width of the camera. I did see on a video before, a fella had a small camera, with a cable to a screen on the side of the scope, would work better if it could be made up.

Moy, they're about 4miles back the road from me ;) Dunno how they came there in the start but there's enough of them there now to be able to knock off a few now and then. I was using the .223 as that's the gun I happened to be messing about with last night, will make some vids again with the HMR.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,070 ✭✭✭EPointer=Birdss

Excellent.
    Welcome to YouTube John :)

garv123 wrote: »
    jesus john your fair steady on the target.

what software did you get in the end to edit the video?

I have the same idea for making videos when i get the licence eventually, may have to sort out a better camera first. Hope i can get a shorter connection though. Throw up some pics of the setup when you have time :D

It's literally two bits of waste water pipe with slots cut out of them and one cable tie :D But I will do that tomorrow, off foxing now in a minute.

I put up a link a good while ago about mounting cameras to scopes, you might find it in a search? It's better than what I made, I was just being lazy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 102 ✭✭RICHIE.39

Thinking a cz 22lr. Not sure much after that. Have been readin as many threads the last few days as I can. They seem to be getting majority good reviews here. Only lookin at rabbit and odd fox that passes handy til I settle in. Work up to the 223 when confidence is there ;-)
    What do you think? And sorry if I'm diverting your thread a bit.

johngalway wrote: »
    It's literally two bits of waste water pipe with slots cut out of them and one cable tie :D But I will do that tomorrow, off foxing now in a minute.

I put up a link a good while ago about mounting cameras to scopes, you might find it in a search? It's better than what I made, I was just being lazy.

Think thats the one u posted

Yep, that second vid is the one I posted, much shorter than the yoke I made :D

Well... I tried "the pipe" on the HMR and the results weren't great. Need to make that other adapter to be able to centre the camera lens properly every time. My camera has a power save function which retracts the lens. Meaning I have to remove and replace the camera each time. Of course the shims then also move :D Trip to Woodies today methinks!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,181 ✭✭✭landkeeper

good shot lad,!! but your a braver soul than me shooting a black rabbit, tis fierce unlucky you know :eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,070 ✭✭✭EPointer=Birdss

landkeeper wrote: »
    good shot lad,!! but your a braver soul than me shooting a black rabbit, tis fierce unlucky you know :eek:

Ya for the rabbit!

landkeeper wrote: »
    tis fierce unlucky you know :eek:

Herself & myself were walking up a side street in Galway last week. Some fella had a ladder propped up against a shop front, I was laughing, everyone was stepping out into the road to avoid it. I walked right underneath, bad barsteward me, oh yeah.... :cool:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,149 ✭✭✭bazza888

ithink the whole bad luck walking under aladder comes from people getting hammers and stuff dropped on their heads,thats the reason id avoid going under them:D

but when a crow craps on you its good luck:rolleyes: yeah I'd rather take my chances waking under the ladder

Can anyone tell me the correct name for the "adapter" piece in the video in post #12? I looked in Woodies and found nothing and Google isn't giving me much in the way of constructive results.

garv123 wrote: »
    but when a crow craps on you its good luck:rolleyes: yeah I'd rather take my chances waking under the ladder

Seagull crapped on me mackerel fishing one day, won a €6k double horse box that evening :D

http://plumbing.hardwarestore.com/52-333-pvc-adaptors.aspx

male pvc adapter. The male parts have the threading on the outside.
    Dont think it has a more specific name than that.

think its hit and miss finding one that fits both the scope and camera.

Thanks Garv, I imagine it will be alright. I've a calipers here to measure both anyway, so I'll just go for the nearest to the scope size then cut something decent to use as a shim for the camera and glue it in place (the shim, not the camera :D ).

johngalway wrote: »
    Thanks Garv, I imagine it will be alright. I've a calipers here to measure both anyway, so I'll just go for the nearest to the scope size then cut something decent to use as a shim for the camera and glue it in place (the shim, not the camera :D ).

Id imagine if you can find some form of padding frim but has a small bit of give it it would hold the camera in place well. like them little orange padded stickers that come all over new windows.

I'll be trying the same thing soon enough. hoping to have a few videos for the month i have off after xmas :D