Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

First car- 10-15K to spend.

• 21-10-2011 10:03pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32

hey guys and gurlies,
    my first car is gunna be here soon as i get it haha
    so
    ive 10k ta spend nd ive been looking for a bit.
    i was thinkin something like the new micra or else maybe the Hyundai Santa Fe, wats the bettter car nd y?
    like i like da micra .. it looks really cute lol but da santa fe looks quite butch?
    any ideas?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,987 ✭✭✭ottostreet

If it's a first first car and you've no driving experience, I'd suggest spending 2-3k max on something like an early 00s Micra. No sense in spending all that money on a car if youre gonna scrape it off everything around you. Also...a Santa Fe? IMO, far too big to learn in.

However, if you can already drive and its just a first car...fire away!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,977 ✭✭✭rocky

This a new one, a Micra or a Santa Fe? Hmmm tough choice...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,930 ✭✭✭✭challengemaster

Yeah, basically what ottostreet has said. 1-2k at most on a first car if you've no prior experience

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32 el amor

thans guys,
    nah ive been drivein a good while , learned on me da's car nd been drivin the OH's ting the last while but im getting my own now..
    what colour do they come in? id be looking out for a blue one tbh

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,222 ✭✭✭robbie_998

take a leaf out of my book buddy :pac:

robbie_998 wrote: »
    take a leaf out of my book buddy :pac:

wats that

my first car is a 07 civic.

grand yoke... last forever !

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,822 ✭✭✭✭EPM

You've only had it a few months!

OP have you gotten insurance quotes on anything?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,930 ✭✭✭✭challengemaster

What sort of driving do you do, i think is the important question..

ill give them a look up tomora,
    i might go out having a look round sure

el amor wrote: »
    ill give them a look up tomora,
    i might go out having a look round sure
    ah here now

dont go diving into cars we throw at you..

put some research and test drive a whole range of cars before making your mind up and all.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,301 ✭✭✭Flesh Gorden

Lads do you not think this might be a wind up?

I see your 10k's and raise you 12 L's :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,720 ✭✭✭Hal1

I would set a budget of €1k and buy a donedeal special (yaris, micra, polo, swift, etc). I would spend 12 months in that learning to drive and get used to the roads and other road users.