Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Why do culchies call all relatives their cousins?

• 21-10-2011 8:34pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,653 ✭✭✭✭

When they are actually some distant twice removed cousin of their aunt :rolleyes:

In Dublin the only relative called your cousin is your actual (FIRST) cousin.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,293 ✭✭✭✭Mint Sauce

Do they? First I heard of this.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,762 ✭✭✭✭stupidusername

yaw cause culchies are sooooo unhip loike.

I call all my cousins, cousins. I don't know anybody who refers to them as anything else, regardless of where they're from.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 212 ✭✭Laura_lolly87

I don't, never heard anybody I know do it either. But you must know all the other culchies that I don't.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,398 ✭✭✭✭Turtyturd

I'm from Dublin and refer to my 2nd cousins as a cousin.

I'd be more interested in why so many of them are called PJ...especially brothers and sisters in the same family...even the pets seem to be called PJ.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,559 ✭✭✭✭AnonoBoy

They don't call their aunts/uncles/grandparents cousins.

A 2nd cousin is still your cousin.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,234 ✭✭✭thetonynator

How many ''culchies'' do you actually know OP?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 852 ✭✭✭hillbloom

Never heard that. What we consider cousins are first cousins.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,815 ✭✭✭✭galwayrush

Never came across this before OP. Maybe you only know strange people.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,370 ✭✭✭✭Son Of A Vidic

Well OP, I can only attribute such stupidity to the fact that you mustn't get out much.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,653 ✭✭✭✭amdublin

Yeah it's true. Check out next time your in the country in the pub.
    "who's your man?"
    "that's me cousin"

"Oh right, that's your uncle Micks son is it?"
    "eh no"

"mary's son?"
    "no"

"that's my dad's uncle Jamies' cousin's son"

"oh :confused:"

Turtyturd wrote: »

I'd be more interested in why so many of them are called PJ...especially brothers and sisters in the same family...even the pets seem to be called PJ.

And if it's not PJ, it's JP :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,041 ✭✭✭cocoshovel

Is that a troll attempt?

eh

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,435 ✭✭✭ilovelamp2000

Cos they think it's okay to shag their cousins?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,649 ✭✭✭✭The Princess Bride

You're waaaaay off the mark OP.

It's cousinds not cousins!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,143 ✭✭✭Tzetze

It's 'cousint'
    So ihis

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,512 ✭✭✭Ellis Dee

irish-stew wrote: »
    Do they? First I heard of this.

Same here (equally baffled in Laois).:confused::confused::confused:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,873 ✭✭✭Skid

amdublin wrote: »
    When they are actually some distant twice removed cousin of their aunt :rolleyes:

Well I can't speak for all of us Culchies, but to me your first and second cousins are your cousins.

The clue is in the word 'cousin'

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,373 ✭✭✭tonycascarino

Nobody cares what you do in Dublin;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 716 ✭✭✭Luxie

Madly enough I do the same thing. And I'm from West Cork.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,573 ✭✭✭pragmatic1

Because we're friendly and consider everyone family.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,673 ✭✭✭✭senordingdong

Why do culchies do anything?

Crazy culchies.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,541 ✭✭✭Gee Bag

I admit that I do sometimes tell people that my wife is my cousin......

But thats just to hide the fact that she's really my sister.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 705 ✭✭✭keepkeyyellow

Oh right the one pub in the country that all us culchies congregate......are you picking all this up in Coppers like

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,921 ✭✭✭John Doe1

Op what the hell are you talking about?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 5,172 ✭✭✭Ghost Buster

Why in a country not much bigger than some cities suburbs with a capital city the size of an average UK town does this culchie / skanger crap keep coming up?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 124 ✭✭McBauer

"who's your man?"
    "that's me cousin"

"eh no"

"mary's son?"
    "no"

If these are the sort of chats you have when you're in the pub then you must be a real barrel of laughs

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 5,172 ✭✭✭Ghost Buster

"who's your man?"
    "that's me cousin"

"eh no"

"mary's son?"
    "no"

Do you live in a Hollywood Irish Movie version of Ireland?

Really? I find it's posh people who do it, not culchies (maybe posh culchies do it too, who knows).

I know a good few posh people and they call all old, non-immediate relations "aunt"/"uncle", closely aged relations "cousin" and younger ones "niece"/"nephew".

And they pronounce it "neview", rather than "nefew".

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,713 ✭✭✭✭Novella

I have never heard of anyone calling someone who is not their cousin, their cousin. Ever.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,016 ✭✭✭Hulk Hands

Turtyturd wrote: »

Why are half the dubs known as anto or deco? Or tina for women

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,398 ✭✭✭✭Turtyturd

Hulk Hands wrote: »
    Why are half the dubs known as anto or deco? Or tina for women

To be honest I have never heard of two Decos or Antos in the same immediate family up here.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 669 ✭✭✭mongoman

Why in a country not much bigger than some cities suburbs with a capital city the size of an average UK town does this culchie / skanger crap keep coming up?

That just about sums it up alright.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,127 ✭✭✭ZombieBride

Down this way the miscreants call every one "cuz" while trying to bum a smoke.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 830 ✭✭✭jimpump

from a fella livin in dublin and used to live in 'the country' for a 8 years, thats the 1st i ever heard of it

and btw its cousinds here in dublin

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 81,220 ✭✭✭✭biko

Why do Jackeens call people they don't know "bud"? Don't they have to be friends first?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 461 ✭✭ballsacky

From the country and only refer to my cousins as cousins.We country folk are crazy that way!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 830 ✭✭✭jimpump

biko wrote: »
    Why do Jackeens call people they don't know "bud"? Don't they have to be friends first?

So do heads from galway never refer to 'strangers' as pal,mate,bro,sham,scan etc.???

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,989 ✭✭✭✭kippy

Perhaps it's because us "Culchies" are far more educated than ye "Jackeens"......
    http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Cousin
    Have a read up there on the use of the word cousin.

Why the fcuk do some posters in this particular forum not have a clue of when and where to use the rolleyes smilie?

I can see why the confused smilie was used, you appear to be very much confused.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,228 ✭✭✭epgc3fyqirnbsx

I met a culchie once, it was focking Hill-air Finton

kippy wrote: »
    Perhaps it's because us "Culchies" are far more educated than ye "Jackeens"......
    http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Cousin
    Have a read up there on the use of the word cousin.

Why the fcuk do some posters in this particular forum not have a clue of when and where to use the rolleyes smilie?

I can see why the confused smilie was used, you appear to be very much confused.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,933 ✭✭✭holystungun9

I call all my cousins either sweetums or babe. That's just how we get down.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,473 ✭✭✭✭Super-Rush

Why do people troll?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 516 ✭✭✭Frowzy

I wouldn't admit to being related to anyone in Dublin either!

Don't take it personally OP....

• Moderators, Regional North East Moderators Posts: 12,739 Mod ✭✭✭✭cournioni

Why do Dubs only have a vocabulary that consists of the following words: "Any spare change please?"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,473 ✭✭✭✭Super-Rush

Right we'll end this before anyone gets hurt.