Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Seán Gallagher claims he is open Wexford Festival Opera - Kenny listed

• 20-10-2011 11:39pm
    Moderators, Education Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators, Regional South East Moderators Posts: 24,056 Mod ✭✭✭✭

I see from the Seán Gallagher blog that he is opening the Wexford Festival Opera. Seems like a big thing to be opening for a candidate.
    The final event of the evening will be in the Wexford Opera Festival, where Seán will be opening the event. The Wexford Festival Opera has been running since 1951, playing a central role in the cultural life of Ireland, in the world of Opera and Arts internationally. From small and humble beginnings it has achieved world-wide success and critical acclaim by demonstrating passion, innovation and a willingness to lead audiences and artists into neglected territories to explore the rich vein of operatic work worldwide.

Source: http://www.seangallagher.com/2011/10/friday-21st-october-dublin-wicklow-wexford/

But, the Wexford Festival says that Enda Kenny is opening it..
    An Taoiseach Enda Kenney, T.D. will officially launch the 60th Wexford Festival Opera at the annual quay-front ceremony at 7pm on Friday, October 21.

Traffic on the quays will close to traffic at 5:30 until 8:30pm and car parks on the quay, normally closing at 6pm, will be open until 9pm.

Entertainment will commence on the quay with Southeast Radio broadcasting live from 4:30pm. Maurice McCarthy will act as MC for the evening, presenting a full line-up of entertainment for all the family, including Cork City Ballet, Oyster Lane Theatre Group, performing extracts from their upcoming production of ‘Beauty and the Beast’, live music with Back2Back and of course the ever popular and energetic percussion sensation, Extreme Rhythm.

An Taoiseach Enda Kenny will officially address the people of Wexford just prior to the spectacular fireworks display, a hallmark of this world renowned event, at 7:30pm.

This popular family event, attracting upwards of 25,000 people onto Wexford’s quay-front, is a logistical fete which wouldn’t be possible without the support of Wexford Borough Council, Wexford County Council, Wexford Gardai, Wexford Order of Malta, Wexford Civil Defence, Wexford RNLI, Wexford Reserve Defence Force, Co. Wexford Fire Service, HSE and Irish Rail, and the many volunteers who work in advance of, and on, the night itself.

Wexford Festival Opera attracts thousands of visitors from across Ireland and abroad. Organisers wish to remind people to keep Wexford looking its best and to dispose of litter in the bins provided. Organisers recommend people come early and enjoy the entertainment. For your safety please obey the stewards and mind your footing when crossing the railway tracks. Fireworks are noisy - leave your pets at home with a radio on!

Source: http://wexfordoperahouse.ie/index.php?option=com_news&c=news&task=details&id=100&Itemid=22

Can someone clarify what the story is here? Do we have any Gallagher campaign crew on Boards that could fill us in on this, I assume, error?

Seems a big event to be opening for a candidate, and if Enda Kenny is to actually open it that a Presidential Candidate would be part of the opening.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 377 ✭✭irishdude11

Is that the original text?

Because here is what it says now -
    The final event of the evening will be in the Wexford Opera Festival, where Seán will be attending the opening of the event.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 496 ✭✭Teclo

all I will say is that both of them know fcuk all about opera

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,163 ✭✭✭✭Liam Byrne

Would he not be better advised to stay away from the event ?

Fat ladies singing and all that lark.

• Moderators, Education Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators, Regional South East Moderators Posts: 24,056 Mod ✭✭✭✭Sully

Is that the original text?

Because here is what it says now -

Yup it was the original text. As posted on Politics.ie and on Facebook.

I posted on their Facebook, it was removed. I also posted on their blog, it was removed. I was only asking - I actually wasn't accusing him of misleading people.

It could very well have just been another "honest mistake".

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,774 ✭✭✭raymon

Sully wrote: »

I posted on their Facebook, it was removed. I also posted on their blog, it was removed. I was only asking - I actually wasn't accusing him of misleading people.

His honest mistakes seem to be accumulating

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 304 ✭✭Bock the Robber

Sully wrote: »

Did you by any chance happen to take a screenshot of these posts?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,012 ✭✭✭✭thebman

Ah it is an honest mistake, probably by someone working on his campaign and not the man himself.