Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Missing cork girls.

• 20-10-2011 10:10pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 4,791 ✭✭✭

Three teens have gone missing in cork, they don't know each other, and are not linked in anyway according to the report, kinda odd.

Linky

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,647 ✭✭✭✭El Weirdo

THREE 16-year-old girls who have vanished in Cork had very little money with them when they disappeared.
    Gardai are today studying CCTV footage in a bid to determine exactly what has happened them.
    There is particular concern for Shanice Coffey, who has been missing since September 24.
    The three teens went missing over the space of 18 days -- though gardai do not believe the disappearances are linked.
    The Herald understands that officers suspect at least two of the girls are likely to still be in the greater Cork area.
    Gardai are increasingly concerned about the welfare of Shanice Coffey, Isabel Tache and Shannon Cunningham (pictured) who disappeared between September 24 and October 12.
    "Someone must have information on where these girls are and we would appeal to them to come forward so we can determine that these girls are okay," a garda source said. Gardai are also checking all known locations associated with the three girls amid indications that, when they went missing, they each had only a small quantity of cash.
    Shanice was last seen at 8pm on September 24 on Patrick Street in Cork city centre, wearing blue denim shorts and a black casual top.She is described as 5ft 3in, of medium build and with blue eyes and long brown hair.
    Shannon is believed to still be in the greater Cork area. She is 5ft 2in, of medium build and has distinctive green eyes, a pale complexion and wears her short brown hair in a spiked style.
    Isabel Tache, who vanished on October 8 last, was wearing blue jeans, a white T-shirt a white denim jacket and black boots. She is 5ft 5in and has brown eyes and short, black hair.
    Anyone with information is asked to contact the Garda Confidential Line on (1800) 666111.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,546 ✭✭✭✭The_Kew_Tour

Jesus I hope these girls are found safe and well.

EVENFLOW

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,571 ✭✭✭Aoifey!

Just thought I'd stick it in here. There's also a girl missing from Waterford.

http://www.socialalertme.com/alerts/amanda-oreilly/761.htm

Hopefully they are all found well.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,130 ✭✭✭✭Kiera

Why didnt they post pics of the other girls? Surely their parents would have given the paper a pic of their missing daughter?

• Moderators, Music Moderators Posts: 8,490 Mod ✭✭✭✭Fluorescence

Good call sticking the article here. AH gets a lot of visitors - it'll help spread the news so more people are aware and on the look out.

I'm surprised the Gardai don't think they're linked. The circumstances are extremely similar and I would have guessed connected in some way :confused:.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,725 ✭✭✭charlemont

Its very strange and there does not seem to be much media coverage on it, Its possible some sicko is on the loose, Surely if they were staying at a friends or boyfriend/older man etc some friend would have got wind of it and a parent would be told and thus the Gardaí would then know but this hasn't happened yet so I think its not looking good.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,571 ✭✭✭7sr2z3fely84g5

Kiera wrote: »
    Why didnt they post pics of the other girls? Surely their parents would have given the paper a pic of their missing daughter?

pics here- http://corkindependent.com/stories/item/5293/2011-42/Missing-teenagers

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,646 ✭✭✭✭Sauve

Bit strange this isn't all over the news to be honest.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 831 ✭✭✭rotinaj

These girls are actually missing from HSE care. As far as i know 2 of the girls are currently with family while 1is with friends. So they are not actually missing as in disappared off the face of the earth, they are just not where they are supposed to be.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 4,287 ✭✭✭mickydoomsux

charlemont wrote: »
    Its possible some sicko is on the loose,

EDIT:

Nevermmind, HSE care. That explains it. Happens an awful lot in these cases.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,546 ✭✭✭✭The_Kew_Tour

Agree totally

People would rather worry about the important things in life like Westlife breaking up though:mad:

EVENFLOW

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,979 ✭✭✭Tea_Bag

God their parents must be in hell at the moment. hope for the best i guess.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,085 ✭✭✭meoklmrk91

Pictures of these girls are going around Facebook, if ye come across them post them on your wall lads, it's a good way of getting their faces ingrained in peoples minds and hopefully might lead to something.

I really hope that these girls are found alive and well, I must say I find it very ominous that three 16 year old's went missing in the area in such a short space of time, fingers crossed this isn't a pattern emerging and just a strange coincidence.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,125 ✭✭✭westendgirlie

Are they missing or have they absconded from care and returned to their families?

Yeah, I only knew about one missing girl as I one of my friends put it on facebook. Just heard on the radio she's back safe and sound.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 302 ✭✭RubyRoss

Wow, that's horrific for all involved - I know there's a website for long-term missing Irish people but I hope those girls are found - safe and well - before long.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,276 ✭✭✭sdanseo

I normally have a smart or inapropriate reply for everything, but in this case I hope these girls are returned safe and well. Promisingly most reports like are just a case of them running away from home for one reason or another.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 338 ✭✭Keith in cork

sdeire wrote: »
    I normally have a smart or inapropriate reply for everything,

You can rest easy with your clear conscience, i've got your back.

Being a teen is tough. If i looked like any of those three, i'd hide too. :eek:

I hope their all found safe and well. If in hse care they've obviously got some demons their trying to deal with.

The young girl (also 16) that went missing from ballinhassig co cork during the summer, deniese foley, grew up a few doors up from me. she was found safe and well in salthill co.galway. There is hope, and den den is proof.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,725 ✭✭✭charlemont

EDIT:

Nevermmind, HSE care. That explains it. Happens an awful lot in these cases.

Yes, I agree I wasn't originally aware that these girls were in HSE care when I first posted.