Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Chelsea vs. Genk 19:45 Sky Sports 2

• 19-10-2011 6:12pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,405 ✭✭✭

Chelsea team:

1 Petr Cech
    17 Jose Bosingwa
    2 Branislav Ivanovic
    4 David Luiz
    3 Ashley Cole
    16 Raul Meireles
    6 Oriol Romeu
    8 Frank Lampard (c)
    39 Nicolas Anelka
    9 Fernando Torres
    15 Florent Malouda

Subs: 22 Ross Turnbull, 19 Paulo Ferreira, 33 Alex, 12 John Mikel Obi, 21 Salomon Kalou, 10 Juan Mata, 23 Daniel Sturridge.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,832 ✭✭✭✭Blatter

Looking forward to seeing Romeu later in the extended highlights.

Strong team out for Chelsea, who should win relatively comfortably. Don't like Malouda, I don't think he's good enough. Torres to run riot imo. He's been coming into form and will be really up for this game as he hasn't played in a while.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,405 ✭✭✭Lukker-

Blatter wrote: »
    Looking forward to seeing Romeu later in the extended highlights.

Strong team out for Chelsea, who should win relatively comfortably. Don't like Malouda, I don't think he's good enough. Torres to run riot imo. He's been coming into form and will be really up for this game as he hasn't played in a while.

Malouda suits more of a direct style of football. I don't think he fits naturally into Chelsea's new style, he was probably one of our best players the year we won the league but I don't think he's comfortable in the new system. Was hoping Mata would start tbh, just so Torres could link up.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,546 ✭✭✭Masked Man

Lukker- wrote: »
    Malouda suits more of a direct style of football. I don't think he fits naturally into Chelsea's new style, he was probably one of our best players the year we won the league but I don't think he's comfortable in the new system. Was hoping Mata would start tbh, just so Torres could link up.

Would be raging if he got injured in a game like this.

Can't wait to see De Bruyne.

WTF does Josh have to do to get a game.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 395 ✭✭TheRoomWrecker

Interested to see how Jelle Vossen gets on up against top defenders

He was good in 09/10 alright but I think he was poor enough last year even though ye were by and large playing the same style as the previous year when he was playing well.

I think he has a poor attitude tbh, that's just the impression I get from him on the pitch.

Blatter wrote: »
    He was good in 09/10 alright but I think he was poor enough last year even though ye were by and large playing the same style as the previous year when he was playing well.

I think he has a poor attitude tbh, that's just the impression I get from him on the pitch.

I'd agree about the attitude.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,735 ✭✭✭SlipperyPeople

good ball in early on by de brunye hoping to get a look at what he can do

and ray wilkins has already gotten our evening of "my words" off to a good start

torres hits the post jaysus he has no luck

he shouldn't have taken a touch though

Poor fella.

yay meireles! 25 yards

Super strike, but he had so much time to place it.

Good boy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,627 ✭✭✭Sgt Pepper 64

Typical - Torres scores and I miss it!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,852 ✭✭✭homer simpson

torres is looking lively tonight, whereas luiz is looking horrible been caught napping a few times at the back already. Some of his "tackles" have been just horrible, he is all over the shop.

I'm usually amungst his biggest fans too!

Aside from one misplaced pass at the start, Romeu has been great, seems to be winning everything.

torres is looking lively tonight, whereas luiz is looking horrible been caught napping a few times at the back already. Some of his "tackles" have been just horrible, he is all over the shop.

I'm usually amungst his biggest fans too!

His tackling has been poor, but his passing has been immense tonight! He must of played 3 or 4 inch perfect long balls to Torres or Malouda.

Torres gets his second with a nice header.

Great goal Torres! The 2 ex-liverpool lads linking up nicely!

His tackling has been poor, but his passing has been immense tonight! He must of played 3 or 4 inch perfect long balls to Torres or Malouda.

Torres gets his second with a nice header.

But here's the thing, I'm all for him playing loads and loads of great passes but he is still playing CB thats not the job he seems to be suited for if he was playing midfeild i'd say he was playing well but he isn't.

Wow, we look sharp and up for it tonight!

Torres is BACK and how. Got some form going now, goals and assists consective games

Agree about Luiz, maybe needs to be a midfielder!

Meireles playing well as well

and De Bruyne showing why he could be a shrewd buy

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,258 ✭✭✭MUSEIST

Torres should already have a hat trick, he hit the post early on. Go on torres, grab a few more:D

Luiz is a bit naive still but he'll learn. He just excites me everytime he gets on the ball. If we are going to embrace this system we will need ball playing CB's as much as we need ball playing midfielders. With such a high line its important that your CB's are very comfortable on the ball.

Ivan with a header.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,761 ✭✭✭AgileMyth

Torres is brilliant to watch when hes playing well. I've missed that.

AgileMyth wrote: »
    Torres is brilliant to watch when hes playing well. I've missed that.

Easily his best game for us so far - bodes well for the future
    But where is Josh?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 53,262 ✭✭✭✭GavRedKing

Could be 6 or 7 by the end. Ferriera on. :pac:

At least Nando knows he will play the 90

Hope cole is ok for the weekend.

At least Nando knows he will play the 90
    Will he though?? Might as well give drogba a run and try get him ready for the weekend.

I wanna see Mata too.

Greedy.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,631 ✭✭✭✭Hank Scorpio

malouda greedy there

Frank should have stayed down he would have got a peno.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,556 ✭✭✭the_monkey

I see RTE showing their usual anti Chelsea stance by showing the Arsenal game...

Romeu and meireles have worked quite well so far. Two good performances.

Torres should have scored. Well done kalou though.

Romeu has been my MoTM anyway tonight.

De bruyne has been genks most impressive player.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 21,235 ✭✭✭✭flahavaj

the_monkey wrote: »
    I see RTE showing their usual anti Chelsea stance by showing the Arsenal game...

They're probably more pro-viewership figures than anti-Chelsea tbh.

flahavaj wrote: »
    the_monkey wrote: »

They're probably more pro-viewership figures than anti-Chelsea tbh.

True, theres more Arsenal fans then Chelsea fans. If Utd had been playing tonight theyed show that game over Arsenal for instance.

Nice to see the 2 ex-liverpool lads playing and scoring in the CL ;)