Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Sean Og back for Cork

• 18-10-2011 10:24pm
    Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,243 ✭✭✭

So Jimmy Barry Murphy has brought Sean Og back into the Cork team. Is this a step backwards for Cork? He's 34 now and away from intercounty for a year will he still be up to it? He spent alot of time moning to his friends in the media about it this year so now its time to see can he back up all his talk. I for one think they could be looking to younger players and just stick with the older lads they have now on the panel insteed of bring more in. One strange thing is Jimmy Barry Murphy himself said that he "wasnt exceptional or anything like that" in club games. Maybe im wrong but could this just be a ploy to get into the good books of some of the older players like Donal og or Gardiner.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,114 ✭✭✭lukin

Some in Cork GAA circles think it is a ploy by JBM to show everyone that Sean Og is finally past it. He's going to play him in the league where he will be taken to the cleaners by whatever forward is marking him and then JBM can drop him come the championship as if to say "look I brought him back and look what happened, case closed".
    Clever, if true.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,243 ✭✭✭lala88

lukin wrote: »
    Some in Cork GAA circles think it is a ploy by JBM to show everyone that Sean Og is finally past it. He's going to play him in the league where he will be taken to the cleaners by whatever forward is marking him and then JBM can drop him come the championship as if to say "look I brought him back and look what happened, case closed".
    Clever, if true.

Good idea if its true. If he does play and he's destroyed then Sean Og or anyone ealse can complane about it

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,616 ✭✭✭8k2q1gfcz9s5d4

maybe he will play very well in the league, then then thay have gained a player with lots of experience.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,706 ✭✭✭premierstone

maybe he will play very well in the league, then then thay have gained a player with lots of experience.

Or they will have a player who will look ok in the league because the ground is heavier and intensity of hurling is less and he will look good due to hes undeniable desire to win and experience but come munster championship hurling sun on he's back in the Pairc or Semple he will be eaten alive by any intercounty forward worth their salt.

Exciting times :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,114 ✭✭✭lukin

And JBM will go "Oh s***..."

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,921 ✭✭✭Gophur

The ball is in Seán Óg's court now.
    He's talked the talk, now let's see if he can walk the walk.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,851 ✭✭✭Mountainlad

What's being forgotten here is Barry-Murphy won an all-ireland with Cork in 1999, and Cusack and Ben O'Connor were both on that team. I don't think he needs to get in anyone's 'good books'!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,460 ✭✭✭✭The_Kew_Tour

If JBM can't get the respect of the players, then nobody will.

We have the right man in charge, but you can't make AI hurlers overnight. It will take time maybe even 5-6 years, we have to be realistic.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,335 ✭✭✭Tiocfaidh Armani

Will inject some life into the hurling championship that's going stale and give folk something to talk about. Good luck to 'em.

Hurling could do with anybody but Tipp or Cats winning it next year, but can't see anyone else stopping the big two for now. Still year is long way and anything can happen.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,851 ✭✭✭Mountainlad

Being honest with ya guys, I don't think it would be all that great for hurling if Cork came out and won the all-ireland next year. The won't of course but I'm just saying. Hurling does however need them to be a good team that can produce good performances and contribute to a few more enjoyable games next summer.

Hurling needs one of Dublin, Waterford, Galway, Limerick or Clare to win an all-ireland again and break the run of the big 3 winning the all-ireland each year with the last 14 years!

Being honest with ya guys, I don't think it would be all that great for hurling if Cork came out and won the all-ireland next year. The won't of course but I'm just saying. Hurling does however need them to be a good team that can produce good performances and contribute to a few more enjoyable games next summer.

Hurling needs one of Dublin, Waterford, Galway, Limerick or Clare to win an all-ireland again and break the run of the big 3 winning the all-ireland each year with the last 14 years!

Well as a Corkman I hope your wrong:p, but I know exactly what your saying.

It needs one of the teams mentioned highlighted to win it alright. Personally it would be great for a county such as Waterford or Limerick to win it, teams who have not won it in years (It's nealry been 40 years since Limerick won it:eek:)

It may take time though, but hurling needs new life into it. It would also be great to see a team like Antrim, Westmeath or Carlow to improve, cause it needs more quality teams in the competition.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,925 ✭✭✭aidan24326

I wouldn't bet on Sean Og being taken to the cleaners by anyone. He's a naturally fit lad who looks after himself so fitness certainly won't be an issue, and he'll have kept up his sharpness playing with the club.

He mightn't be quite the player he used to be but I wouldn't rule out the possibility of him having one more good year in him, especially as he'll have a point to prove after being dropped. Brining him back is worth a try. Still plenty of room in the panel for brining in fresh blood.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,432 ✭✭✭Audioslaven

When I read this lad is back, I am going WTF. He will do the job for the league and come Croke Park, he will be eating grass - either he is put out to pasture or his face will be on the ground, pulling grass from his mouth and the ball in the back of the net.

He is like a bad dog you would beat and he will not go away!!! :)

What's being forgotten here is Barry-Murphy won an all-ireland with Cork in 1999, and Cusack and Ben O'Connor were both on that team. I don't think he needs to get in anyone's 'good books'!

Yes but that was before they became all high and mighty! There not the same players as they were in 99 in alot of ways

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 586 ✭✭✭jonnybravo

I wonder does he some alternative plan for him besides at wing back - maybe as a ball winning full forward or at full back. Anyone saying anything like this in Cork?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 802 ✭✭✭Rebel1977

His pace is long gone, he will be 35 come championship, he has been a year out of the inter county set up, mistake in bringing him back to be fair. JBM should focus his attention on youth not on the past, and look to the future.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28 Koded_AR_Rose

the sooner he leaves the game the better i am all for a good character but he came across like a poll up his ****

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5 gagatosh

What a joke if that idiot comes back to Cork!

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 33,973 CMod ✭✭✭✭ShamoBuc

gagatosh wrote: »

Quality post:rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 62 ✭✭primastar

Freekin ape

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,005 ✭✭✭willietherock

Or they will have a player who will look ok in the league because the ground is heavier and intensity of hurling is less and he will look good due to hes undeniable desire to win and experience but come munster championship hurling sun on he's back in the Pairc or Semple he will be eaten alive by any intercounty forward worth their salt.

Exciting times :D

Or maybe he'll empty his bowels all over Noel McGrath again.:D

When was that now?? If as I assume you are referring to the first round game in 2010 where the entire Tipp team were below par then if tyou watch the game again you will realise that John Gardiner was the one who did all the hurling in the half back line that day, so much so that he actually made Sean Ogs vertically challenged sibling resemble an intercounty hurler.

So what has happened in the interim, umm Noel has gone on to develop into one of the top young hurlers in the country picking up two AI's and an Allstar while Sean Og has spent 12 months sharpening he's gaeilge on TG4, and btw Noel plays centre forward now so unless JBM has completely lost he's marbles then he will never get the chance to mark the greatest hurler Fiji has ever produced :D

When was that now?? If as I assume you are referring to the first round game in 2010 where the entire Tipp team were below par then if tyou watch the game again you will realise that John Gardiner was the one who did all the hurling in the half back line that day, so much so that he actually made Sean Ogs vertically challenged sibling resemble an intercounty hurler.

So what has happened in the interim, umm Noel has gone on to develop into one of the top young hurlers in the country picking up two AI's and an Allstar while Sean Og has spent 12 months sharpening he's gaeilge on TG4, and btw Noel plays centre forward now so unless JBM has completely lost he's marbles then he will never get the chance to mark the greatest hurler Fiji has ever produced :D

A Tipp man making excuses for sh1t Tipp performances. Shock , horror.:D
    In fairness to McGrath he was just hurled off the pitch by a far superior hurler on the day. As for Sean Og's brother, if you look at a very green patch of grass on the U21 at the Blackrock end you'll see the actual spot where poor old Paudie Maher literally **** himself empty every time a ball came within arms length of Aisake.

LOL again track the progression of Paudie and beanpole, put any full back that has ever played the game starting their first intercounty senior game marking a 7ft FF and the best deliverer of a ball in the country , John Gardner, raining balls straight into he's hand, and see how they cope and actually what did Aisake score that day??

Oh and I have it on good authorithy that them stains you refer to in the Pairc are actually where Frank Murphy has been piss*n and shi*in all over ye for the best part of 40 years, fabolous modern facility in fairness, love the old rustic charm myself, reminds me of a simpler time, like when Cork were competitive??

Because Cork have never made any excuses when they have played bad....

lala88 wrote: »
    Because Cork have never made any excuses when they have played bad....

The funny thing is I actually didnt make any excuse at all I fully accepted that the entire Tipp team underperformed on the day!

Oh i know i just found it funny that comeone i assume is from Cork is making a joke about another team making excuses for there own shortfalls

LOL again track the progression of Paudie and beanpole, put any full back that has ever played the game starting their first intercounty senior game marking a 7ft FF and the best deliverer of a ball in the country , John Gardner, raining balls straight into he's hand, and see how they cope and actually what did Aisake score that day??

Oh and I have it on good authorithy that them stains you refer to in the Pairc are actually where Frank Murphy has been piss*n and shi*in all over ye for the best part of 40 years, fabolous modern facility in fairness, love the old rustic charm myself, reminds me of a simpler time, like when Cork were competitive??

Excuses, excuses, excuses!
    That "beanpole" destroyed Maher earlier in the league too lets not forget. How long before DW was forced to move AO'H to save Maher's blushes again? 15 minutes max? What's your excuses for this one?
    For a lad who likes nothing better than throwing insults like snuff at a wake you sure are thin skinned when you get some of your own medicine back. But that's the Tipp way I guess.

btw I agree completely wrt FM AND THE KIP THAT IS PUC.

For a lad who likes nothing better than throwing insults like snuff at a wake you sure are thin skinned when you get some of your own medicine back. But that's the Tipp way I guess.

LOL Pot, kettle and black stuff all over the place :D Enjoy the wilderness kid :p

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 4,145 Mod ✭✭✭✭bruschi

sorry, is someone on here gloating about a first round win, when in the same year they went on to do nothing, while their opposition clearly had eyes on the AI final and ended up winning that?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 802 ✭✭✭Rebel1977

I agree with you, you dont' see Kilkenny bringing back 34 year old has beens