Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

one or two man job....

• 18-10-2011 7:23pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,118 ✭✭✭

I recently bought a led lenser p7 and gun mount and i intend to start lamping foxes using just the p7 and the rifle. But am i mad doin this as most lads like to lamp with someone. one on the lamp and one one the gun. Can i achive the same results as a two man operation? I like a challange so going to attempt to call foxes close enough to use p7. How many lads lamp along and how do you get on?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,271 ✭✭✭✭johngalway

No, you won't, for a couple of reasons:
    • A torch isn't a lamp and won't shine as far, you'll not be able to take shots someone with a lamp can. But, that can be a one or two man operation.
    • There's little doubt but that a two man operation is faster. While the shooter is setting up, the lamp man is keeping an eye on the fox. That's hard, but not impossible to do solo.

I am set up to lamp alone, shoot between 40 and 50 foxes a year and rarely fail to get a fox I need to get.

The only question you need to ask yourself is, "Am I happy with the results I will/have achieved?". If you are, keep on truckin', if not, change. Give it a try and see how you get on.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 506 ✭✭✭moby30

Tommyboy id say if your only shootin a couple of foxes a year and you like going out and havin a bit of craic then definitely go with someone. if you are taking it more seriously and especially if you were asked specifically by someone to get rid of a fox/foxes then id probably recommend doing it on your own-only an opinion. nearly all the foxes ive got this year were got on my own and its absolutely possible but in all fairness probably takes a little gettin used to if your used to going with someone else. im gettin paid by a few landowners so thats why i probably take it too bloody seriously:rolleyes: heres a couple of photos i took durin the year usin a similar setup

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,118 ✭✭✭tommyboy26

I have only went lamping once with my uncle. I enjoyed it but i do 98% of all my shooting alone as i enjoy the walk and hunt as much as the kill. I will take lamping as serious as all my other shooting. I intend to head out in the morning before work for my first attempt alone any tips. I will be using a marlin .17 p7 and home made fox call

• Closed Accounts Posts: 506 ✭✭✭moby30

You cant beat a few home made fox calls:D i shoot foxes in kildare myself-your more than welcome to come out some time if you want and ill show you how i do it anyway-always good to see someone else gettin into it-good luck in the morning

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,118 ✭✭✭tommyboy26

moby30 wrote: »
    You cant beat a few home made fox calls:D i shoot foxes in kildare myself-your more than welcome to come out some time if you want and ill show you how i do it anyway-always good to see someone else gettin into it-good luck in the morning

I always up for a few pointers next time your heading out in kildare give me text.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,576 ✭✭✭garv123

tommyboy26 wrote: »
    I have only went lamping once with my uncle. I enjoyed it but i do 98% of all my shooting alone as i enjoy the walk and hunt as much as the kill. I will take lamping as serious as all my other shooting. I intend to head out in the morning before work for my first attempt alone any tips. I will be using a marlin .17 p7 and home made fox call

p7 would be plenty range for the hmr but you'd need a bigger lamp to spot them at longer ranges and call them in.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,729 ✭✭✭lefthooker

I have a P7 mounted on my HMR and its fine for bunnies, not too many foxes cross my path. Its down to whether you like the company and each fella knows his role. I prefer to hunt alone, I'm in control and can setup the shot the way i want. A few nights out with the local lads had my mind made up;
    I'd get a call saying we're going lamping, you bring you're rifle. The other chap would bring the lamp and his shotty. Before we'd be finished I'd hear "give me a go of that yoke" and I'd be left holding the lamp while he waved my new rifle around like a mad yoke.

I heard a quote from a South African game hunter and couldn't agree more;
    "You can borrow my wife but not my guns":D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 793 ✭✭✭declan1980

Lamping is a bit like sex in the way that doing it alone works, but isn't as much fun as having a partner with you, and if a third person wants to get involved, well then that's even better, but only if you're the one that has a gun:;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,898 ✭✭✭poulo6.5

declan1980 wrote: »
    Lamping is a bit like sex in the way that doing it alone works, but isn't as much fun as having a partner with you, and if a third person wants to get involved, well then that's even better, but only if you're the one that has a gun:;)

jeasus declan. after that comment you might be getting some PM's looking for this "foxing" that you do..:D:D:D:D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,898 ✭✭✭poulo6.5

tommyboy26 wrote: »
    I recently bought a led lenser p7 and gun mount and i intend to start lamping foxes using just the p7 and the rifle. But am i mad doin this as most lads like to lamp with someone. one on the lamp and one one the gun. Can i achive the same results as a two man operation? I like a challange so going to attempt to call foxes close enough to use p7. How many lads lamp along and how do you get on?

p7 should do fine for you if you are on your own but you might consider getting a bigger lamp to scan the fields so at least you know what direction to walk in.

in my experience the p7 is good to just over 100y maybe a bit more if conditions are right, and is nice and light to strap to the rifle.
    i use one all the time

consider this.
    you are lamping and calling and having no success. why

you can only see 150y max. there could be a fox at 200-300 on his way to you or just hanging around a bit further than you can see as they can do.

what i am trying to say is. p7 is great to clamp to your scope and does work well, but you still need a lamp to scan the fields.

best of luck and happy hunting

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,729 ✭✭✭lefthooker

poulo6.5 wrote: »
    jeasus declan. after that comment you might be getting some PM's looking for this "foxing" that you do..:D:D:D:D

Does "foxing" become dogging if there's 3 or more on board?:D:D:D:D:D
    When Good Foxing Turns Bad.

img00781u.jpg

Uploaded with ImageShack.us

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,615 ✭✭✭kildare.17hmr

every fox i shot with the hmr while out lamping was under the p7. I shot between 12-15 with them and found it great with the hmr because if i could see it it was in range. Get out and try it lad, your welcome over to me again too if ya want some night