Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Fallow rut in full swing

• 18-10-2011 4:56pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,004 ✭✭✭

Was down in Galway this morning with friend of mine, pulled up at forestry gate at 7am and could hear a buck grunting away no more than 2oo yds away in the dark, we split up and bewteen us saw about 10 bucks along with few does.

I got this fella, stepped out of the wood and disappeared back in just as quick about 20 yds from me, the noise of him grunting so close was amazing. I sat up on a high bit of clear fell and bout 10 mins later he appears bout 80 yds downwind of me, managed get a neck shot off the bipod before he winded me.

Image0118.jpg

300 yd drag across windrow was a killer, weighed in at 63kg dressed, carcass barrow in the planning already

Finest head I've shot or seen.

My friend got a nice buck and a pricket too

The amount of grunting all over the place was amazing and none of them stopped when I fired the shot.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 506 ✭✭✭moby30

WOW- thats without doubt the best fallow ive ever seen anyway. no doubt your going to get it mounted.
    well done:D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 506 ✭✭✭moby30

Any more pics?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,004 ✭✭✭tfox

moby30 wrote: »
    WOW- thats without doubt the best fallow ive ever seen anyway. no doubt your going to get it mounted.
    well done:D

Cant afford a stuff but wil def be taking pride of place on my wall :D

On a side note was the first gralloch with my victorinox hunter, worked a dream moby30

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,181 ✭✭✭landkeeper

good buck t not like you to pop a wall hanger :confused: bet you get a lecture :D

moby30 wrote: »
    Any more pics?

only had my phone which is why the poor pics :(

The deal we have with the fella who has the shooting rights is either we butcher the carcass for him or bring it to the dealer and give him the cash (minus our diesel etc)

My cousin brought them to the dealer this afternoon, will get the head off him this evening and take a proper pic :)

landkeeper wrote: »
    good buck t not like you to pop a wall hanger :confused: bet you get a lecture :D

Ion was off bringing Mark around, wouldnt let him shoot another fine buck as he'd already shot one :rolleyes: :rolleyes: but he got a pricket after to make up for it ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 73 ✭✭T223

Nice 1 T fair play,still haven't got 1 yet but hopefully this week if i get a chance.

T223 wrote: »
    Nice 1 T fair play,still haven't got 1 yet but hopefully this week if i get a chance.

bout time ya blooded your new rifle, ya been out lately ?

Out last Mon and Thurs evenings for an hour,cousin got pricket on the mon but seen nothing on thurs we were in T-shirts

What you and ur cousin dress up in during ur spare time is ur own business ;)
    Was there much whistling when you were out ?

Not much heard a couple after dark,cousin reckon's there gone off the rut with all the good weather and it will pick up when it gets colder,plenty of doe's and fawns around

plenty of doe's and fawns around

(cough cough) eh ya mean hinds and calves (cough cough):rolleyes: ;)

You know what i mean.I'll be out tomorrow or thurs eves so might have more look then,still have'ent had a chance of an early morning yet with all this working craic,i'm looking forward to november should be rapped up by then

Nothing worse than work getting in the way of ur sport, ya'd wanna knock that on the head ;)

Send Donna out to work so ya can be a kept man :D

Who's Donna?You trying to spread rumours or something.

ach I cudnt remember your better half's name, reckoned Donna was pretty close :rolleyes:

I won't tell her.I'll give you a shout and organise something as soon as i'm finished this job,hitting the leaba now,how did party go?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,898 ✭✭✭poulo6.5

that is a fine head, is the other antler as good as the one we can see. is it an even head?
    i have never come across anything as good as that except maybe while driving through phoenix park :D

The other side is pretty much identical, maybe slight difference in small little bits on the palm.

Will get some proper photo's up this evening

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 480 ✭✭ssl

Great looking head. Well done!

pics as promised

DSCF0583.jpg

DSCF0584.jpg

DSCF0585-1.jpg

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,181 ✭✭✭landkeeper

ya better get that lad scored T ;) many teeth has he

landkeeper wrote: »
    ya better get that lad scored T ;) many teeth has he

Yeah think had better get him measured, as for teeth wil let you know when I strip the head, jaws bit stiff at the moment :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,616 ✭✭✭FISMA

tfox wrote: »
    Was down in Galway ...grunting all over the place was amazing and none of them stopped when I fired the shot.

Nice tFox, and congrats.

The only problem I have with taking such a fine stag is the fact that I would probably want that head mounted!

FISMA wrote: »
    Nice tFox, and congrats.

The only problem I have with taking such a fine stag is the fact that I would probably want that head mounted!

he will be mounted, but only euro-mounted. If I didnt have a stalking trip to Scotland in Nov I wouldve paid to get him stuffed.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 103 ✭✭podge.243
    Paul Murphy

Nice buck there tfox will be nice handing on the wall :D well done

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,898 ✭✭✭poulo6.5

great head. pity you couldent get it mounted, but i'm sure it will look great as a skull mount. well done.

i was out my self this evening and spotted 2 prickets and stalked into them, i didnt spot the 3rd deer to the right of them that spotted me just as i was getting into position DOOOOO....

i spent the last 45 min before dark listening to a big buck grunting like mad in full rut making its way down threw the woods. but never stuck its head out.
    in the end he cant of bin more than 100y away from me.

man it gets the hair on the back of your neck standing when you hear that roaring as the sun goes down and you are lying in the grass. deadly;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,102 ✭✭✭Hibrion

Fair play to you man. Most lads would be lucky to even see a specimen that nice.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 584 ✭✭✭Mauser 308

Thats a great head, well done T. :)