Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Quashqai turbo cost

• 18-10-2011 10:57am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 425 ✭✭

I am thinking of getting a Nissan Quashqai 1.5 dci and am curious as to how reliable the turbo units are and what the replacement cost is in the event of failure. A friend just replaced a BMW 320 turbo unit and it almost cost €5000. How often would I expect to replace one in a Quashqai with a life of say 150,000 miles.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 5,737 ✭✭✭MidlandsM

/\ they are a renault engine and i've seen plenty with bolloxed engines already. They're not good for high miles.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,223 ✭✭✭Nissan doctor

Turbo life and reliability is directly related to how well a car is maintained and used.

The correct oil type and regular changes should see a decent life.

With regards to 5k for the BMW, either he was monumentally ripped off or he got a lot more work done then just a replacement turbo!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 425 ✭✭Walker34

MidlandsM wrote: »
    /\ they are a renault engine and i've seen plenty with bolloxed engines already. They're not good for high miles.

Thanks for the replies folks......I would have expected that Renault would have had minimal input into design of Ninnan products. The quote for the turbo came from a garage with the same name as a radio celeb.....he got the job done after after for 2k by a guy he knew. The garage quoted €47890, and there was nothing else to be done.

Walker34 wrote: »
    Thanks for the replies folks......I would have expected that Renault would have had minimal input into design of Ninnan products. The quote for the turbo came from a garage with the same name as a radio celeb.....he got the job done after after for 2k by a guy he knew. The garage quoted €47890, and there was nothing else to be done.

Nissan (and others) use an awful lot of Renault parts these day.......unfortunately.:(

Others would argue it don't matter, but I run away from anything Renault. for example, my brother had a suzuki vitara suv, he had to do the turbo twice in it, and then the crankshaft popped in it, rendering it banjaxed. A whole new engine had to installed at the cost of thousands.......and you guess right, its was a fecking renault engine in it.:rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,223 ✭✭✭Nissan doctor

That doesn't surprise me so.

The 1.5dci engine, as with all current Diesels used by Nissan is a 100% renault unit, identical to the one thats used in the renault clio/modus etc etc

"What a tangled web we weave when we first choose to deceive"...Mr Renault!

I had them years ago.....comfortable but expensive to maintain. I would have thought that Nissan would have maintained their independence and brand integrity......obviously not. I do like the Quashqai, but mine is only just 2 years old with 25k on the clock....early days. I think I might go for the IX35 or the Kia Sportage although the Kia is more expensive. the 7 year warranty is ....interesting.

"What a tangled web we weave when we first choose to deceive"...Mr Renault!

I had them years ago.....comfortable but expensive to maintain. I would have thought that Nissan would have maintained their independence and brand integrity......obviously not. I do like the Quashqai, but mine is only just 2 years old with 25k on the clock....early days. I think I might go for the IX35 or the Kia Sportage although the Kia is more expensive. the 7 year warranty is ....interesting.

a much better choice and will serve you better.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,142 ✭✭✭shamwari

I had them years ago.....comfortable but expensive to maintain.
    What was expensive about maintaining the car and how reliable was it?

I have to admit that later incarnations of that 1.5 engine are more reliable than earlier ones, and infinitely better than Renaults 1.9dCi offering. As Nissan Doc mentioned earlier, if its driven and serviced properly then there's no reason not to expect the engine to last.

shamwari wrote: »
    What was expensive about maintaining the car and how reliable was it?

I have to admit that later incarnations of that 1.5 engine are more reliable than earlier ones, and infinitely better than Renaults 1.9dCi offering. As Nissan Doc mentioned earlier, if its driven and serviced properly then there's no reason not to expect the engine to last.

Im talking about the Renault 18 and the late 80s....when I say expensive to maintain, mind you it served me well and done a lot of miles.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 977 ✭✭✭Wheelnut

Nissan got into trouble at some time in the early 2000's and Renault pounced. I don't know if Renault now own Nissan or just a large share of it, but it explains why Renault 1.5 diesels are in Nissan vehicles.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,930 ✭✭✭✭challengemaster

Wheelnut wrote: »
    Nissan got into trouble at some time in the early 2000's and Renault pounced. I don't know if Renault now own Nissan or just a large share of it, but it explains why Renault 1.5 diesels are in Nissan vehicles.

This:
    Signed on 27 March 1999, the Renault–Nissan Alliance is the first of its kind involving a Japanese and a French company, each with its own distinct corporate culture and brand identity, linked through cross-shareholding. Renault initially acquires a 36.8% stake at a cost of US$3.5 billion in Nissan, while Nissan in turn has a 15 percent stake (non-voting) in Renault.

Renault has a 44.3% stake in Nissan, and Nissan holds a 15% stake (with no voting rights) in Renault. Renault has a 50% stake in the joint venture Renault-Nissan b.v., which was established to manage synergies in the Renault-Nissan alliance. The company is responsible for the management of two joint companies, RNPO (Renault Nissan Purchasing Organization) and RNIS (Renault-Nissan Information Services). Combined vehicle sales in 2008 reached 6.9 million (including AvtoVAZ), making the Renault-Nissan Alliance the world’s third-largest automotive group.

also, 5k for a turbo, something is wrong there...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 142 ✭✭sparkynash

my friend has worked for bmw for 20 yrs and yes 5000 euro for some turbos and that is not inc labour for bmw....put it into perspective the car cost prob 100000 euro new so how can you justify that outlay but moan about 5000 for turbo,,,,its a drop in the ocean for ppl who buy the bigger bmws brand new.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,425 ✭✭✭Avns1s

Fair play for digging up a 4 year old thread to share that gem with us!