Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

The Ultimate Victory Of Osama Bin Laden

• 17-10-2011 9:41pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,973 ✭✭✭

Osama Bin Laden is dead and gone but has he gone further in reaching his objectives than he could ever have imagined?

The 9/11 attack and its consequences have cost an estimated 236,000 deaths and between $3 and $4 trillion dollars, depending on whose figures you believe.

http://costsofwar.org/

There is the cost of increased international security, airport delays etc.

However the greatest unforseen consequence of the 9/11 attacks may very be the financial crisis that threatens the global economy.

The 9/11 attacks led to a slashing of interest rates and economic intervention to protect a fragile global economy in the wake of the attacks.

Cheap credit and artificially low interest rates led to the largest credit binge that the world has ever experienced.
    The consequesnces of this binge are now being felt.

It would be ironic if a symbolic attack on the World Trade Centre ultimately led to the destruction of the world economy as we know it.

Multo autem ad rem magis pertinet quallis tibi vide aris quam allis

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,808 ✭✭✭✭chin_grin

Conspiracy Theories -->

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,593 ✭✭✭✭Mr.Crinklewood

chin_grin wrote: »
    Conspiracy Theories -->

The OP originally posted this in Conspiracy Theories, but the CIA moved it here.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,332 ✭✭✭Guill

Isn't he the president now?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,366 ✭✭✭✭Kylo Ren

Osama owes me my savings in my bank so!

.....€27.84

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 443 ✭✭Colilfc

Osama Bin Laden, top bloke.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,397 ✭✭✭Paparazzo

The worst legacy of Bin Laden is having to take your belt and shoes off going through security in the airport

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 9,464 ✭✭✭Celly Smunt

i hope you're all wearing your tin foil hats

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,762 ✭✭✭✭Princess Consuela Bananahammock

SafeSurfer wrote: »
    Osama Bin Laden is dead and gone but has he gone further in reaching his objectives than he could ever have imagined?

The 9/11 attack and its consequences have cost an estimated 236,000 deaths and between $3 and $4 trillion dollars, depending on whose figures you believe.

http://costsofwar.org/

There is the cost of increased international security, airport delays etc.

However the greatest unforseen consequence of the 9/11 attacks may very be the financial crisis that threatens the global economy.

The 9/11 attacks led to a slashing of interest rates and economic intervention to protect a fragile global economy in the wake of the attacks.

Cheap credit and artificially low interest rates led to the largest credit binge that the world has ever experienced.
    The consequesnces of this binge are now being felt.

It would be ironic if a symbolic attack on the World Trade Centre ultimately led to the destruction of the world economy as we know it.

Americans are terrified. Job done.

Everything I don't like is either woke or fascist - possibly both - pick one.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,741 ✭✭✭✭Ally Dick

OBL didn't achieve this. The foreign policy of the US government did. If you bomb the sh!t out of countries, you can expect to get it back eventually. Also the 9/11 attacks rocked the market, but it recovered. It was the Reaganesque and Clintonesque policies of low interest rates and zero regulation that caused the housing bubbles, that ultimately wrecked the world economies. The US fecked themselves up. OBL was not responsible.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,263 ✭✭✭✭Eoin

How many of those deaths are made up from those he considered his people though?

But yeah, the constant fear that Americans seem to live under probably made him pretty pleased with himself.

That's not irony as it was probably one of his aims, or at least a bonus. It would have been ironic if the attack had ended up with peace between East and West.

I wonder how much of those trillions of dollars have gone to American corporations like Haliburton, making the already rich even richer. That's irony.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 773 ✭✭✭Wetai

Eoin wrote: »
    But yeah, the constant fear that Americans seem to live under probably made him pretty pleased with himself.
    I agree, and think it myself whenever I read a TSA-gone-mad story (here's some). All these measures they use (I'd say it makes them so unpopular, people aren't flying at all) - sometimes they don't even work - are proof that terrorism (fear) spread by OBL has worked. :(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,980 ✭✭✭Dotrel

Colilfc wrote: »
    Osama Bin Laden, top bloke.

Agreed. He's a great bunch of lads.