Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Kickboxing Noob

• 17-10-2011 12:49pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 2,920 ✭✭✭

Well folks,
    im thinking of starting kickboxing to get fit again. Know feck all about it really.
    I used to box up until about 2 yr ago. But there is no clubs in my area. At 23 time is running out i suppose and im wondering is it possible for me to compete at this age? Will my boxing experience have any advantage in kickboxing? Is it pointless starting at this age to compete? Is there novice section like in boxing or am i too old for that?
    Looking for any advise at all.
    Thanks guys.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,549 ✭✭✭✭cowzerp

Dusty87 wrote: »
    Well folks,
    im thinking of starting kickboxing to get fit again. Know feck all about it really.
    I used to box up until about 2 yr ago. But there is no clubs in my area. At 23 time is running out i suppose and im wondering is it possible for me to compete at this age? Will my boxing experience have any advantage in kickboxing? Is it pointless starting at this age to compete? Is there novice section like in boxing or am i too old for that?
    Thanks guys.

If your Boxing is any use you will hang with the top lads straight away-23 is young so i would not worry about that, just go up and try it out-what area are you anyway as most areas have Boxing clubs.

Rush Boxing club and Rush Martial Arts head coach.

• Site Banned Posts: 2,037 ✭✭✭paddyandy

Teaching people to Kill and Maim each other....serious place in hell awaits you!!!!!!!!!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,920 ✭✭✭Dusty87

cowzerp wrote: »
    If your Boxing is any use you will hang with the top lads straight away-23 is young so i would not worry about that, just go up and try it out-what area are you anyway as most areas have Boxing clubs.

im out in the country. Nearest town be portarlington. Portlaoise has one but its stil a bit away. St Broghans club isnt too far away but they are a younger club and no one like me in it. The kickboxing club is in mountmellick. Do you know it?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,188 ✭✭✭Doug Cartel

paddyandy wrote: »
    Teaching people to Kill and Maim each other....serious place in hell awaits you!!!!!!!!!!
    The guy has some legitimate questions. If you're not going to help answer them seriously then go mess around somewhere else.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,188 ✭✭✭Doug Cartel

Well folks,
    Thanks guys.

I started kickboxing at about the age of 22 or 23 with no previous experience, and I didn't feel like I was too old at all.

Just so you know the term "kickboxing" covers quite a range of things and can vary from a karate style class with light contact through to a ring focused combat sports class with heavy contact. If you've done boxing before and you like it, then you would probably prefer the harder contact style.

At the end of the day though, if there's only one school available locally, you might as well go down there and try it out for a bit. You'll soon find out if it's right for you or not.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,549 ✭✭✭✭cowzerp

im out in the country. Nearest town be portarlington. Portlaoise has one but its stil a bit away. St Broghans club isnt too far away but they are a younger club and no one like me in it. The kickboxing club is in mountmellick. Do you know it?

Boxing/MMA is where my knowledge is at Dusty-i've trained with plenty of kickboxers and when i done my 1st class only had Boxing and found it no problem, so be confident and give it a go..

Rush Boxing club and Rush Martial Arts head coach.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 267 ✭✭Performance Martial Arts

The guys in the mount mellick kickboxing club are great guys. Celtic dragons is what there called and ask for Tommy Delaney, hes the coach there and a really good guy too. Heres there website and you should defo check them out!!

http://www.celticdragonsmartialarts.com/

The guys in the mount mellick kickboxing club are great guys. Celtic dragons is what there called and ask for Tommy Delaney, hes the coach there and a really good guy too. Heres there website and you should defo check them out!!

http://www.celticdragonsmartialarts.com/

cheers. As Doug Cartel pointed out about the term kickboxing being a wide range of types, do you know is celticdragons a heavy contact club? Was on to Tommy before. Seems a sound man alright.
    Im not too worried about the boxing part, its more the kicking and how i will adjust to that. Used to seeing fists, it will be interesting to see how i would adapt to it.
    Cheers to all for the help.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 261 ✭✭black dragon

As Mick said - check out Tommy Delaney, hes a good guy and will see you right.
    Tommy is also an IKF Promoter and has a big Ireland V France Full Contact Kickboxing show on the 6th November in the Heritage Hotel in Portlaoise.
    This would be a good show to go see what Kickboxing is all about and it features some of Irelands top fighters (Cathal Manning - IKF World champ, Eric Daly - IKF European Champ & Charlie Ward - IKF All Ireland & 5 Nations Champ) in action against some of Frances top men.
    This will also be the first time an International Kickboxing show will be promoted in Portlaoise.

Great thanks. Also what gear will i need to bring training. Runners, tracksuit bottoms. What about gloves and handwraps for bag work? Anything i would need to get?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 261 ✭✭black dragon

Track pants, t-shirt etc and if u have wraps or gloves or any other relevant gear just bring it.

have the gloves and wraps from boxing. Thats grand,
    thanks lads.