Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Izula Bunny knife

• 16-10-2011 7:11pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 622 ✭✭✭

Just finished sharpening my Izula necker, hope to use it for hunting and utility over the winter.

May be handier to access from the neck than the pocket or belt under heavy winter togs.

Have a few new bits for my Edge Pro, new stones and the angle cube and drill stop collar for setting edge angles. I have a size comparison to some other knives in there as well, hope it's of some value to ye lads.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 353 ✭✭beretta686s

wel deise im into my knives aswell have ass loads i use a norton wet stone water stone puts a great edge on them i found it abt 15 years ago in an old butchers shop did u ever see or hear of 1

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 622 ✭✭✭Deise Musashi

Norton are still made and well regarded by sharpening guys. Do you know what stone you have? India, crystolon, Arkansas?

They are all good quality and do the job as well as wearing well. A lot better than the usual stuff found in hardware stores!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,898 ✭✭✭poulo6.5

excelent vid, will you sharpen my knives for me.. please....:D

Sure, drop 'em down.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 84 ✭✭BigBoi83

Thats a hell of a set up.. was it expensive to set up? or difficult?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 353 ✭✭beretta686s

Norton are still made and well regarded by sharpening guys. Do you know what stone you have? India, crystolon, Arkansas?

They are all good quality and do the job as well as wearing well. A lot better than the usual stuff found in hardware stores!

dont really know ill try and get a pic up but it does do a great job

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 476 ✭✭Farmlife

was watching this and saying to myself the whole thing is a waist of time, would he not just get a sharpening stone and give it a good rub.... that was up until you cut the paper! that's some sharpness, fair play, you know what your at!

would he not just get a sharpening stone and give it a good rub

I've done that as well lad ;) I started out with oil stones, then water stones, diamonds and then systems like the Spyderco Sharpmaker and the Edge Pro.

DSC00309.jpg

DSCF1592-1.jpg

DSC00310.jpg

DSC00321.jpg

DSC00307.jpg

DSCF1585-1.jpg

I'm still working on my sharpening, but I'm happy with how it's going :)

Thats a hell of a set up.. was it expensive to set up? or difficult?

It's not that dificult to do or set up, bit of practice and an idea of what you are trying to achieve.

As to expense, I've built up my collection of gear over the years, so it didn't sting too much.

Main pieces I would buy again would be the Edge Pro Pro with all the bits.

http://www.edgeproinc.com/Professional-Model-Edge-Pro-System-c2/

A full set of Eze-Lap diamond stones in 1x 6

http://www.eze-lap.com/product/1x6ds.htm

The Chocera stones

http://www.chefknivestogo.com/edgepro.html

and stropping films and pastes

http://www.chefknivestogo.com/edpro60grta.html

http://www.chefknivestogo.com/glblforedpro.html

plus the Angle Cube and drill stop collar and felt deburring block ;)

http://www.chefknivestogo.com/anglecube.html

That would cover most sharpening jobs, and once I get a motor for my 1 x 42 belt sander I'll have a quick way to do repairs and convexing jobs.

http://www.chippingaway.com/WoodCarving/SharpeningTools/UltimatePowerSharpener.htm

I have a few threads around here about sharpening and how I go about it.

Any questions feel free to ask, I'm happy to help out.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,542 ✭✭✭Vizzy

Don't think that I will ever need your services(don't shoot deer)
    But what a gent.Never once have you been dismissive or condascending to any of the lads,no matter how little they knew and every post ends "happy to help out"
    Fair play to ya.:D:D

Viz

Ah cheers lad! :D

Plenty lads on various forums helped me to learn and answered mt questions even if it was the fiftieth time someone had asked that question :rolleyes:

If any one wants that help from me I'm glad to give it.

I don't just do hunting knives, if you've kitchen knives need a touching up I'm equally happy to help out there also.

Poulo6.5 wrote:
    will you sharpen my knives for me.. please....biggrin.gif

Not a bother, post them on to me and I'll get them back same way.
    Never had any hassle posting knives around the country.
    I live in Dungarvan, if your down this way just drop them in lad ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,898 ✭✭✭poulo6.5

Plenty lads on various forums helped me to learn and answered mt questions even if it was the fiftieth time someone had asked that question :rolleyes:

I don't just do hunting knives, if you've kitchen knives need a touching up I'm equally happy to help out there also.

feck i was in clonmel today i could have called down to you my self
    i will pm you my number and i will meet up with you the next day ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 58 ✭✭snipeface

Hi, as the site knife expert i wonder would you mind a query?

What's your opinion on Andujar knives. The reason i ask is i have a few of these and was wondering what a knife mans opinion on them would be.

Regards,
    Snipeface.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 47 alan155

Vizzy wrote: »
    Don't think that I will ever need your services(don't shoot deer)
    But what a gent.Never once have you been dismissive or condascending to any of the lads,no matter how little they knew and every post ends "happy to help out"
    Fair play to ya.:D:D

Viz

Your dead right there I contacted this man a couple of months ago about sharpening knives and I ended up calling to him and got a brilliant couple of hours lessons on sharpening and all the advise I could ask for and got my knives re sharpened and came away with razor sharp knives and a wealth of knowledge and have since bought the lansky sharpening system haven't looked back since so anyone doubting this mans credibility forget it cause he's sound out and if he offers to do ur knives get them down to him and you will not be disappointed once again many thanks musashi

What's your opinion on Andujar knives.

I've seen a few but they make a huge range. They are usually a budget line, but they do make some higher priced fixed blades and Navajas as well. They are mostly stainless steel, 440C as far as I can tell.

They are a decent knife, easy to touch up and not liable to rust. Depending on which models you have they can be good hunting or camping knives.
    Alan155 wrote:
    have since bought the lansky sharpening system haven't looked back since

Glad to hear it's working out for you lad, the lansky are a good system once you get the technique down. Once you know what you are trying to do, the way you achieve that end is less important.
    A concrete kerb, oilstones, lansky or Tormek are all ways of doing basically the same job.
    How's the stropping going? :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 375 ✭✭jugger

deise would you be anble to recommed a good sharpening stone to start off with i only have a few knives but i would like to be able to sharpen them up my self i hava a stone at the moment but getting the knives to keep there sharpness is proveing to be a problem
    regards jugger

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,031 ✭✭✭johnk123

Out of interest where do you purchase your knives? Online? If so, where have you all found to be the best value?

Jugger wrote:
    deise would you be able to recommed a good sharpening stone to start off with i only have a few knives but i would like to be able to sharpen them up my self

If you are starting out and don't want to spend too much, I would definitely go with wet and dry paper from a Motor Factors! A bit of masking tape on the back helps stop it tearing too soon on you. :D

DSCF1594-1.jpg

Place it on an old mouse mat to convex your edges or on a bit of float glass (an old mirror is good and flat) and use it with edge trailing strokes.

Mark the edge with black marker and draw the spine of the knife towards you, trailing the edge so you don't cut your paper. Start coarse and work up the grits to fine, cleaning as you go to avoid contaminating finer grit paper with loose bits of coarser grit.

DSCF1606.jpg

You can deburr between grits by slicing an old wine cork or piece of soft wood. Finish by stropping on an old leather belt with Autosol or Peek metal polish on it (also Motor Factors).

The next step up would be cheap diamond plates from a hardware or Lidl/Aldi.

DSC00319.jpg

DSC00310.jpg

Then either DMT diamond abrasives, oil, or water stones.

DSCF1608.jpg

DSCF1592-1.jpg

Depending on the stone you have, it may be too fine, too coarse or uneven/glazed, and not working properly.

Work on keeping your angles constant and getting the edge sharp all the way to the apex of the edge.

Lots of very good sharpeners never move from wet and dry stuck to glass, like the Scary Sharp system!

johnk123 wrote:
    Out of interest where do you purchase your knives?

I like a few stores online, here's some links! ;)
    http://www.heinnie.com/
    http://www.knivesshipfree.com/
    http://newgraham.com/store/
    http://www.knifecenter.com/
    http://www.agrussell.com/
    http://www.valiantco.com/
    http://japan-blades.com/
    http://www.japaneseknifedirect.com/products.html
    http://japanesechefsknife.com/products.html
    http://www.nisbets.ie/2/Kitchen-Chefs-Knives/c01c02.r16.1
    http://www.chefknivestogo.com/
    http://www.edenwebshops.co.uk/en/ct/kitchen-knives.htm
    http://www.watanabeblade.com/english/standard/index.htm

Hope these are of some use to you :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,031 ✭✭✭johnk123

Thanks a million! Tempted to pull the trigger on one of those Izula bad boys!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 480 ✭✭ssl

Just finished sharpening my Izula necker, hope to use it for hunting and utility over the winter.

May be handier to access from the neck than the pocket or belt under heavy winter togs.

Have a few new bits for my Edge Pro, new stones and the angle cube and drill stop collar for setting edge angles. I have a size comparison to some other knives in there as well, hope it's of some value to ye lads.

Great vid Deise. Some great techniques there, thats a hobby in itself.
    Tell me, should we also be listening to Fleetwood Mac in the background while we sharpen? Just wondering is this what I was doing wrong. :):)

Tempted to pull the trigger on one of those Izula bad boys!

There is also the slightly larger Izula II, and optional micarta handles for both models. I went for bare handles to keep the knife slim overall, the handles would suit if working for longer with the knife.
    thats a hobby in itself.
    Tell me, should we also be listening to Fleetwood Mac in the background while we sharpen?

It grew from my having knives for hunting to just collecting knives, then wanting to have them as sharp as possible :rolleyes:

Fleetwood Mac is good for a relaxed polishing session, AC/DC if you need to reprofile very hard "super steels".

Actually sitting down with a few waterstones and a knife is almost like moving meditation, just zone out and focus on doing one thing well.

It can get into proper trainspotting territory with lads arguing if .025 Cubic Boron is better than poly diamond polishing solution, but after a certain level of polish it's pretty moot. For me anything over 1000 grit waterstone is sharp and 1 micron polish is shiny sharp :)