Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Rape worse than murder ?

• 16-10-2011 1:20am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 387 ✭✭

Someone said footloose raped their eyes, people raged.
    If he said footloose murdered his eyes, no-one would care.
    Why the double standards ?

You think rape is worse than murder ?

Well id rather be raped than murdered, thanks.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 190 ✭✭Stacey.

Murder is obviously worse than rape. D:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,243 ✭✭✭✭Jesus Wept

DaveDaRave wrote: »

Noted.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 190 ✭✭Stacey.

The-Rigger wrote: »
    Noted.

lmao

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,207 ✭✭✭The King of Moo

Both are terrible.

Why would you ever need to grade them, unless you're involved in deciding sentences for criminals?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,208 ✭✭✭✭aidan_walsh

Well, whichever it is you've rightly put me off Footloose.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 34,418 ✭✭✭✭hondasam

They are both terrible.
    I think if I was raped I would want to die.
    There was an over reaction to that post I think.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,458 ✭✭✭senorwipesalot

caomhin o bagun

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,851 ✭✭✭Cill Dara Abu

Fun thread

• Closed Accounts Posts: 162 ✭✭few cans?

i think im unrapeable. id only enjoy it

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,062 ✭✭✭al28283

There is life after rape, no life after murder. Probably sounds cold to a rape victim but there it is.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 324 ✭✭Unique User Name

Your subliminal message is duly noted.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,207 ✭✭✭The King of Moo

We're missing the really important question here:

Which is worse: hericide or episcopicide?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,244 ✭✭✭sdanseo

Apparently all the rage in south africa is for women to buy yokes with metal teeth and keep them warm down their nether regions. If anyone tries to rape them it basically rips the lad to shreds.

Dunno if there's a male version :P but I'd say it's bloody uncomfortable!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,573 ✭✭✭pragmatic1

I think society views rapists with even more disdain than murderers.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,012 ✭✭✭roosky

Your subliminal message is duly noted.

hahahah ledgend !!1

pragmatic1 wrote: »
    I think society views rapists with even more disdain than murderers.
    True, Larry Murphy for example.

roosky wrote: »
    hahahah ledgend !!1
    *Legend

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,996 ✭✭✭10green bottles

*Legend

*Leg-end.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,724 ✭✭✭The Scientician

"Let's not turn this rape into a murder"... nah in all seriousness, they're both heinous but I have to go with murder being (slightly) worse than rape. But it's not like a food pyramid, you shouldn't try either OP.

I should hope not - food pyramid suggests 5 a day of some things! :eek:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,340 ✭✭✭deco nate

really?a lot of rape victims would disagree:eek:
    you will have to live the rest of your life if you were raped.ffs.
    so..imo rape is worse,//cos you have to live with it:eek:

deco nate wrote: »
    really?a lot of rape victims would disagree:eek:
    you will have to live the rest of your life if you were raped.ffs.
    so..imo rape is worse,//cos you have to live with it:eek:
    I agree. Theres worse things than death.

Let's be realistic - rape is a very serious assault on a person. But it ain't murder. Criminally, there are both heinous crimes and should carry similar, but not equal sentences. Only because there has to be a deterrent against murder as differentiated from rape.

But it doesn't take their life. A strong-minded person will be scarred by it, but will get over it. Yes there are those that will always be afraid to go out at night and so on but I'd like to think that with effective counselling, most would still be able to lead relatively normal lives. (maybe I'm being naive, I'm an optimist).

It's hard to make a decision hypothetically, but I cannot under any circumstances see a way that if given the choice I'd choose death over rape. The human instinct is to survive no matter what, after all.

You can't get over death.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,761 ✭✭✭chucken1

Ya think?

I agree. Theres worse things than death.

Having not died yet, I can't possibly comment. I think though perhaps with time and therapy you could recover from rape, you can't recover from death.

sdeire wrote: »
    You can't get over death.
    No way!! I'm posting from beyind the grave :)
    On a more serious note,both offences should carry a mandatory life sentence because in my eyes they are equal in offence.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,476 ✭✭✭Riddle101

Why does one have to be worse then the other, why can't both be equally bad? I mean, they're both serious offences with harsh consequences. With murder, you die. With Rape, you have to live with that traumatic memory for the rest of your life, not to mention being raped itself is a pretty bad expierence. I wouldn't wish my worst enemy that type of faith.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 387 ✭✭DaveDaRave

my point was posters were getting extremely offended by the OPs use of the word "rape", by saying his eyes were getting raped by the new footloose movie. However they wouldnt be offended if he said his eyes were murdered, an equally or more serious offence (arguable i guess). i wanted to know, why are they so offended by one and not by the other ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,667 ✭✭✭policarp

A very old gentleman told me years ago that in his time there was no such thing as rape, because he reckoned that a woman with her skirt up could run faster than a man with his trousers down.

if someone kills you,thats the end off.
    if you are raped,how do you go about your life??
    ah sure they did'nt kill me??
    sure ill be grand:rolleyes:

Having not died yet, I can't possibly comment. I think though perhaps with time and therapy you could recover from rape, you can't recover from death.
    Wouldnt say anyone fully recovers from a rape. Know a few people that were the victims of abuse/rape. It eats away at people like a cancer. People that have survived murder attempts dont seem to carry the same baggage.

People who haven't survived them carry no baggage.

policarp wrote: »
    A very old gentleman told me years ago that in his time there was no such thing as rape, because he reckoned that a woman with her skirt up could run faster than a man with his trousers down.

Well Im glad ye find RAPE funny.

really??
    sorry ....
    but do you know what you are talkin about?
    i know this is ah,but all i see from you is bs!

you tryin to be smart arse ...
    does not suite you,even in ah.
    grow up,ffs

really??
    sorry ....
    but do you know what you are talkin about?
    i know this is ah,but all i see from you is bs!
    you tryin to be smart arse ...
    does not suite you,even in ah.
    grow up,ffs

He's stated his opinion, one I agree with. I could call you a bullshítter for having your opinion, but I don't.

You're the one who needs to grow up, to be fair. (And maybe learn to punctuate :pac:)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,611 ✭✭✭✭Sam Vimes

policarp wrote: »
    That's the reason why saying the movie murdered your eyes wouldn't be considered as offensive imo. Murder was always considered heinous by society but rape wasn't at all. In the bible the punishment for murder is death and the punishment for rape is a fine of 50 shekels and having to marry the victim.

Because it's only newly considered to be a heinous crime people think of it as worse than other more run of the mill crimes. Imo

He's stated his opinion, one I agree with. I could call you a bullshítter for having your opinion, but I don't.

You're the one who needs to grow up, to be fair. (And maybe learn to punctuate :pac:)
    Dicktionary corner >>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>> here.

ok,fair enough! i type before i think.
    thanks for that, ya nazi grammer freek!!:pac:
    [see wot i done thier??]

Exactly. Their suffering is at an end.

ok so im called on this?for what?i belive he/she was bs
    so why are you callin me a bs??
    i just said what i thought.
    the persons you are talkin about imo,
    is full of it.
    and is just tryin to provoke bs:mad:

by posting that,you just did...

No I didn't. You're deluded if you think that's what I was trying to do.

I nor anyone else on this thread should have to listen to you spout any more rubbish. That is, of course, after we've decoded the thinly veiled insults from your txtspk.

No I didn't. You're deluded if you think that's what I was trying to do.

I nor anyone else on this thread should have to listen to you spout any more rubbish. That is, of course, after we've decoded the thinly veiled insults from your txtspk.
    really??
    then report me,for what ever my thinly veiled bs that you are
    goin on about??wtf are you goin on a bout? sorry??

ok so im called on this?for what?i belive he/she was bs
    so why are you callin me a bs??
    i just said what i thought.
    the persons you are talkin about imo,
    is full of it.
    and is just tryin to provoke bs:mad:

I am not. I'm just trying to point out why I think that murder is worse than rape. You are welcome to disagree without insulting me. I'd prefer not to be raped or murdered, but if given a choice I'd go for the former. Your opinion may vary.

This isn't to make light of rape, it really isn't. Victims of rape have to suffer personally, victims of murder can't suffer in a direct sense because they're dead, but that crime to my mind is still more heinous. I don't know where this vitriol is coming from. Again, it's just my opinion and is shared by the legal system of most countries.

ok,you need to get a grip.
    really!cop on ffs.you seem to think im goin after you.
    im not,i was goin after posts.not the posters...
    if you have a problem with that,report me.
    end off!this is ah after all.
    but i will say this,and its a biggie(biggy)
    for me,stop with the grammer naziis
    bs.
    thankkk yoou
    :p:p

I am not. I'm just trying to point out why I think that murder is worse than rape. You are welcome to disagree without insulting me. I'd prefer not to be raped or murdered, but if given a choice I'd go for the former. Your opinion may vary.

This isn't to make light of rape, it really isn't. Victims of rape have to suffer personally, victims of murder can't suffer in a direct sense because they're dead, but that crime to my mind is still more heinous. I don't know where this vitriol is coming from. Again, it's just my opinion and is shared by the legal system of most countries.
    sorry if you i think was attacking you,i was not.just your idea of rape.
    murder thats the the off puttinn idea to me.but rape...you still have to live your life.
    yea?you still have to go out side your house.
    if your dead you dont have any fears.
    that is all im saying.
    and please dont try to put me down by saying i just post in text spk!!!!!
    i am close to reporting you for that,an your grammar comment:(:mad:

You are so young :)

Talk to REAL people about abuse and killings in your town.

and please dont try to put me down by saying i just post in text spk!!!!!
    i am close to reporting you for that,an your grammar comment:(:mad:

I'll just point out I haven't made a single comment on the way you post. You're mistaking me for another poster.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,509 ✭✭✭✭randylonghorn

Thread locked, and marked for review by the AH mods in the morning.