Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Did that say shared child porn with his daughter???

• 15-10-2011 6:30am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,002 ✭✭✭

A BUSINESSMAN who ran a Longford-based company selling Mass cards has been sentenced to 18 months in prison after being unanimously convicted of two counts of possessing child pornography.

Judge Michael White told the accused, Thomas McNally (51), of Foynes Court, Longford, who had advanced colon cancer and faces a serious risk of the cancer recurring, he would have imposed a three-year sentence if not for McNally’s medical condition and long-term prognosis.

Sligo Circuit Court heard 676 images of child pornography, which had been downloaded on to A4 sheets, were discovered by investigating gardaí at two locations – 350 of them in a field outside Longford where a safe stolen from the home of the accused had been dumped, and the remainder in a large shopping bag in the boot of a car owned by the defendant’s daughter and parked in the driveway of his home.

Last April, a jury sitting at Longford Circuit Court unanimously found McNally guilty on two charges of unlawfully possessing child pornography under the 1998 Child Trafficking and Pornography Act, on February 6th and 7th, 2006.

At yesterday’s sentencing hearing in Sligo, the judge told the accused when adults used children for their sexual gratification by viewing images on a computer or via downloaded images, it meant children had been degraded and their innocence destroyed.

The court had heard evidence there was handwriting on all of the images, and that some featured the handwriting of two individuals.

The judge said he had no doubt McNally had shared the images with his daughter and this would, even in the case of an adult child, be considered a breach of trust in all civilised society.

Insp Daniel Sweeney told the hearing some of the A4 sheets had notes saying “To Dad, thanks for the pics”. Analysis by an expert had established beyond doubt that it was the defendant’s handwriting on some sheets.

During the trial it emerged the accused had reported that passports belonging to himself and his daughter had been mislaid, but he had not reported the theft of his safe to gardaí even though it contained over €21,000 in cash, as well as some jewellery. The discovery of the safe and the hundreds of images strewn around the field by the landowner’s son had sparked the investigation.

McNally told gardaí that on the night of the theft his daughter, Tanya Mulryan, revealed there had been material of a “sexual nature” stolen and he did not report the matter because he did not want to embarrass her.

Senior counsel Pádraig Dwyer, for McNally, asked the court to consider the “social opprobrium” experienced by the accused since his conviction. He had received a lot of media attention and had to remove himself from the daily running of the Mass card operation his father had established

Eh if this is right why da fook is she not up on charges too??

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,115 ✭✭✭Pdfile

ahh grand, im free to **** another day....

YUSSSSSSS!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,002 ✭✭✭jay-me

Pdfile wrote: »
    ahh grand, im free to **** another day....

YUSSSSSSS!

Are you referring to yourself as the daughter???

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,115 ✭✭✭Pdfile

i wish i was... :(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,653 ✭✭✭Ghandee

The two slimy bastard's should be castrated without anaesthetic!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,535 ✭✭✭Radharc na Sleibhte

Jesus there's some weird fcukers in Longford.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,609 ✭✭✭stoneill

Where am I going to get my Mass cards now?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,844 ✭✭✭✭cormie

Wonder what capacity internal storage them A4 sheets have?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,252 ✭✭✭✭stovelid

My revenge porn fantasy is better than yours.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,225 ✭✭✭Ciaran500

House broken into and kiddie porn safe stolen, unlucky >_<

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 269 ✭✭Jam

Ghandee wrote: »

I sense a logistical problem here.

Why is he up on charges, but the daughter is scot free? Insufficient weight of evidence?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,520 ✭✭✭Duke Leonal Felmet

Only on the topic of paedophilia, is such a response considered acceptable. It's the last bastion of the torch & pitchfork.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,372 ✭✭✭im invisible

'this one looks like you when you were 8'

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,779 ✭✭✭up for anything

Only on the topic of paedophilia, is such a response considered acceptable. It's the last bastion of the torch & pitchfork.

Maybe for good reason?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 88,972 ✭✭✭✭mike65

Strange one, the daughter is clearly in the wrong. Dunno what the mitigating circumstances are apart from being female and so presumed to be not a danger to children (!).

(who the heck prints out illegal porn?)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,058 ✭✭✭✭Abi

mike65 wrote: »
    Strange one, the daughter is clearly in the wrong. Dunno what the mitigating circumstances are apart from being female and so presumed to be not a danger to children (!).

(who the heck prints out illegal porn?)

The terminally stupid..

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,520 ✭✭✭Duke Leonal Felmet

Maybe for good reason?

No, calling for people to be brutally tortured doesn't put you on the moral high ground, no matter what the crime. If you want to be morally consistent, if you want a civil society, then act as such.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,277 ✭✭✭Chris Martin

Sorry my USB drive acts up sometimes & it's a daily battle trying to keep my PC alive, so evidence the evidence can easily be lost or destroyed,
    So I decided to print them out for you, blown up, on A4 sheets of paper.
    Saves you looking for them and that.
    No, no, it was no trouble at all!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 724 ✭✭✭jonsnow

Looks like she is being charged but opted for a separate trial.

http://www.irishtimes.com/newspaper/ireland/2011/0407/1224294101073.html

Trial for child porn possession begins

A Circuit Court trial of a Longford businessman for possession of child pornography begins today after a successful application by a co-defendant for a separate trial, reports Thomas Lyons.

Thomas McNally (51) and his daughter Tanya Mulryan (28), Foynes Court, Longford, were before Judge Michael White facing two charges under section 6 (1) of the Child Trafficking and Pornography Act, 1998.

These are that both knowingly had in their possession images of child pornography at Foynes Court, Longford, on February 6th and 7th, 2006.

Before the jury was empanelled yesterday, Paul Burns SC, for Ms Mulryan, requested a separation of the cases or an adjournment. Mr Justice White acceded to the request for separate trials, observing that the DPP was perfectly entitled to bring a joint indictment.

The judge put the case against Ms Mulryan back for mention on June 28th, but she may be called as a witness for the defence.

Pádraig Dwyer SC, for Mr McNally, said his client was ready for his trial, which is expected to last for six days.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 969 ✭✭✭some random drunk

jonsnow wrote: »
    Looks like she is being charged but opted for a separate trial.

http://www.irishtimes.com/newspaper/ireland/2011/0407/1224294101073.html

Trial for child porn possession begins

A Circuit Court trial of a Longford businessman for possession of child pornography begins today after a successful application by a co-defendant for a separate trial, reports Thomas Lyons.

Thomas McNally (51) and his daughter Tanya Mulryan (28), Foynes Court, Longford, were before Judge Michael White facing two charges under section 6 (1) of the Child Trafficking and Pornography Act, 1998.

These are that both knowingly had in their possession images of child pornography at Foynes Court, Longford, on February 6th and 7th, 2006.

Before the jury was empanelled yesterday, Paul Burns SC, for Ms Mulryan, requested a separation of the cases or an adjournment. Mr Justice White acceded to the request for separate trials, observing that the DPP was perfectly entitled to bring a joint indictment.

The judge put the case against Ms Mulryan back for mention on June 28th, but she may be called as a witness for the defence.

Pádraig Dwyer SC, for Mr McNally, said his client was ready for his trial, which is expected to last for six days.

Good find. Odd case. Taken 5 years to go to trial? It just makes me wonder how do these things start? I mean what was the conversation in that household? "Will we rent a DVD tonight or look at child porn together?" Odd, odd case.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 724 ✭✭✭jonsnow

Good find. Odd case. Taken 5 years to go to trial? It just makes me wonder how do these things start? I mean what was the conversation in that household? "Will we rent a DVD tonight or look at child porn together?" Odd, odd case.

Thanks.Yeah its obviously a seriously dysfunctional family.She was only 23 when this happened as well.I wonder what her facebook profile looked like "I love hanging with my girlies,clubbing and looking at A4 child pornography printouts that my dad downloaded off the internet"

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,980 ✭✭✭Dotrel

article wrote:
    which had been downloaded on to A4 sheets

Wow. I wish my computer could do that

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,779 ✭✭✭up for anything

No, calling for people to be brutally tortured doesn't put you on the moral high ground, no matter what the crime. If you want to be morally consistent, if you want a civil society, then act as such.

Ah but I wasn't looking to be on high moral ground. :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4 godzilla37

Selling mass cards an then looking at Child porn with he's daughter. Must be a very productive mass card company. With the both of them driving brand new merc's and bmws ,a different new car every few months. Must be fair money in signing a few mass cards.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,724 ✭✭✭tallaghtmick

What I wanna know is how the whole father-daughter sharing cp came about.

I'd say it was more then cp they were sharing....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,163 ✭✭✭✭danniemcq

Senior counsel Pádraig Dwyer, for McNally, asked the court to consider the “social opprobrium” experienced by the accused since his conviction. He had received a lot of media attention and had to remove himself from the daily running of the Mass card operation his father had established

oh god won't someone think of the ummmm dirty scumbag twisted perverts who are thinking of the children

Very lenient the longford court system are.15 mths for looking at pictures of young kids.Who'd like a neighbor like that. 18 mths in other cases for not been able to make repayments on mortgages or assault. Doesnt add up.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,751 ✭✭✭Saila

love the way the land owners son stole €21,000 from a stolen safe and that has been completely glanced over :confused:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,163 ✭✭✭✭danniemcq

Saila wrote: »
    love the way the land owners son stole €21,000 from a stolen safe and that has been completely glanced over :confused:

i think that falls under the finders keepers law

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,938 ✭✭✭mackg

stoneill wrote: »
    Where am I going to get my Mass cards now?

I'm sure he will just be moved to a mass card business somewhere else in the country and no more will be said about it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,725 ✭✭✭charlemont

cormie wrote: »
    Wonder what capacity internal storage them A4 sheets have?

Plenty more peado's hiding under the banner of religion out there for you..:(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,070 ✭✭✭✭My name is URL

http://www.sbpost.ie/news/ireland/mass-card-company-director-hits-out-at-bishops-51749.html
    In his judgment, McMenamin said the Mass cards market was ‘‘significant in size’’, and that MCC’s unaudited accounts showed sales of about €250,000.

McNally said he distributed up to 120,000 Mass cards annually, and that he had an arrangement with an African bishop to sell the cards in return for payments to priests in Tanzania.

Who would have thought that the international black-market for fraudulent mass cards was so lucrative!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,455 ✭✭✭✭Monty Burnz

http://www.sbpost.ie/news/ireland/mass-card-company-director-hits-out-at-bishops-51749.html

Who would have thought that the international black-market for fraudulent mass cards was so lucrative!

Wow - what an all-round good guy Mr. McNally is.

I'm in the wrong job!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 322 ✭✭plastic glass

Jesus there's some weird fcukers in Longford.

Very true. And I am originally from there. Nearly as bad as Roscommon