Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Nas - Nasty [New Video]

• 15-10-2011 1:09am
    Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 18,300 ✭✭✭✭

Almost 20 years deep and still once of the nicest flows you will ever hear.

Back on form here, lets hope the whole album is of this standard.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,342 ✭✭✭Bobby Baccala

good flow but im not impressed with that at all.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 18,300 ✭✭✭✭Seaneh

Nas > your favourite rapper.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,431 ✭✭✭Hugh Cream

sounds dated, not impressed but im not a huge fan.

im sure its in the lyrics but whats the significance of the ciroc?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 18,300 ✭✭✭✭Seaneh

Hugh Cream wrote: »
    sounds dated, not impressed but im not a huge fan.

im sure its in the lyrics but whats the significance of the ciroc?

Well, I know for sure Nas > your favourite rapper so never mind.

As for the ciroc, who cares? Product placemnet? It's not mentioned in the lyrics at all, probably got paid to have it in the video or doing a favour for a friend?

ye cool what ever, still not a great song, sounds like every nas song, same beat same flow.

product placements is a low though, for nas its unheard of.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,246 ✭✭✭conor.hogan.2

Great song, plus I dont know of many songs Nas spits fast over so people saying it is the same flow is a bit odd.

just a bit samey to me, sorry.
    your more of a fan than me so ill take your word for it but it just sounds like ive heard that from nas before.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,048 ✭✭✭Da Shins Kelly

Love Nas, but this song is just alright for me.

Seaneh wrote: »
    Nas > your favourite rapper.

Ice cube > Nas.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,519 ✭✭✭Underground

P4DDY2K11 wrote: »
    Ice cube > Nas.

Very debatable.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,048 ✭✭✭Da Shins Kelly

Ice cube > Nas.

Not sure about that.

It's my opinion im not looking for a debate.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 479 ✭✭Fo Real

I swear, people won't appreciate Nas until after he's dead. He's the rapper's rapper. Universally respected in the game. Nobody wants beef with Nas after he destroyed Jay on Ether 10 years ago.

Fo Real wrote: »
    I swear, people won't appreciate Nas until after he's dead. He's the rapper's rapper. Universally respected in the game. Nobody wants beef with Nas after he destroyed Jay on Ether 10 years ago.

Thats the Fúckin truth man.
    Any proper rap fan recognises nas for what he really is but when hes dead you'll get all the young lads that listen to lil wayne, drake, soulja gay pretending they always listened to nas.

Fo Real wrote: »
    again thats debatable, id never go as far as saying he destroyed jay, he may have had the better diss or what ever you wanna call it but by no means did he destroy him.

Thats the Fúckin truth man.
    Any proper rap fan recognises nas for what he really is but when hes dead you'll get all the young lads that listen to lil wayne, drake, soulja gay pretending they always listened to nas.
    you get that already mate, he doesnt need to die for people to pretend they listen to him.

Why would someone pretend to listen or to like Nas?

hip hop fans are weird.

EDIT: oh not just nas tho.

Exactly.^^
    You get people pretendin they listen to all sorts off different artists just to sound different.
    a good tip to catch them out is ask them to name five of their supposed favourite rappers songs and it leaves them lost for words.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,068 ✭✭✭Bodhisopha

Nas could be so much better...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,416 ✭✭✭Jimmy Iovine

Nice flow, nice song. Nothing sensational though.

I did like the fact that for the few shout outs he had in the song he had the corresponding person in the video. It'd be some laugh if The Game tried to do that in his videos. He'd go bankrupt trying to pay everyone to come to the shoot for the day :pac:.

PS The young one from the Biggie film is class looking. I prefer her as a blonde though

Nice flow, nice song. Nothing sensational though.

I did like the fact that for the few shout outs he had in the song he had the corresponding person in the video. It'd be some laugh if The Game tried to do that in his videos. He'd go bankrupt trying to pay everyone to come to the shoot for the day :pac:.

PS The young one from the Biggie film is class looking. I prefer her as a blonde though
    could you imagine.:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,416 ✭✭✭Jimmy Iovine

Hugh Cream wrote: »
    could you imagine.:D

I don't think Game would even get a look in himself in the video ha ha.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,970 ✭✭✭mufcboy1999

great song imo, posted the actual song a few months back in hip hop 2011 enjoyed it then, still enjoying it now.

great to see a rapper actually rapping proper throughout the song with no pop ish hook or the likes.

but its about time nas came with a decent album as a whole again not just the usual 3 or 4 good songs and the rest being filler material.

in all good 1st single real hip hop vibe to it but as i said nas is overdue a good solo album... enjoyed hs collab with damien marley a while back though.:)

not bad either despite rick ross grunting in the backround...

• Moderators, Music Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 25,734 Mod ✭✭✭✭Boom_Bap

Nasty is a top quality song. But now i'm hesitant about any Nas albums. There are normally a few great songs but alot of rubbish in between.

I hope i'm proven wrong this time around.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,824 ✭✭✭floggg

Boom_Bap wrote: »
    Nasty is a top quality song. But now i'm hesitant about any Nas albums. There are normally a few great songs but alot of rubbish in between.

I hope i'm proven wrong this time around.

Im late to the party on this, but this is great. Beat is dope, flow is good too.

Last few Nas albums have been great in my book. Distant Relatives is one of my favourite albums of all time.

Hope the next one keeps up the winning streak.

And Ice Cube is not greater than Nas. Though Jheri Curled Cube might be!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 687 ✭✭✭Jay Ru

i've been listening to Nas since his first album came out and to this day he has never recaptured that form and never will. as for his flow its the same on every track, he just crams as many words as he can into his bars and thats it. He may of murked Jay on Ether but he'll never be the artist that Jay is, Jigga has stayed relevant for his whole career something that Nas has struggled with. And as fars as Nas > than ur favorite rapper. Elzhi or Royce wud eat him alive

He may of murked Jay on Ether but he'll never be the artist that Jay is, Jigga has stayed relevant for his whole career something that Nas has struggled with.

As much of a fan I am of jay z's old music the fact is he has mainly stayed relevant on the commercial scene due to the fact he is with beyonce and introduced us to kanye, rhianna etc it has done his career wonders.

jay z isnt relevant due to the fact he still makes good music imo, he's relevant due to the fact he is very commercial and constantly in the media's eye due to some of the names listed above.

on nas, I admire him for keeping it strictly hip hop 99.9 per cent of the time even though the market currently caters for more industry commercial hip hop at the moment.

Distant relatives is a very slept on album and that was his last piece of work, although it wasnt a solo album it still was a great album and a great idea.

im hoping nas comes good on this album, he sounds hungry again thats one thing I have noticed since distant relatives maybe he has good reason to be hungry after kelis leached him dry:D.

I like jay and Nas but anyone could stay relevant in Hip-hop/rap/r&b if they stole several artists music, and had the producers and artists and label connections etc he has.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 687 ✭✭✭Jay Ru

As much of a fan I am of jay z's old music the fact is he has mainly stayed relevant on the commercial scene due to the fact he is with beyonce and introduced us to kanye, rhianna etc it has done his career wonders.

jay z isnt relevant due to the fact he still makes good music imo, he's relevant due to the fact he is very commercial and constantly in the media's eye due to some of the names listed above.

on nas, I admire him for keeping it strictly hip hop 99.9 per cent of the time even though the market currently caters for more industry commercial hip hop at the moment.

I get what ur saying dude but first off Jay was commercially relevant long before he started to introduce artists like u've mentioned above and before he got with Beyonce. Also he didn't introduce the world to Rihanna, she was already on Def Jam before Jay signed her to his label. Another way Jay has stayed relevant is thru the producers he's worked with Nas on the other hand sticks with a guy like Salam Remi, who is an incredible producers but not to everybodies tastes, where as Jay is working with the likes of Kanye, Just Blaze, Swizz Beats, Timbo and so on.

And sorry for disagreeing with u again over something but for the album with Damian Marley is for me like what Boom Bap said a few great tracks (many 3, 4 at the most) and the rest is just filler. But hey maybe i'm just getting old.

Jay Ru wrote: »
    I get what ur saying dude but first off Jay was commercially relevant long before he started to introduce artists like u've mentioned above and before he got with Beyonce. Also he didn't introduce the world to Rihanna, she was already on Def Jam before Jay signed her to his label. Another way Jay has stayed relevant is thru the producers he's worked with Nas on the other hand sticks with a guy like Salam Remi, who is an incredible producers but not to everybodies tastes, where as Jay is working with the likes of Kanye, Just Blaze, Swizz Beats, Timbo and so on.

And sorry for disagreeing with u again over something but for the album with Damian Marley is for me like what Boom Bap said a few great tracks (many 3, 4 at the most) and the rest is just filler. But hey maybe i'm just getting old.

feel free to disagree with me man, some of my views are controversial some of the time.

I never said he wasn't relevant before he hooked up with beyonce, kanye, rhianna etc, I said those connections have helped him very much in staying relevant !

those connections came in a time where the tides were starting to change in hip hop and the pop side of things really started to blend its way in around the mid 00's, where as a rapper like nas had none of those connections and wasnt as exposed to the public as much as jay z.

Rhianna and beyonce are mega-stars and will prove to be more successful than jay z could ever be due to the pop market being so big a genre. Being married to one and managing the other is bound to have a positive effect on your career you see it all the time with rappers getting hits with a ft from a pop star sometimes the feature makes the song or at least draws people in who would normally never listen to a jay z etc

run this this town was a big commercial hit, but would it of been as big if rhianna and kanye weren't on it? kanye coming of the back of a hugely successful 808's album and rhianna basically being the biggest pop star around with beyonce?

would new york of been successful if it wasn't for the rnb hook by alica keys which most people outside of hip hop fans remember the song for?

ice cube said it best on his last album imo
    if Jay-Z can rap about the NYC why can't I talk about the **** I see
    Without Alicia keys with out going R&B this anit moe town this is
    R.A.P.

jay z has sold out man and has pretty much crossed over to the commercial scene something nas has never really done, I haven't liked a jay z album since 2002 with the blueprint 2. Sometimes I really don't get fuss about jay z sure i can understand it from going by his work up till the blueprint 2 but for me as far as sales ye he is still relevant but as far as the music he has fallen off big time in terms of hip hop and what its meant to sound like.

I found it very hard at times to listen to jigga on watch the throne, kanye was the main selling point for a lot of people on that album, its a smart move by jay to surround himself with artists who are relevant something again that nas doesn't really do.

On the distant relatives album, i suppose it just boils down to opinion, I liked it a lot. I taught it was a great idea combining hip hop and reggae and also a very brave move by nas. Thats the difference right there between nas and jay z these days... jigga would do a collab album with another huge star while nas done it for the love of the music aswell as actually rapping about something of meaning and just give us something different instead of the usual money talk from jay.

my point is jay z is surrounding himself with those who are relevant, smart move yes but he's walking with a crutch that's why I have more respect in terms of hip hop for nas.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 32 farmerka

Jay -Z rapper of the year cant see any other better then him

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,519 ✭✭✭Underground

I've always thought Nas is like the rapper's rapper-stayed true to his roots and at this stage of his career I seriously doubt he'll turn pop. Loving Nasty but still a bit skeptical regarding the new album.

Really, really hope it's good though. Last album I got really hyped up for was The Seventh Seal and it was s***e.