Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

lamping deer

• 13-10-2011 1:46pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 42

There are people going around lamping deer on local gun club grounds and farmers are getting sick of it there driving around fields and driving cattle mad leaving gates open . I was out after foxs last week and met one farmer and he told me that he's seen them most nights and moved them on but thay keep coming back there cheky out if it keeps happing he will stop hunting on his land all together and its prime hunting ground

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,777 ✭✭✭meathstevie

Inform your local Gardai and the NPWS. For the local Gardai a good firearms catch always goes down well with their senior officers.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,226 ✭✭✭Glensman

If they're there often, sit out a couple of nights and take down number plates and call Gards.

It's armed trespass so it's worth reporting and taking seriously.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 167 ✭✭fallowbuck

The cheeky ****s, I dought stopping hunting altogether:eek: is going to stop them ? but what can he do.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 42 stoger

Glensman wrote: »
    If they're there often, sit out a couple of nights and take down number plates and call Gards.

It's armed trespass so it's worth reporting and taking seriously.
    Will do. We did inform the gards but we only have one

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 41 6.5x55

Stoger
    That I suspect is happening across the country wherever their are deer .Forget about the club losing the land to shoot over ,that is one thing, because of these coyboys ,somebody is going to end up dead because of some trigger happy clown who is after a quick €€€.

Any repectable shooter should go out of his /her way to dis-associated themselves from anybody who they think is involved . .These small amount of cowboys could cause un-told damage to our sport with behaviour like this ,Its only a matter of time before a tragedy happens .

The Guards/NPWS need to be pro-active on these matters .It does not take huge skill to keep check of who is delivering what to the game dealer in a district.I would be curious to hear if this is as widespread as I think.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 42 stoger

fallowbuck wrote: »
    The cheeky ****s, I dought stopping hunting altogether:eek: is going to stop them ? but what can he do.
    Can't blame the farmer .I have seen a few jeeps going around at night one of them is a pick up and has no number plate lites

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 167 ✭✭fallowbuck

stoger wrote: »
    Can't blame the farmer .I have seen a few jeeps going around at night one of them is a pick up and has no number plate lites

Ya they no what there at fecker's:mad: not new to the game thats for sure.

Perhaps from a safe place, and with some other gun club members or the local guard you could lamp them up using your own lamp.

Just keep lamping them and scanning the fields as you would when foxing. Might move them on somewhere else, or light up their plates...

My brother was ion the paper a couple of months ago, he used my lightforce 240/backpack to chase burglars across the golf course. Poor scum didn't know what to do with artificial sun chasing them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 392 ✭✭browning 12 bore

seen a load around my area but i heard the price for deer so high now they would do anything to get by all i can say people is be very careful out there some lads can be very very confrontational

So can I.
    I've just got myself a few permissions. If I catch anyone lamping them, they'll be ringing the guards...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 376 ✭✭sikastag

"artificial sun chasing them" - had a good laugh there, cheers!

Think this craic is widespread unfortunately, have seen good few orphaned calfs allready! :eek: At this stage in the season..... :mad::mad::mad::mad::mad:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,296 ✭✭✭rowa

The sooner the better the price of venison crashes and puts an end to this cowboy carry on.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 555 ✭✭✭Sika98k

stoger wrote: »
    There are people going around lamping deer on local gun club grounds and farmers are getting sick of it there driving around fields and driving cattle mad leaving gates open . I was out after foxs last week and met one farmer and he told me that he's seen them most nights and moved them on but thay keep coming back there cheky out if it keeps happing he will stop hunting on his land all together and its prime hunting ground

Somehow stopping hunting on his land is not going to stop poachers.

They do not have permission in the first place.

Can I suggest here that anyone and you dont have to be a hunter,when seeing poaching/lamping of deer taking place ring the local Guards ASAP.

If you can,get a reg no. they are reasonably traceable.

The Guards just might have a car in the area.