Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Close protection

• 13-10-2011 12:03pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33

If wrong forum apologies and please move mods.

Do persons that complete a close protection course need to be licensed and carry id like security guards have to with PSA???

Also if you are a private investigator so you have to be registered with the PSA or do you register with someone else.

Do you have to have a course done for PI or can anybody become one

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 871 ✭✭✭savagecabbages

I'm no authority on the matter, but I know of two PSA licenses.
    One is a door supervisor license(for bars, nightclubs, hotels), the other a static security license(for shops, building site security etc.). There is a third one, a combination license of both of the above.

I cant see how any of the above relate to close protection, or private investigation, though maybe it would help to have the static license...

For what its worth, the PSA are a waste of time. They are tasked with making sure every security employee is licensed (which hasn't happened), that personnel don't have criminal records (which isn't the case), and the main reason they were set up -to bring the whole industry above board and into the books, which has failed completely!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33 Tekken

thanks for the reply savagecabbages.

It was just something i was wondering about regarding the PSA as i had checked their website top to bottom and it doesnt state anywhere about licences for close protection or PI work. Obviously there is not much requirement for close protection work in Ireland but technically it is still security work.

I was going to try and get involved in PI work but I have no idea how to go about it as the PSA have no answers on the subject and when you ring them no one answers or when they do, no one knows the answer to the question.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,565 ✭✭✭kub

Tekken work away, the PSA are only a revenue collecting arm of the Dept Of Justice.
    To my knowledge its static guards, bouncers, then alarm system installers....the mind boggles on this one, i do not know one company which only install burglar alarms, eg CCTV, those keypad doors etc, neither of these two latter are included.

So if you are dong PI/ Close protection, work away, they do not know.....mind you try and get in it writing from them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 319 ✭✭Locust

The PSA is still in its early days, it has all the right intentions, but has a hell of a way to go as to bringing things up to par.

I would imagine people operating in the close protection business (which is essentially security) in Ireland need to be licensed under PSA. Foreign bodyguards/visiting dignitaries i.e. Obamas secret service or Egypt's bodyguards obviously don't need PSA. But anyone living and working here, doing close protection would. I can only imagine if something 'serious' happened and you weren't registered with the PSA how liable/or vulnerable to criminal prosecution you would be? I suppose how much of a 'cowboy' would you look like?

On a side note - close protection work is highly specialized i don't think a few weeks of a course can really qualify you for something like that (in any serious recognised capacity) unless you spent a few years with Army ARW/Garda ERU or foreign equivalents. I know a few lads who went abroad on the circuit type business and they really are an elite - specialized - years in the making type - skills set.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 680 ✭✭✭AllthingsCP

Hi mate, As far as i know PSA are putting legislation in Place for Close Protection in Ireland, but currently training providers in Ireland offer SIA {UK version of the PSA}, This will suffice for employment regulations in Ireland and UK, Are you looking into Low risk or High risk Close Protection work? Mar-sec, Hostile envio is a no no unless you are ex-mil with a few years oversea's don't even waste your money doing the course.

Locust wrote: »
    The PSA is still in its early days, it has all the right intentions, but has a hell of a way to go as to bringing things up to par.

I would imagine people operating in the close protection business (which is essentially security) in Ireland need to be licensed under PSA. Foreign bodyguards/visiting dignitaries i.e. Obamas secret service or Egypt's bodyguards obviously don't need PSA. But anyone living and working here, doing close protection would. I can only imagine if something 'serious' happened and you weren't registered with the PSA how liable/or vulnerable to criminal prosecution you would be? I suppose how much of a 'cowboy' would you look like?

On a side note - close protection work is highly specialized i don't think a few weeks of a course can really qualify you for something like that (in any serious recognised capacity) unless you spent a few years with Army ARW/Garda ERU or foreign equivalents. I know a few lads who went abroad on the circuit type business and they really are an elite - specialized - years in the making type - skills set.

I know many many fellas and ladies that have no Military background that are currently leading the Close Protecting sector in the UK, If you network and do your job well you will get a good rep. Door work is a great experience to have for anyone looking into the job but the industry is flooded and work is hard come by buts its all about NETWORKING.!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,049 ✭✭✭discus

I know many many fellas and ladies that have no Military background that are currently leading the Close Protecting sector in the UK, If you network and do your job well you will get a good rep. Door work....!

Yeah, but the lads who've come straight from doing door work end up just being mobile bouncers, fat boys who push papparazi out of the way. You need police/mil experience to make decent money abroad, pmc's wont look at you without it. Look at the amount of police and army that have been let go in the UK, most of them have at least 1 afghan tour under their belt or a few years on the beat!

discus wrote: »
    Yeah, but the lads who've come straight from doing door work end up just being mobile bouncers, fat boys who push papparazi out of the way. You need police/mil experience to make decent money abroad, pmc's wont look at you without it. Look at the amount of police and army that have been let go in the UK, most of them have at least 1 afghan tour under their belt or a few years on the beat!

I agree with you on some aspects like overseas work in war zones will not happen unless you have some military background.

But executive close protecting or VIP is possible, its all about networking and just getting that first job and doing a well knowing course and not been a fool or careless.

Door work is a great way to network.

Joining volunteer groups that send you on useful courses will help fill out your CV Also.

But the SIA has flooded the market so work is very hard come by.