Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Lucky escape in Wicklow

• 13-10-2011 10:02am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,196 ✭✭✭

Have a look at the Irish Independant, the small edition page 6

A jeep was hit with a stray bullet after dark...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,570 ✭✭✭Rovi

• Closed Accounts Posts: 965 ✭✭✭lb1981

stupid ****s

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,576 ✭✭✭garv123

Why is it someone poaching straight away? someone could be lamping foxes.
    still stupid fools whoever it was

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,197 ✭✭✭✭Grizzly 45

Was only a matter of time.Watch that start to rattle the Irish deerstalking cage.

"If you want to keep someone away from your house, Just fire the shotgun through the door."

Vice President [and former lawyer] Joe Biden Field& Stream Magazine interview Feb 2013 "

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,070 ✭✭✭cavan shooter

Not saying it didnt happen, but how did it end up in the Independent?? I know a lad that had his van peppered last year and that didnt end up in the papers??:confused:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 703 ✭✭✭BELOWaverageIQ

Im not for one second doubting the mans story.... but it s one way to bring the problem and dangers of poaching to the forefront and to gain media attention for the issue.
    Very coincidental that he is happens to be a local hunter and member of the local gun club whom Im sure are plagued with the problem of poachers in that area if reports are to be believed.
    Then again, can you imagine the hysteria is this had happened to someone who was not familiar with hunting / shooting., I can see the headlines '' failed assignation attempt'' etc.
    Either way, lets hope the powers that be take the issue seriously this time.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,038 ✭✭✭✭Sparks

Very coincidental that he is happens to be a local hunter
    Not so much. Local hunters would be more likely to be in the area poachers would be in than other members of the public (because they're both in search of the same animals).

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,001 ✭✭✭✭opinion guy

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,736 ✭✭✭deerhunter1

patsat wrote: »
    Have a look at the Irish Independant, the small edition page 6

A jeep was hit with a stray bullet after dark...

Was it a stray???????????????

• Closed Accounts Posts: 703 ✭✭✭BELOWaverageIQ

Sparks wrote: »
    Not so much. Local hunters would be more likely to be in the area poachers would be in than other members of the public (because they're both in search of the same animals).

Thanks Sparks, but I think you missed the point I was making and besides the article stated that he was just outside Shillelagh in west Wicklow and I take it he was traveling along a public road was he not!, besides where his location was when his car was hit is surely not the issue.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,038 ✭✭✭✭Sparks

Thanks Sparks, but I think you missed the point I was making
    I'm not sure what point you were making BaIQ.
    and besides the article stated that he was just outside Shillelagh in west Wicklow and I take it he was traveling along a public road was he not!
    Yup, I was taking from the camo he was wearing in the photo that he was either coming back or going out to stalk.
    besides where his location was when his car was hit is surely not the issue.
    I wouldn't say it was the most important thing, but it's definitely important, if only because it would indicate where the shot came from (very roughly) and how much danger everyone was in because of it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,296 ✭✭✭rowa

If that man had kids or other passengers in the back of that jeep it could have been a real tragedy and the likes of joe duffy and the rest of the anti-gunners could have had a field day jumping up and down on the rest of us, all because of one reckless idiot who shouldn't have a gun licence in the first place.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 965 ✭✭✭lb1981

rowa wrote: »
    If that man had kids or other passengers in the back of that jeep it could have been a real tragedy and the likes of joe duffy and the rest of the anti-gunners could have had a field day jumping up and down on the rest of us, all because of one reckless idiot who shouldn't have a gun licence in the first place.
    if he had anybody in the back he would be breaking the law as he is in a commercial, so was he on his way to work or coming home when it happened because surely he wasn't out shooting in it ;)

Whoever took that shot is a ****ing clown by the way

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,296 ✭✭✭rowa

lb1981 wrote: »
    if he had anybody in the back he would be breaking the law as he is in a commercial, so was he on his way to work or coming home when it happened because surely he wasn't out shooting in it ;)

Whoever took that shot is a ****ing clown by the way

Yeah but how many dozens of times have you seen a lad driving along the road picking up a couple of neighbours walking and giving them a lift ? Thats all it takes, a couple of little coincidences and someone is dead.

I expected more damage to the jeep, but then again them panels that replace windows in commercial cars/jeeps are pretty week and wouldnt take much energy to go through.

lucky it wasnt a jeep with passengers.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,777 ✭✭✭meathstevie

Lucky lucky man....even if there had been anything solid enough in the back of his Freelander to shatter the round on it's way through he could have been injured by flying fragments.

Obviously never heard the term "backstop".

It helps us more if it was a poacher as then we won't get lumped into the same category as the moron that fired the shot.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,149 ✭✭✭bazza888

yeah he should have picked a more solid backstop than the jeep!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,268 ✭✭✭Tackleberry.

Well if it was my l200 one of the lads would be dead, Stupid langer that took that kind of shot but its going to happen, two NARGC reported accidents in Clare last year a eye lost and a leg. But we go on and no one learns only those who want to.... I done the NRA range safty officer course this year and it would stand to everyone to do a course of some kind shooting related. The nargc hold courses tru out the year.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 559 ✭✭✭Sika98k

Sparks wrote: »
    I'm not sure what point you were making BaIQ. Yup, I was taking from the camo he was wearing in the photo that he was either coming back or going out to stalk. I wouldn't say it was the most important thing, but it's definitely important, if only because it would indicate where the shot came from (very roughly) and how much danger everyone was in because of it.

Looking at the photograph it does appear to be taken in broad daylight.
    The article states that the vehicle was hit by a stray bullet after dark.

So the photograph must have been taken at the earliest the next day.

Mind you this is not just a solitary event. Last winter there were a number of events involving shooting at night in Co.Wicklow. They just didnt for one reason or another make the press.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 789 ✭✭✭650gs

Im with you Deerhunter1 he was a private investegator maybe not a stray at all maybe someone did'nt like him :confused:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 392 ✭✭browning 12 bore

well holy god here we go now lads stray bullets hitting cars lads are going to be caught for this id say and they should never get a gun again i pray.
    on a more serious note lads should always see there back stop
    http://www.independent.ie/national-news/lucky-escape-for-driver-narrowly-missed-by-stray-bullet-2904546.html

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,616 ✭✭✭FISMA

Very coincidental that he is happens to be a local hunter...

I am tending to agree with BELOWaverageIQ, at the very least, there's more to the story than we are being told.

If you are inside a car, how does a shot deafen you for a few minutes? That is, a stray shot. I doubt an errant shot that penetrates a vehicle has much of a crack to it at all. I doubt it is still supersonic.

Anyone that has ever had to differentiate between the "hiss" and the "snap" knows what I mean.

If this lad was in such proximity to be deafened, I fail to see how the shooter mistook the target.

Given that the driver was deafened and the trajectory of the bullet, if I were the Gardai, I would push the investigation.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 132 ✭✭steyrprohunter

That happened a few miles from where I live and APPARENTLTY someone has been questioned over it and APPARENTLY it wasnt an accident. Poachers got disturbed.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,248 ✭✭✭One shot on kill

650gs wrote: »
    Im with you Deerhunter1 he was a private investegator maybe not a stray:
    still a very bad shot

[QUOTE=
    The article states that the vehicle was hit by a stray bullet after dark.
    another very bad shot
    FISMA wrote: »
    I am tending to I doubt it is still supersonic.

more of a fright to a very distingtive sound

Anyone that has ever had to differentiate between the "hiss" and the "snap" knows what I mean.

Two very distingtive sounds and very hard to confuse one with the other he should know
    haven said that very bad shooting either way

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,149 ✭✭✭bazza888

there is quite a bang and snap off a fmj passing near you and going through hard cardboard it rattles the target holder hard,imagine the noise of a ballistic tip hitting thin sheetmetal deforming then hitting the other side on its way out,it say it would make a bang allright.but i wouldnt be surprised if theres more to it aswell.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,197 ✭✭✭✭Grizzly 45

650gs wrote: »
    Im with you Deerhunter1 he was a private investegator maybe not a stray at all maybe someone did'nt like him :confused:

Must have been a pretty low key or "short timer" one then.As not many other PIs have heard of him,and we are a pretty small community here in the ROI of those in this job who make it past the five year mark in busisness.:)
    Still, you never know who you upset and how they might react in the future when you take on a case.

"If you want to keep someone away from your house, Just fire the shotgun through the door."

Vice President [and former lawyer] Joe Biden Field& Stream Magazine interview Feb 2013 "

• Closed Accounts Posts: 95 ✭✭ring 20

hoax i recon, anti deer poacher with good story

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,736 ✭✭✭deerhunter1

ring 20 wrote: »

yep

:D:D;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 210 ✭✭ghostmantra

i heard to day that he was looking for all the shooting for himself:eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 392 ✭✭browning 12 bore

well lads in here in wicklow and its over the local paper here its really giving us decent hunters a very bad name if yous wish to support me in the this please ring the local paper wicklow people and give your side saying that not all us lads are as bad as the paper says i think its absalutly disgrace myself

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 121 ✭✭50cal

The latest take on this story is that a .223 shell has been found 180 yards from the road and that the shooters identity is known.
    The source of this information is a local landowner.

50cal wrote: »
    The latest take on this story is that a .223 shell has been found 180 yards from the road and that the shooters identity is known.
    The source of this information is a local landowner.

Can that prove anything? how any .223s are owned in wicklow.