Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

double jobbing!

• 12-10-2011 8:17pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 449 ✭✭

any one working two jobs or more these days?what are your jobs and how does it affect your life?think i may need to do this soon to make sure i pay my mortgage and other debts i have.plan to do it 2years max if possible.im currently in retail but manager is open to my idea if i get night shift in factory

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,159 ✭✭✭✭phasers

a lot of people can't even get one job, and you want two? Greedy.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,030 ✭✭✭✭Chuck Stone

Prostitutes are good at multi jobbing.

Blow jobs, hand jobs, tit jobs, foot jobs - take your pick.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 34,418 ✭✭✭✭hondasam

howyanow wrote: »
    any one working two jobs or more these days?what are your jobs and how does it affect your life?think i may need to do this soon to make sure i pay my mortgage and other debts i have.plan to do it 2years max if possible.im currently in retail but manager is open to my idea if i get night shift in factory

you are going to work night shift in a factory, pay tax, prsi etc and work day job doing the same.
    You are going to work just to pay the tax man. when are you going to sleep?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 99 ✭✭susita06

phasers wrote: »

Calling op greedy is harsh. Op has clearly stated he is in debt why should he not take a second job if it is being offered? Getting a second job in order to keep up repayments on his mortgage etc is not greedy, if anything it is admirable imo.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,851 ✭✭✭Cill Dara Abu

At least the OP is trying his best to pay off his mortgage him/herself unlike other whingers who took out ridiculous loans and now want blanket debt forgiveness!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,899 ✭✭✭✭BBDBB

Good on ya OP

if needs must, you are trying to do the honourable thing and work your way out of it

cap doffed and good luck

its knackering though, watch yourself driving etc as you can get a bit spaced out if you get that exhausted/tired

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,918 ✭✭✭✭orourkeda

I'd love two jobs

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 324 ✭✭Unique User Name

I saw a sign on a taxi I was in the other week saying no double jobbers. The taxi man was getting really worked up about it too. *Please note I'm not saying that with an air of surprise.

AH Response:- dey terk er jerbs

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,663 ✭✭✭Immaculate Pasta

Mate boasting about having two jobs in the recession is a bit harsh like ;) (you're not Polish are you? :eek:)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,283 ✭✭✭Glico Man

I worked two jobs when I was in 6th year to help pay for college/accomodation costs. Granted they were both part time jobs but every weekend I worked from 7am-2pm in a manufacturing job and worked from 8pm to 1am in a pub/nightclub. Its seriously tough on your body and mind but if its what needs be then so be it. Also have to echo what another poster said about your driving. You can space out sometimes due to fatigue and its all a bit tunnel vision.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 24,878 ✭✭✭✭arybvtcw0eolkf

I'm not going to go into too much detail regarding my own circumstances, but if your mortage is in distress and your facing arrears on that and other loans, and you're given a chance of working another job - go for the bloody thing and fvck the begrudgers.

Just be aware of a few things, its very hard to get earn a tax free wage these days - esp. in nixxer's like taxi driving or security.. But the likes of chipper/curry/pizza delivery can still be a good earner and tax free.

Its going to be very stressful on you and your relationship with your partner, but then again money troubles will cause this too - your caught between a rock and a hard place.

You'll be tired ALL THE TIME, and your physical & mental health will both suffer in the end.

If you think you can do it for two years and get out, fair play to ya but its not always possible.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,857 ✭✭✭Reloc8

Mate boasting about having two jobs in the recession is a bit harsh like ;) (you're not Polish are you? :eek:)

What are ya on about ?

He's not saying he's got 2 jobs, he's saying he would work 2 jobs if he could get a second, to keep his head above water.

And for jaysus sake who cares if he is or is not Polish.

Oh yeah, he could be a she, obviously.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,756 ✭✭✭InkSlinger67

Clicked on thread looking for a spit-roast kind of scenario! :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,663 ✭✭✭Immaculate Pasta

Reloc8 wrote: »
    What are ya on about ?

He's not saying he's got 2 jobs, he's saying he would work 2 jobs if he could get a second, to keep his head above water.

And for jaysus sake who cares if he is or is not Polish.

Oh yeah, he could be a she, obviously.

I was only trying to wind up someone up :(

And it worked :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,007 ✭✭✭Phill Ewinn

Done that. Don't bother looking for a second full time job. Cash in hand only. You'll make more money cleaning windows on a saturday then paying taxes all week.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,159 ✭✭✭✭phasers

susita06 wrote: »
    Calling op greedy is harsh. Op has clearly stated he is in debt why should he not take a second job if it is being offered? Getting a second job in order to keep up repayments on his mortgage etc is not greedy, if anything it is admirable imo.

...it was a joke... How could anyone consider double jobbing greedy? I assumed people would get that I was joking by the silliness of my post but apparently not.

Who on earth would begrudge somebody trying to earn an honest few quid?

My Dad did it OP and honestly it was awful on him and us, and it's harder than you'd think. If you have a family it will put a strain on things, just because you'll be exhausted and you won't see as much of them. Be prepared, and clearly weigh up the pros and cons. Good luck.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,291 ✭✭✭wild_cat

I have two at the moment as I have to cover a notice period.

Shattered. But staying awake to have a bit of time for myself.

Saturday the 29th of October is going to be the best sleep in ever.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,933 ✭✭✭Logical Fallacy

Best of luck with it OP, it will be tough going though. Prepare to be tired...beyond what you currently think tired is.

At one point i was working 2 jobs and going to college part time. An average day was for 6 o clock to train clients till 9, into my full time job for 9:30 to 5:30, then straight from that to college and i wouldn't be home till about 11:30. Then i was doing occassional door work and had full days of college at the weekend.

****ing shattered so i was, after 6 months i was basically a zombie.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 470 ✭✭Fran1985

I work full time, and run my own DJ company doing 2-3 nights a week most weeks. Also help out in the local curry shop once every few weeks. Have to pay a small bit towards mortgage, then pay rent, car loan and car insurance before i even think of getting a can of beans to put in the food press.

This has resulted in a bit of tiredness mind you, but im chipping away at car loan, and insurance is almost gone. Got rid of Credit Card too in past few months so all in all, once you start seeing the results of the extra work, and the stress starts to lift, life gets so much better. Even started putting aside some rainy day money. Hopefully cut back on the work load once i clear what i can, but i'm one of those people who actually enjoys working.

This time 15 months ago i had none of that work. Company wasn't set up and had just lost my job and debts were mounting. Any time i do get pissed off with the work, i think of those days!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,661 ✭✭✭Voodoomelon

I have 1.5 jobs, in that one is part-time. Its 50 hours of work all in, tiring stuff and stressful too. I don't think i'll keep up the part-time job for much longer, I don't really need it and its tough going.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,857 ✭✭✭Reloc8

I was only trying to wind up someone up :(

And it worked :)

God that was a good one.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,573 ✭✭✭pragmatic1

Get a few nine bars and only sell to friends. The money will roll in.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 513 ✭✭✭x_Ellie_x

I worked two part-time jobs before to make ends meet - I worked mon, wed, fri in one job (office job) and tue, thurs and sat in the other (shop). My boss in my office actually got annoyed with me for having the second job (because I couldn't work on a tuesday instead of the wednesday like she wanted me too) but I pointed out that she told me they were fixed days/hours when I started.

I don't think I would have the energy to work two full time jobs.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 19,986 ✭✭✭✭mikemac

Did it too, night porter in hotels which is usually a handy number
    But the odd night with you and two hundred rowdy residents it's hell. Local garda station on speed dial, ah Mike tis yourself, will we send the squad car down:)

Twenty seven nights in a row was my longest

So good for you OP but take some holidays too as eventually it gets too much for you and you'll end up sitting at home watching soccer and breaking down into tears :o

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,062 ✭✭✭akamossy

I work two jobs, my part time job that I had in college and another job that is related to the area I studied in college. I need to keep them both on to keep my head above water but if I am being completely honest I am wrecked from it and it is driving me completely nuts :P But hey that's life :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,128 ✭✭✭✭Oranage2

I can do over time anytime i want - last time i did 20 hours over I was paid about an extra 100 quid which worked out a 5 hour - Never making that mistake ever again :mad: though somebody on the dole probably needed it more than me:)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,847 ✭✭✭HavingCrack

Used to regularly pull 80-90 hour weeks working in America, 15 hour shifts :eek:. In the end I had to quit, I was quite literally falling asleep standing up. After that experience I don't think I'd have it in me to work 2 full time jobs.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,667 ✭✭✭policarp

Go for it.
    Politicians do it.
    Consultants do it.
    Rent Boys do it.
    RTE staff do it.
    So why not?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 19,986 ✭✭✭✭mikemac

Yeah go for it but there comes a time when you are working for Michael Noonan in Fine Gael
    Paying so much tax it's not worth it

I don't know a lot about cash in hand jobs, I'd imagine they are scarce
    But no point killing yourself with long hours to hand up over half in PAYE, USC and PRSI

You need to rest too

• Closed Accounts Posts: 23,316 ✭✭✭✭amacachi

...it was a joke... How could anyone consider double jobbing greedy? I assumed people would get that I was joking by the silliness of my post but apparently not.

Also it was the first reply so it at least deserved some meaningless thanks :P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,724 ✭✭✭The Scientician

I had lined up keeping hours in my old job when I started my new one. But the new one just took up so much of my time I couldn't keep the old one on.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 78,580 ✭✭✭✭Victor

hondasam wrote: »
    you are going to work night shift in a factory, pay tax, prsi etc and work day job doing the same.
    Realise that you can never pay more than about 50% in taxes. Working more always means more net income.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 449 ✭✭howyanow

thanks for replies.i was thinking of maybe a factory job with 3 twelve our shifts and then work my current job around that which i have been given permission to do,id still get one day off a week,im already doing 50 hours in my current job so id reduce that by 20ish.hope to take in 600 per week.not been greedy,its out of neccessity,i want to pay my own debts and not ask the general public to do it for me.also plenty of jobs out there if people are willing to step out of their comfort zone.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,264 ✭✭✭✭jester77

thanks for replies.i was thinking of maybe a factory job with 3 twelve our shifts and then work my current job around that which i have been given permission to do,id still get one day off a week,im already doing 50 hours in my current job so id reduce that by 20ish.hope to take in 600 per week.not been greedy,its out of neccessity,i want to pay my own debts and not ask the general public to do it for me.also plenty of jobs out there if people are willing to step out of their comfort zone.

You'll be burned out in no time, those 12 hour shifts take a lot out of a person. I'd leave those as a last resort, and try and pick up a few hours here and there instead. Work smart, not hard as they say ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,399 ✭✭✭✭r3nu4l

Prostitutes are good at multi jobbing.

Blow jobs, hand jobs, tit jobs, foot jobs - take your prick.

Fixed your post :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,812 ✭✭✭✭sbsquarepants

hondasam wrote: »

When he's dead man, when he's dead!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,976 ✭✭✭Brendog

If you had the chance to work 2 jobs you wouldn't pass it up.:rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,236 ✭✭✭lau1247

Not all jobs are long shifts..

Op I'd suggest if you can get jobs that is normal working hour every day instead.. while they are hard to come by but it is possible..

That way you have rest periods but it just means your social life is pretty much out the window..

good luck

West Dublin, ☀️ 7.83kWp ⚡5.66 kWp South West, ⚡2.18 kWp North East

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,790 ✭✭✭Feisar

It'll be soul destroying when you see the amount of tax you'll be paying out.

There should be some sort of system in place where people aren't getting raped for tax.

Can you set up a Ltd company I wonder and get it paid? Not sure if that's a possibility.

First they came for the socialists...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 577 ✭✭✭Galtee

Feisar wrote: »
    It'll be soul destroying when you see the amount of tax you'll be paying out.

There should be some sort of system in place where people aren't getting raped for tax.

Can you set up a Ltd company I wonder and get it paid? Not sure if that's a possibility.

There is such a system. However, one drawback is that it comes with a hefty fine and or prison sentence. ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,157 ✭✭✭srsly78

You get jailed for putting excess profit into pension pot!? :confused:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 577 ✭✭✭Galtee

srsly78 wrote: »
    You get jailed for putting excess profit into pension pot!? :confused:

Obv not the same system I was talking about. :rolleyes:

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 34,567 ✭✭✭✭Biggins

Your going to be damned by a few if you do - and by a few if you don't.

If you want to keep the roof over your head, keep you kids from not going starving and bills paid, I can understand why you have to take on multi-jobs.
    You can't win!

Maybe you should just give up, go on the dole and take the money there - but you will find then, you will be condemned for doing that too!
    You can't win!

I know some good posters are joking here - but a small few in the real world have their head up their backside and have conflicting hypocritical views.