Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

dental implants on finance??

• 11-10-2011 4:30pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,970 ✭✭✭

does anyone know of any dentists who offer dental implants on finance?

I my got 2 front teeth knocked out around 2 or 3 years ago, cant afford the money up front for implants is there any way around this?

medical card even?...:)

cheers

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators Posts: 21,693 Mod ✭✭✭✭helimachoptor

Most will do an instalment plan, so will really depend on how much it costs. You're probably looking at spreading the cost over say 5 months, but there will be times where the payment could be in the 0000's.

When i got my implant, I paid on each visit, but when i got the implant surgery, i paid for the implant that day.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,927 ✭✭✭georgieporgy

would you consider making monthly payments in advance of treatment, say for 6 months or so? Then continue making payments during treatment (another 4-6 months). That sort of spreads it over a year without asking the dentist to put his hand in his own pocket to pay for your implants.

Total cost for 2 implants should range between 4-5000 depending on your case. If you could manage that over 12 months I'm sure a lot of dentists would be happy enough with it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,970 ✭✭✭mufcboy1999

would you consider making monthly payments in advance of treatment, say for 6 months or so? Then continue making payments during treatment (another 4-6 months). That sort of spreads it over a year without asking the dentist to put his hand in his own pocket to pay for your implants.

Total cost for 2 implants should range between 4-5000 depending on your case. If you could manage that over 12 months I'm sure a lot of dentists would be happy enough with it.

the most a month i could afford would be 160 euro, I couldn't afford anymore with rent and other bills that I would have to take into account. 160 euro per month would come to in and around 2000 euro per year... so i would be looking for a plan that would cover me for 2 and a half years in order for me to come up with the 5 grand to cover both implants.

do ye think it would be a bad idea to get just a single implant this year and the same following year? if i get a single implant that means id have to get another denture fitted and i forked out a few hundred for the chrome one a year ago!.

cheers for the help lads

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators Posts: 21,693 Mod ✭✭✭✭helimachoptor

Op no dentists will allow you to pay back the majority of the costs months after you finish the work.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 692 ✭✭✭CyberJuice

your only option is to save up most of the money in the bank or in the credit union or watever and have at least 3 or 4 grand before you go see the dentist. i doubt any would take as little as 160 a month,its just too much of a risk,and you have to have everything fully paid off on the last day of your treatment or they wont let you walk out with shiny new implants and a 2 grand debt,they would never see you again..

Whats wrong with the chrome denture? you only got it 1 year ago,youll get another couple of years of use out of it while you save up..you possibly shoulda used that money for the denture towards your implants and got the plastic denture free on the medical card.

Im gettin a chrome denture myself,id love implants but im missing 4 front teeth so i cant afford it for many years either,dentist just wont take small installments over many years.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,535 ✭✭✭btkm8unsl0w5r4

CyberJuice wrote: »

Whats wrong with the chrome denture?

• Often dont look great
    • Have to be removed at night and to clean
    • Can get lost
    • Cause accelerated bone loss in the area making implant difficult in the future.
    • Cause plaque retention on your other teeth and associated gum problems.
    • Get stained and dirty over time.
    • Its a lot of hardware in your mouth for a couple of teeth.
    A chrome is a good denture, but really cant hold a candle to a fixed solution like implants.

ye the chrome denture or any denture is a real pain when its only 2 teeth im missing, if they were missing at the back i wouldnt even bother with anything its just the fact they are my top 2 front teeth.

would any of ye recommend getting 1 implant done this year and another the following year?

also would these implants take a bang to the mouth and remain in place? i play a lot of sports and the last thing i would want is to get them knocked out after paying a load of money for them... i paid big money for crowns when i originally got my 2 teeth broken but they came out quite easy even with a gum-shield in my mouth! i think i got about 5 months from the crowns a pure waste of money and they actually cost me my 2 front teeth.

last question, what about travelling abroad im hearing places like hungary etc offer cheap implants... anyone have any advice on this?

cheers for the help again

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,240 ✭✭✭Oral Surgeon

would any of ye recommend getting 1 implant done this year and another the following year?

No, this is not ideal.
    also would these implants take a bang to the mouth and remain in place?

They are made of titanium but your bone is just as likely to break around your implant screws as bone around your tooth roots if given a strong enough bang...
    The crowns screwed or cemented on top of the implant screws should be way more retentive than the crowns on your natural teeth and should withstand a blow (but I wouldn't go testing them..)
    A gumshield for sports should protect you....

last question, what about travelling abroad im hearing places like hungary etc offer cheap implants... anyone have any advice on this?

Please don't, they are both cheap and crap, there are multiple threads on this topic here already. If you can't afford to get a good job done now, then don't get a bad job instead as it ireversibly damages the implant sites meaning that you are doomed to having a bad looking restoration there forever, even if you won the lotto after that.... Do it once and do it right....

Good luck,
    OS

No, this is not ideal.

They are made of titanium but your bone is just as likely to break around your implant screws as bone around your tooth roots if given a strong enough bang...
    The crowns screwed or cemented on top of the implant screws should be way more retentive than the crowns on your natural teeth and should withstand a blow (but I wouldn't go testing them..)
    A gumshield for sports should protect you....

Please don't, they are both cheap and crap, there are multiple threads on this topic here already. If you can't afford to get a good job done now, then don't get a bad job instead as it ireversibly damages the implant sites meaning that you are doomed to having a bad looking restoration there forever, even if you won the lotto after that.... Do it once and do it right....

Good luck,
    OS

cheers makes a lot of sense alright, if i hadn't a loan already i would of took one out for them.

guess its a long wait for me so, hopefully i could find someone in ireland who would do both for around 3000 maybe they will come down in price who knows.

thanks for the help lads

cheers makes a lot of sense alright, if i hadn't a loan already i would of took one out for them.

guess its a long wait for me so, hopefully i could find someone in ireland who would do both for around 3000 maybe they will come down in price who knows.

thanks for the help lads

They have come down in some clinics and are likely to come down in others but I think that €3000 for 2 fully restored implants and likely bone graft is very ambitious....

Good luck,
    OS

• Have to be removed at night and to clean
    • Cause accelerated bone loss in the area making implant difficult in the future.
    • Cause plaque retention on your other teeth and associated gum problems.

can you to into further detail on this please?

can you not sleep with the denture in? if you do does it cause any problems?

Plaque retention and gum problems?ive never heard of plaque retention,and what gum problems do you mean?

why would it accelerate the bone loss?

CyberJuice wrote: »
    can you to into further detail on this please?

can you not sleep with the denture in? if you do does it cause any problems?

Plaque retention and gum problems?ive never heard of plaque retention,and what gum problems do you mean?

why would it accelerate the bone loss?

Dentures cover your gum and palate from the protective cleansing action of saliva and mechanical cleansing from certain foods etc...
    Leaving dentures in all day and night is the oral equivalent of wearing your shoes and socks all day and night...
    The result is denture stomatitis which is a mix of fungal infection and minor trauma....

All of this can be prevented by leaving the denture out and in a cleansing solution at night. This ensures that the denture is regularly cleansed of the bulk of the bugs and that your saliva gets the chance to bathe the mouth...

A mobile, ill-fitting or gum supported denture can cause underlying bony resorption as the gum and bone do not want to be put under compression. It's not just that a denture will speed up bone loss but also that placing implants has the function of halting bone loss in that region...

OS

iv decided i am going to go abroad for the 2 implants, they cost way too much here its a bit of a joke how dentists are getting away with charging a good bit more than the rest of europe.

the way i look at it is, there not cowboys over in the likes of budapest etc there all qualified most have done similar training to irish dentists who knows they could be even better.

i think its a bit unfair to try and steer people clear of dental treatment abroad when people living in these countries go to these dentists regularly as we do ours, how can you justify paying 5 grand here when you can the same job done for 2500 or 3 grand.

obvously not all of them are cowboys but some would be,you just need to do proper research,get some references and such,take your time,dont just pick the first clinic with a nice website you come across

of course irish dentists will tell you not to go abroad,they need to make money dont they lol..
    but in all fairness the dentists on this forum are great guys and they obviously do top notch work,they know the trade and how it works and they have had patients come to them to get fixed up after goin to get cheap work done in europe.. mayb pm fitzer or oral surgeon and you could talk with them privately about exactly how much it may cost you to get it done here and then you can decide if plane tickets and spending money/accomodation and other expenses of doing it abroad are worth it..

remember that with implants youll need mayb 2 trips to the country,its a timely process over a good few months, all of the plane tickets might not make it that much cheaper

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,926 ✭✭✭davo10

iv decided i am going to go abroad for the 2 implants, they cost way too much here its a bit of a joke how dentists are getting away with charging a good bit more than the rest of europe.

the way i look at it is, there not cowboys over in the likes of budapest etc there all qualified most have done similar training to irish dentists who knows they could be even better.

i think its a bit unfair to try and steer people clear of dental treatment abroad when people living in these countries go to these dentists regularly as we do ours, how can you justify paying 5 grand here when you can the same job done for 2500 or 3 grand.

Can you justify your wages/benefits here when people in other countries are paid a fraction of these?. mufcboy, if you post the sector you work in or if you are recieving benefits then it is easy to find the amounts paid to similar recipients in foreign countries. If someone doing your job is paid half what you are, would you then accept that you are overpaid and willingly take a 50% paycut?.

Remember, you are not a patient of any of the dentists who post here so we have nothing to gain by advising you not to go, our clinic makes a tidy profit from redoing the work so off you go.

Dental implants should be expensive (by the standards of expense of where they are done) if done properly. Doing advanced work while on holidays without adequate planning , in short time periods and without proper aftercare is not a good move. Search the forum for the many cases we have posted of what happens. Start here http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=2056058173&page=2

If you muck this up your in for a lifetime of problems, best wait until you can afford somebody good to do the job rather than get it done to a less than ideal standard on a budget.

As Davo10 says I do a fair bit of remedial work, and its only after that people realize how stupid have advanced work done in another country is.

The point is they can't be all bad, just because something is cheaper it doesn't always mean the job will be worse.

For every horror story there's a success story to match it, it's the same here in Ireland, I spent big money on crowns which were a terrible job and I was told id pretty much I'd have to make do with them, a few months later with a gumshield I get a bang and before you know it there pulling my teeth fitting me for a denture over a shabby job that cost me thousands and that was done right here in Ireland.

Even the Uk offer cheaper packages than Ireland and surely there standard is the equifilants of irelands?

The point is they can't be all bad, just because something is cheaper it doesn't always mean the job will be worse.

For every horror story there's a success story to match it,

178001.jpg

are you a dentist here in ireland oral surgeon? the name more than likely says you are but just encase...

Yes
    178005.png

Yes
    178005.png

oh look we have a sarcastic cat on board by the looks of things ha, grow up you do relise your just making yourself come across ignorant.

doesn't surprise me in the least that your against people going abroad for treatment, i hope you don't talk to your customers with an attitude like that towards people seeking a cheaper service.

oh look we have a sarcastic cat on board by the looks of things ha, grow up you do relise your just making yourself come across ignorant.

doesn't surprise me in the least that your against people going abroad for treatment, i hope you don't talk to your customers with an attitude like that towards people seeking a cheaper service.

Actually, it is your good self who looks ignorant....
    I have posted some good sound advice of what is in your best clinical interests, you are the one who is ignorant of the difference between a good job and a cheap job.

It doesn't hurt my feelings that people go abroad for treatment atall, I have enough patients who are willing to spend their time and money getting a good and long-term treatment. Half of my implant practice is re-treatment of mostly foreign treatments (due to the nature of treatments- this is usually far more expensive than the "great deal" they got abroad and more expensive than what the initial treatment would have been with me had they not gone abroad)

Sure we all want value for money but you are just measuring that on initial cost alone.
    If a crown cost €100 and lasted one year, it is still "more expensive" than a crown costing €1000 that lasts 15 years...!! Furthermore, a poorly fitting crown can't be just replaced easily the next time, usually if poorly fitting there will be defects at the margins, extra decay/ gum disease/ nerve/pulp death... so the re-treatment with be more difficult again and more expensive and you may lose the tooth and you'll be kicking yourself.... but why would I be telling you this, of course it's because I am ignorant and greedy not because I actually give a crap about my patients and their care.....

OS

You can get good and bad jobs done everywhere, good jobs tend not to be fast or cheap anywhere. Don't risk a lifetime of trouble on advanced treatment if you are not 100% sure you will receive the best care and good aftercare. Just to reiterate this good care and aftercare will be neither cheap nor fast. Use your common sense and ask yourself what level of risk you will accept. Also what level of aesthetics you require.

Think this thread is done. Closed.

Never mind, I posted this ages ago.