Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Offensive weapon charge

• 11-10-2011 12:08pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 74 ✭✭

I need help..bad! This is my story..

I've been sent a summons to appear in court over an offensive weapons charge that happened in Dec 2010.
    I had 2 cannisters of Incapacitating spray in the door pocket of my car at the time when I was pulled over and searched.

Why did I have the spray?

Well basically there is this absolute nutjob out to hurt and intimidate me, for absolutely NO REASON whatsoever! I have already had numerous altercations with him. From him punching off my wing mirror as i drove past in my car (June 09), to headbutting me in a bar fracturing my nose and then chasing me down the street screaming racist **** just because im tanned ( Nov 09).. This is only 2 of them!
    All the incidents were reported to the guards and NOTHING has happened to this date as far as I know!
    So my sister in america gave me some self defence spray in the summer of 2010 as she knew, and so did everyone in my family, that I was and still am living in fear for my life, every single day, walking the streets day or night, always worrying if I will bump into this physcho on the streets.
    On a night in Dec 10 i was pulled over and searched by an unmarked squad car, I was arrested and my car was confiscated. I spent about 5 hours in a cell.

I am by no means big, I'm pretty much a little below average built and with a clean record with no incidents with the gaurds before and the physcho is a pure knacker with muscles. I am no trouble maker, I am just living in fear..

I honestly don't know what to do, I can't stand up to this guy , I've reported it to the guards and they've done nothing to this date and yet when I try to protect myself with the spray they have the time to issue legal proceedings and summons me before the courts...

Any advice for me please? Will have to try scrape some money for a solicitor now which leaves me with more stress.. :(

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators Posts: 23,243 Mod ✭✭✭✭godtabh

Contact a solicitor. They might know a thing or two about it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,991 ✭✭✭McCrack

What are the circumstances of you getting stopped and searched? You say you have had no dealings with the Gardai so why were you stopped and searched? On what grounds did Gardai search you car? Did you give them permission?

They are the first issues I would look at. If it were to turn out to be a legal search I am not sure you have any defence to the charge I'm afraid.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,622 ✭✭✭✭coylemj

He knocked off your wing mirror and smashed your nose, what did you do about those incidents?