Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

drivers that don't dip lights

• 10-10-2011 8:31pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 688 ✭✭✭

Was driving home this evening and came up behind another car it was doing 50 kph in a 80 kph ,so waited till it was safe and overtook the other car when i got to the broken white line ,but when i passed he left his highbeam lights on blinding me :( , any of you guys come across drivers like this before.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,157 ✭✭✭✭Alanstrainor

People are idiots, simple as that really!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,069 ✭✭✭✭CiniO

maxfresh wrote: »
    Was driving home this evening and came up behind another car it was doing 50 kph in a 80 kph ,so waited till it was safe and overtook the other car when i got to the broken white line ,but when i passed he left his highbeam lights on blinding me :( , any of you guys come across drivers like this before.

Yes, everyday.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,930 ✭✭✭✭challengemaster

That's why rear fog lights were invented :D :pac:

I tried it few times.
    It never worked.

(I mean rear fog worked, but the driver didn't understand the allusion)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 688 ✭✭✭maxfresh

ye ,tried that one ,didnt work he only dipped them as oncoming traffic approached :mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,661 ✭✭✭Voodoomelon

Flip between your indicators a few times or a flick of the fogs sorts that out in most cases.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,930 ✭✭✭✭challengemaster

Whats worse is if they've misaligned headlights, which seemingly about 50% of the country do.

Only thing you can do is put some distance between ye, loving the BMW auto-dim rear view though, no more issues :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 677 ✭✭✭dougie-lampkin

What's worse are the drivers who keep a respectable distance behind you, but still think they can use full beams as if there's no car in front, especially on the motorway. They're close enough to blind you, but too far away to repay the favour with the rear fog light or indicators :mad:

One of these days I'm going to put a 100W headlight bulb in my fog light :P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,080 ✭✭✭✭Big Nasty

This thread ain't gonna last long, especially after this comment, but I learned proper motorway driving in Germany more than 10 years back and have driven all day every day with both my dips and fogs on full time ever since.

MCMLXXV wrote: »
    This thread ain't gonna last long, especially after this comment, but I learned proper motorway driving in Germany more than 10 years back and have driven all day every day with both my dips and fogs on full time ever since.

You learned to drive all the time with your fog lights on in Germany?

i drive with dipped headlights all the time aswell ,but only the fog lights when theres fog

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,025 ✭✭✭✭-Corkie-

OMG Foglights...:D:D:D

CiniO wrote: »
    You learned to drive all the time with your fog lights on in Germany?
    i drive with dipped headlights all the time aswell ,but only the fog lights when theres fog
    -Corkie- wrote: »
    OMG Foglights...:D:D:D

Yes, full time all day every day!

Been doing it since about '97.

Love me for it doodles! :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,577 ✭✭✭✭bucketybuck

Your headlights are probably out of alignment. I bet you were blinding the poor fellow when you were behind him, and so when you passed he rightly thought "**** you" and left his headlights on full. The fact he was dipping for oncoming traffic confirms this.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,857 ✭✭✭langdang

Only thing you can do is put some distance between ye
    Ya, they're usually dawdlers anyway. Belt away at a normal speed for the road and conditions and they'll be outta your hair soon enough

If they're not dawdlers and seem to functioning at a normal human level, then maybe your lights are misaligned.

If you have scattery glarey 1Gw eBay HIDs, then the other driver is quite simply stunned by your awesomeness and wants to follow you home to worship you as a god.

I'm only surprised, that you learned it in Germany, as their police would be very strict about incorrect usage of lights.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,445 ✭✭✭Absurdum

you're the worst person in the history of humanity!!!!!!

Absurdum wrote: »
    you're the worst person in the history of humanity!!!!!!

Love me for it man! :p

I'm only surprised, that you learned it in Germany, as their police would be very strict about incorrect usage of lights.

To be fair the E30 I had in Germany had no front fogs but driving there did teach me to drive with lights on full time. The front fogs bit I added myself in sucessive cars for 'cool factor'! :pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,445 ✭✭✭Absurdum

The front fogs bit I added myself in sucessive cars for 'cool factor'! :pac:

you've been vindicated by some manufacturers fitting DRLs down there too!

Damn straight - if Audi can run with silly bright DRL's there's nothing wrong with my fogs! They're not spots so blind no-one and make me look Uber Kool! :pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,096 ✭✭✭johnos1984

Damn straight - if Audi can run with silly bright DRL's there's nothing wrong with my fogs! They're not spots so blind no-one and make me look Uber Kool! :pac:
    I always put the rear one on in rain so they can see the back of my car :pac:

Your headlights are probably out of alignment. I bet you were blinding the poor fellow when you were behind him, and so when you passed he rightly thought "**** you" and left his headlights on full. The fact he was dipping for oncoming traffic confirms this.

no car just been serviced and passed nct so i dont think so

To be fair the E30 I had in Germany had no front fogs but driving there did teach me to drive with lights on full time. The front fogs bit I added myself in sucessive cars for 'cool factor'! :pac:

So in short words - you learned to use your dipped headlights in Germany, and then in Ireland you added foglights to it ;)

:D:D:D:D

So in short words - you learned to use your dipped headlights in Germany, and then in Ireland you added foglights to it ;)

:D:D:D:D

Pretty much yeah - and fcuk the begrudgers!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,661 ✭✭✭Voodoomelon

If anything, the fogs on the front of E38s aren't dazzling in the slightest, i've seen my car come at me before and stood infront of it when they're on and they're dim at best.

I've also got mine booked in on Wednesday for alignment to make sure they're set for the winter, the driver side seems very low.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,015 ✭✭✭✭Mc Love

Before this gets locked for talking about foglights, foglights are for use in foggy conditions. They arent DRL's!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,191 ✭✭✭_Conrad_

I tried it few times.
    It never worked.

(I mean rear fog worked, but the driver didn't understand the allusion)

Used to have two vehicles for work with a row of spot lights at the front and also floodlights at the rear on both vehicles. Now not that i'd condone everyone "fighting back" with extremely powerful spotlights, but there were a few people who quickly regretted driving behind me with full lights on or refusing to dip the lights when approaching. Being a bit of a d*ck by blinding them back i know, but feck them they brought it on themselves.

It is however an antisocial and possibly illegal response but an amusing one and satisfying when they've really annoyed you

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,875 ✭✭✭✭MugMugs

DRL's are just that and Fog lights are for fog.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,180 ✭✭✭Mena

Took my car to a well known BMW dealership for a service two weeks ago, asked them to align the headlights as well.

Got a call back an hour or two after dropping it off, they wanted to know why I needed the lights aligned if it was not due the NCT for another 15 months. They seemed confused by the request...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,822 ✭✭✭✭EPM

I can't see the light from the fog.

Closed.