Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Should DB bring back bus conductors?

• 10-10-2011 4:48pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,295 ✭✭✭

Cost aside, a lot to be said for conductors:

- Less dwell time at stops, resulting in a faster service
    - Customers can board and disembark quicker, providing an improved customer experience
    - Less anti social behaviour on buses, again improving customer experience

What would rolling out a fleet of conductors add to the fare price?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,463 ✭✭✭CIE

Easy now; next thing you know, you'll have the consultants recommending that DB be converted to POP. Then things will get yet messier.

I remember the days of conductors well. The buses were a great deal faster, especially when it came to dwell times. If you had a tough conductor, he also quietened down the rowdy ones in split seconds. Although I do have to wonder why they didn't use both doors for entrance and exit at all stops on the dual-door buses while they still had conductors; the only time you could get to use the centre door was at the city centre terminus' set-down locations, for exit alone. (Then again, I'm old enough to remember the R-class, RA-class and R900-class of buses, and miss them quite a bit.)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,500 ✭✭✭✭cson

[a] No.

Probably a lot seeing as you'd have to hire a huge amount of people at a time when DB are letting people go.

Totally inefficient and costly idea I'm afraid OP.

DB should have kept the double doors on all buses for boarding efficencies, introduced and Oyster type card and standard fare of €3 along with proper revenue protection officers a lá Luas. But I guess that's a debate for another day.

Revenue protection officers = just as much money spent as on conductors, especially if you want to maximise fare recovery. Depending on how rowdy the passengers are, additional training to restrain passengers that engage in so-called "antisocial behaviour" means even more money out of the Exchequer.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,012 ✭✭✭✭thebman

Stop taking coins on the bus unless ticket machine is broken at stop, install ticket machines at stops with CCTV.

Vast majority of people would pre-purchase properly and use the ticket machine and if the machine is broken, you still have coin option as backup.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,258 ✭✭✭✭Losty Dublin

While it will reduce down time at stops, bus conductors need space to walk around on board which means less people standing on board which means less capacity on routes and slightly less revenue. At a stroke, it means a huge increase in staffing numbers as all buses will require a second man on board; can you see DB doing that given the current economy drive?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 45 dunnariogh

dont forget the old"45 go ahead" scam conductors were doing.

thebman wrote: »
    Stop taking coins on the bus unless ticket machine is broken at stop, install ticket machines at stops with CCTV.

Vast majority of people would pre-purchase properly and use the ticket machine and if the machine is broken, you still have coin option as backup.
    Someone likes the surveillance state. And ticket machines are enough of an infrastructure cost as it is.
    While it will reduce down time at stops, bus conductors need space to walk around on board which means less people standing on board which means less capacity on routes and slightly less revenue. At a stroke, it means a huge increase in staffing numbers as all buses will require a second man on board; can you see DB doing that given the current economy drive?
    That was helped in the past by adding buses when they filled up at termini or intermediate city-centre points (there was a reason for the old "Bus Full" sign), and the minimum-fare system. If it increases reliability, besides, it'll be a plus that does attract car drivers to the bus system. (Then again, we can all wait to see if a "congestion charge" abomination reaches Dublin as well...)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,176 ✭✭✭✭billyhead

CIE wrote: »
    Someone likes the surveillance state. And ticket machines are enough of an infrastructure cost as it is.That was helped in the past by adding buses when they filled up at termini or intermediate city-centre points (there was a reason for the old "Bus Full" sign), and the minimum-fare system. If it increases reliability, besides, it'll be a plus that does attract car drivers to the bus system. (Then again, we can all wait to see if a "congestion charge" abomination reaches Dublin as well...)

Do they not still operate on buses. I don't use the bus regularly myself but was wondering then who checks if a customer has a valid ticket for the journey, and what about the machine swipe cards. Some users of the bus may be using a student pass rather then the normal adult ticket etc

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,096 ✭✭✭✭the groutch

dunnariogh wrote: »
    dont forget the old"45 go ahead" scam conductors were doing.

you'll have to clue us in on that one

billyhead wrote: »
    Do they not still operate on buses. I don't use the bus regularly myself but was wondering then who checks if a customer has a valid ticket for the journey, and what about the machine swipe cards. Some users of the bus may be using a student pass rather then the normal adult ticket etc
    Sounds like you're talking about inspectors. Back in those days, you had both conductors and inspectors; the latter would board buses at random intervals/locations and punch tickets that conductors issued.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 45 dunnariogh

you'll have to clue us in on that one
    Back in the day of conductors,fiddling was rife among conductors,if the fare was say 65p,you would say 45 go ahead,and hed take the cash and not issue a ticket in the hope an inspector wouldnt get on.

dunnariogh wrote: »
    Back in the day of conductors, fiddling was rife among conductors, if the fare was say 65p, you would say 45 go ahead, and he'd take the cash and not issue a ticket in the hope an inspector wouldn't get on
    Doesn't sound like too smart of a scam. If they had gone with flat fares back in those days, skimming couldn't be too easily done for sure.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 540 ✭✭✭spareman

Ever since I became a bus driver with Dublin Bus, I've always said that getting rid of conductors was a mistake in terms of the rampant anti social behaviour and fare evaison I've witnessed from the cab, On some route's I've worked I believe a conductor would more than pay for himself with regard to fare evasion, Dwell times at stops is not so much an issue I think, over a complete journey you might only save 4/5 mins.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 889 ✭✭✭stop

I'd prefer to see a proper transport police.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,009 ✭✭✭✭Run_to_da_hills

Conductors are also useful for counting skulls. :p

• Moderators, Motoring & Transport Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 23,279 Mod ✭✭✭✭bk

n97 mini wrote: »
    Cost aside, a lot to be said for conductors:

- Less dwell time at stops, resulting in a faster service
    - Customers can board and disembark quicker, providing an improved customer experience

A flat fare with smart card will give you the same at much less cost.
    n97 mini wrote: »
    - Less anti social behaviour on buses, again improving customer experience

Maybe, but then in these days of health and safety mania, they would end up demanding stab proof vests and be under strict instructions not to tackle anti social behavior.
    stop wrote: »
    I'd prefer to see a proper transport police.

Agreed this is the real solution to anti social behaviour.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 19,986 ✭✭✭✭mikemac

I used to get the 78A :(
    I would consider getting an annual pass again if Dublin Bus got in STT, the lads that Irish Rail and the Luas use

You don't even need them that long
    The scum are not up before noon ;)

Some security guards and you'd attract people back who pay several hundred for that annual ticket
    It would pay for itself

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,102 ✭✭✭✭Del2005

mikemac wrote: »
    I used to get the 78A :(
    I would consider getting an annual pass again if Dublin Bus got in STT, the lads that Irish Rail and the Luas use

You don't even need them that long
    The scum are not up before noon ;)

Some security guards and you'd attract people back who pay several hundred for that annual ticket
    It would pay for itself

STT can do nothing as they are civilians, the Luas Red line hasn't improved since they came along.

We need transport police to remove or arrest trouble makers.

I'd prefer to see a proper transport police
    That's more money from the exchequer spent on personnel. Coulda spent it on conductors. Also sounds like another call for increasing the surveillance state...makes one want to drive.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,537 ✭✭✭✭Cookie_Monster

That's more money from the exchequer spent on personnel.

not necessarily, turn the traffic corps into transport police and have them do something useful rather than sit on motorways collecting speeding fines

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,912 ✭✭✭galwaycyclist

not necessarily, turn the traffic corps into transport police and have them do something useful rather than sit on motorways collecting speeding fines

The thought occurs that one of main reported forms of anti social behaviour associated with DB is aggressive behaviour by the drivers towards cyclists in bus lanes. If we had transport police on the buses would this help stop that?

I'd prefer to see a proper transport police
    That's more money from the exchequer spent on personnel. Coulda spent it on conductors. Also sounds like another call for increasing the surveillance state...makes one want to drive.
    No it's a call for a proper unit of Gardai that are mandated to deal with public transport with the power of arrest who will not have the fear of H&S behind them as conductors would.

No it's a call for a proper unit of Gardai that are mandated to deal with public transport with the power of arrest who will not have the fear of H&S behind them as conductors would
    How often are you claiming the "power of arrest" needs to be invoked on the buses? Still sounds very police-state-like. Thanks, but I'll drive.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,295 ✭✭✭n97 mini

I would agree, and I think it's a crazy situation that we don't have transport police. But then again we've a history of thinking we know better than everyone else.

But I still think we need conductors again.

No it's a call for a proper unit of Gardai that are mandated to deal with public transport with the power of arrest who will not have the fear of H&S behind them as conductors would
    How often are you claiming the "power of arrest" needs to be invoked on the buses? Still sounds very police-state-like. Thanks, but I'll drive.
    No problem, the traffic corp anpr vehicles an cameras will find it easier to track you on the roads if you fear the police state that much.

On topic I have witnessed several incidents over the years that would warrant a proper transport police, from drunks, junkies, assaults, vandalism, not to mention we might finally see enforcement of the smoking ban.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,102 ✭✭✭✭Del2005

The thought occurs that one of main reported forms of anti social behaviour associated with DB is aggressive behaviour by the drivers towards cyclists in bus lanes. If we had transport police on the buses would this help stop that?

That's the Gardaí's job already, but we are talking about anti social behaviour on public transport, which is the Gardaí's job also but far from their priority.
    How often are you claiming the "power of arrest" needs to be invoked on the buses? Still sounds very police-state-like.

Well if some scumbag is chasing the dragon and trying to blow it into the cab of the driver I'd say that's an arrestable offence and that's only some of the problems on the Red Line. I'm sure our bus driving posters could tell other better stories.
    Thanks, but I'll drive.

That's part of the problem, scum have taken over some of our public transport making people want to drive and a large part of our population can't or don't want to drive all the time.

A proper transport police would improve our public transport and make it a viable option for more people.