Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Who is gonna be our President???

• 09-10-2011 9:18pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 53 ✭✭

Is it Michael D or Sean Gallagher?
    Give us one name of you u think will be our next president???
    I think Gallagher is good value at 2 to 1.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,758 ✭✭✭✭TeddyTedson

It will be Michael D unless someone gets some real big dirt on him.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,578 ✭✭✭jonniebgood1

I think it will be Michael D.

He is the least questionable of any of the candidates IMO at this stage.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 763 ✭✭✭brownswiss

I think Sean Gallagher FF will make it.... The FF voters are more loyal this time for some strange reason.

A strange bunch of candidates running for such a prestigious post so if one of them ( like gallagher ) does not evoke to much derision they might just slip in.........

it will be difficult to look at any of them for the next 7 yrs and think of what they are costing us.....

When you see the likes of dana and davis pumping in over €300000 to try and get the job do you wonder what strings they can pull and doors they can open for their family and friends.....

Look what Davis could do for herself and her husband through her FF links so one can only imagine how she could use the position of president..

They are all in it for themselves and all this waffle about their vision is pure s...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,774 ✭✭✭raymon

I have ruled out Sean Gallagher because he is too dishonest .
    I have ruled out Mcguinness for obvious , IRA reasons.
    Norris shouldnt have written the letters.
    Dana Davis, and Mitchell are non runners.

That leaves Michael D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,012 ✭✭✭✭thebman

It will be Michael D unless someone gets some real big dirt on him.

Even if they did, the media would have to print/air it!!

I think they are so terrified that MMG might actually clinch it that they would be afraid to run any such article.

The media have their own agenda, it isn't always about making money.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,934 ✭✭✭RichardAnd

Michael D, as already stated by the above. It's not because he's necessarily wonderful, it's really more a case that he seems to be another Patrick Hillary; nice, quiet and non controversial, good presidential material.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 264 ✭✭harrythehat

Michael D.

He's a safe bet.

He's an intellectual, an experienced politicial, he's the only one with any amount of gravitas and what is more, he's a Galway man :)

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators Posts: 5,223 Mod ✭✭✭✭slowburner

Personally, I would not be happy with any of these candidates as my state representative.
    But then there is the worry that if there is a low turn out from the moderate electorate (those who see Michael D as the best of a bad lot), then there is every chance of an inappropriate person being elected.
    So Michael D will get my vote - not because I think he is the person for the job but purely to protect the role from the other candidates.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,799 ✭✭✭KELTICKNIGHTT

Michael D will win ,its for him to lose

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,589 ✭✭✭touts

Sean Gallagher will be destroyed by the end of the week because of his links to Fianna Failure. The Fine Gael attack dogs are after him now and they will find enough links to the galway tent crowd to just turn people off him.

Martin McGuinness is transfer toxic and while the membership of the IRA issue may be starting to become old news he still has to answer the question on why someone who does not live in this state and never paid tax in this state thinks he should be the head of this state.

Grey Mitchell is coming across as an angry bitter old man and on top of that there is a significant anti-Europe feeling out there so no MEP quisling will be put into the Aras. At thie point his seat in Europe has to be in play never mind the presidency.

David Norris should never have run. He was always a candidate the majority of people couldn't relate to with his constant referencing to Joyce and other long dead drugged up writers. He was a quaint character but people hesitated to think of him as president on TV making an eegit of himself and the country in some 1900 costume. Then the whole what age is the right age to start introducing boys to the gentle loving of a middle aged man just finished him. The letters and disability pension are adding insult to injury. If his seat was anywhere other than Trinity then he would be in danger of losing it in 5 years.

Dana is just plain nuts. Sure people don't like Europe but she would make people vote for Grey "Quisling" Mitchell just to avoid being tarnished with the looney brush. When she had so much difficulty clarifying if she is Irish, British or American then that just shows how little thought the woman has put into things. You know when her family campaign against her that something is wrong.

Mary Quango Davis has come across as a woman entirely devoid of any sense of reality. It's clear that her election posters were shot 8 years ago when she decided to run after the Special Olymipcs and the intervering years have not been kind. That was a mistake. She has traded everything on her membership of one successful quango but neglected to mention the 20+ other incomes she had from other Quangos of dubious track record and purpose. Her campaign is like Special-K. Tries to take all the credit for the hard work of a team effort but none of the blame when things goes wrong.

So it's Michael D for me. A return to a bland and forgettable presidency where the old man in the park totters around and shakes a few hands. However at this point there is no alternative. Bland, elderly, pointless. I'm voting for someone who seems nice among a pack of b******s.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,163 ✭✭✭✭Liam Byrne

Michael D.

He's a safe bet.

He's an intellectual, an experienced politicial, he's the only one with any amount of gravitas and what is more, he's a Galway man :)

Born on Limerick, actually - one of our own!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 67 ✭✭Cork guitarist

Do we have our very own Sarah Palin in Mary Davis? For instance, the same answer to every question eg What time is it Mary? "I feel I have the necessary experience and skills to answer that question." What's for dinner, Mary? "I feel, with my track record in experience and leadership skills, that I am the person to answer that question".......but still no answer.
    And, as mentioned, the posters. We've seen the air-brushed posters, and the red pencil dress, (David Norris? no...). Compare the poster on her website marydavis.ie with her 2011 picture on Wikipedia. Ugh!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 67 ✭✭Cork guitarist

Which would you vote for?
    What would the Advertising Standards Authority think?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,934 ✭✭✭RichardAnd

touts wrote: »
    Sean Gallagher will be destroyed by the end of the week because of his links to Fianna Failure. The Fine Gael attack dogs are after him now and they will find enough links to the galway tent crowd to just turn people off him.

Martin McGuinness is transfer toxic and while the membership of the IRA issue may be starting to become old news he still has to answer the question on why someone who does not live in this state and never paid tax in this state thinks he should be the head of this state.

Grey Mitchell is coming across as an angry bitter old man and on top of that there is a significant anti-Europe feeling out there so no MEP quisling will be put into the Aras. At thie point his seat in Europe has to be in play never mind the presidency.

David Norris should never have run. He was always a candidate the majority of people couldn't relate to with his constant referencing to Joyce and other long dead drugged up writers. He was a quaint character but people hesitated to think of him as president on TV making an eegit of himself and the country in some 1900 costume. Then the whole what age is the right age to start introducing boys to the gentle loving of a middle aged man just finished him. The letters and disability pension are adding insult to injury. If his seat was anywhere other than Trinity then he would be in danger of losing it in 5 years.

Dana is just plain nuts. Sure people don't like Europe but she would make people vote for Grey "Quisling" Mitchell just to avoid being tarnished with the looney brush. When she had so much difficulty clarifying if she is Irish, British or American then that just shows how little thought the woman has put into things. You know when her family campaign against her that something is wrong.

Mary Quango Davis has come across as a woman entirely devoid of any sense of reality. It's clear that her election posters were shot 8 years ago when she decided to run after the Special Olymipcs and the intervering years have not been kind. That was a mistake. She has traded everything on her membership of one successful quango but neglected to mention the 20+ other incomes she had from other Quangos of dubious track record and purpose. Her campaign is like Special-K. Tries to take all the credit for the hard work of a team effort but none of the blame when things goes wrong.

So it's Michael D for me. A return to a bland and forgettable presidency where the old man in the park totters around and shakes a few hands. However at this point there is no alternative. Bland, elderly, pointless. I'm voting for someone who seems nice among a pack of b******s.

For a country of 4 million people, don't you find it impressive that we've managed to throw forward such a circus? All we need in the mix now is Dustin.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,550 ✭✭✭Min

Michael D if people are stupid enough to vote for him.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,550 ✭✭✭Min

Do we have our very own Sarah Palin in Mary Davis? For instance, the same answer to every question eg What time is it Mary? "I feel I have the necessary experience and skills to answer that question." What's for dinner, Mary? "I feel, with my track record in experience and leadership skills, that I am the person to answer that question".......but still no answer.
    And, as mentioned, the posters. We've seen the air-brushed posters, and the red pencil dress, (David Norris? no...). Compare the poster on her website marydavis.ie with her 2011 picture on Wikipedia. Ugh!

I would worry if David Norris was in his election posters airbrushed wearing a red pencil dress.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,078 ✭✭✭✭LordSutch

Michael D or maybe Sean G

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,397 ✭✭✭Paparazzo

Well, I'm going for Michael D for reasons above. The other 6 arent up to the job

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,012 ✭✭✭✭thebman

Which would you vote for?
    What would the Advertising Standards Authority think?

Same thing they always think, nothing to see here :P