Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

The 24 hour hangover

• 09-10-2011 7:38pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,191 ✭✭✭✭Shanotheslayer

I've had one all day, in absolute tatters. Havn't drank in two weeks and me and the lads had a heavy session last night. Resulting in me coming home, ko'ing in bed.

Woke up and there was piss all on my floor. Don't even recall doing that. Rough day.

So Ah'ers, what do you do to help with the 24hour hangover?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,751 ✭✭✭Saila

water

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,342 ✭✭✭Bobby Baccala

hit myself with a hammer

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,779 ✭✭✭Spunge

take as many OTC and prescriptions medication one can find to sleep it off.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,606 ✭✭✭jaykay74

Lucozade and either a chinese or indian.

Lick your píss off the floor.

Should do the trick.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 12,333 ✭✭✭✭JONJO THE MISER

A hangover like that after one night?
    That only ever happens me after a 4-5 day session.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 692 ✭✭✭fuerte1976

a **** & a kebab, doesn't need to be in that order tho :eek:

• Administrators, Computer Games Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 32,669 Admin ✭✭✭✭✭Mickeroo

24 hour?? boo-hoo. Wait until the 48hour ones start.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,303 ✭✭✭Temptamperu

Moar booze.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 21,191 ✭✭✭✭Latchy

Kick the sluh you picked up last night out of bed ( yeah...yer wan there with the red hair , snoring her head off ) and get her to mop up the wee ...sluh

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,775 ✭✭✭✭kfallon

A hangover like that after one night?
    That only ever happens me after a 4-5 day session.

Yeah exactly! A 3 day session minimum for a hangover like that.

As for pissing on your floor OP, ffs :rolleyes:

**** your way out of it, tis your only man.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,191 ✭✭✭✭Shanotheslayer

kfallon wrote: »

As for pissing on your floor OP, ffs :rolleyes:

I'm convinced I did it in my sleep

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,775 ✭✭✭✭kfallon

I'm convinced I did it in my sleep

Wait til you find the shite in the oven :pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,399 ✭✭✭PARKHEAD67

I've had one all day, in absolute tatters. Havn't drank in two weeks and me and the lads had a heavy session last night. Resulting in me coming home, ko'ing in bed.

Woke up and there was piss all on my floor. Don't even recall doing that. Rough day.

So Ah'ers, what do you do to help with the 24hour hangover?
    Sometimes I overdo it.:DPissing on the floor though?Thats mad.Is you Ted by any chance?;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,842 ✭✭✭seanbmc

Things like these make you wonder why alcohol is a legal drug.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,625 ✭✭✭✭BaZmO*

seanbmc wrote: »
    Things like these make you wonder why alcohol is a legal drug.
    He was obviously spiked with some illegal drugs.

BaZmO* wrote: »
    He was obviously spiked with some illegal drugs.

That's a thing I never got, spiking people.You hear of people being spiked with E. I know plenty of people who would gladly pay for it, what's the point in someone spiking people when he can make money off the people who actually want to buy it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,318 ✭✭✭Fishooks12

seanbmc wrote: »
    That's a thing I never got, spiking people.You hear of people being spiked with E. I know plenty of people who would gladly pay for it, what's the point in someone spiking people when he can make money off the people who actually want to buy it.

So you can have sex with them

I was being sarcastic, and in a round about way agreeing with your point about it being strange that alcohol is legal.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,909 ✭✭✭✭Wertz

24 hrs? Lucky bollocks...wait till you're getting the 72hr crash in later life...
    It's put me off drinking almost completely bar very special occasions...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,783 ✭✭✭Hank_Jones

As I've got older the length of time bad hangovers last has lengthened considerably, had a rough three/four day hangover a while back.

Lesson learnt, don't consume vast amounts of all kinds of spirits.
    The horror. :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,551 ✭✭✭SeaFields

Chin up OP. I think we all have been victim of the phantom piss at some stage.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 325 ✭✭igorbiscan

Excercise,even if its only 10-15 minute walk,run,cycle, gets the blood pumping,get some fresh air in,will begin to straighten you out..really works for me,,.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 936 ✭✭✭leggit

****, run, fast food, sleep

If you're in a gym and it has a steam room/sauna that always does the trick

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 122 ✭✭Yeah Buddy

I drank a full bottle of vodka one night last week and didn't get a hangover. Don't plan on doing it again, but still...the joys of youth :)

leggit wrote: »
    If you're in a gym and it has a steam room/sauna that always does the trick
    I wouldn't recommend going into a steam room or a sauna if you've got a really bad hangover. One of the biggest contributory factors of a hangover is dehydration, so putting yourself in a position where you'll make yourself even more dehydrated is not a great idea.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,318 ✭✭✭Fishooks12

I remember the first 3 weeks of first year college.

I literally drank every week night for 3 weeks and became immune to hangovers.

However, the Friday night that I would come home I used to get the shakes and sweats and was unable to sleep. Really nasty stuff

Thankfully I began to concentrate on college for the next few years and now get rewarded for abstaining with a massive headache and a mouth like an ash tray after a night out

Drink as much water as you can handle before going to bed. Have 2 bottles of powerade in the fridge for when you wake up, (the electrolytes see)

If you feel really bad have a pukey, this really helps.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43,037 ✭✭✭✭SEPT 23 1989

igorbiscan wrote: »
    Excercise,even if its only 10-15 minute walk,run,cycle, gets the blood pumping,get some fresh air in,will begin to straighten you out..really works for me,,.

That would involve moving :confused:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 662 ✭✭✭fran oconnor

Go to the chemist and buy electrolytes, they are always a handy thing to have. I always find a good walk taking in some fresh air to be a great cure.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,851 ✭✭✭Cill Dara Abu

Water, water and more water.

hey everyone i drink loads so i can complain about it for days, i'm so cool

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 225 ✭✭Mister-M5

My method:

Dioralyte
    Greasy Fry/Take Away
    2 x Lucozade Sport
    Then just sip on water for the day

Usually works for me.

Or alternatively, if at all possible, jump into the sea.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,824 ✭✭✭ShooterSF

Whatever you do resist the urge to ****. You are trying badly to re-hydrate.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,681 ✭✭✭ColeTrain

The 24 hour hangover? What age are you, 16?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 671 ✭✭✭skipz

Find your self a ski slope!

I had the worst hangover in my life in Andorra.
    Sharted my pants, slipped countless amount of times on the ice, Pukin of the ski lift, fukin head was bouncing!
    One ski down the red track at about 65km/hr and was sorted! :pac::pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,825 ✭✭✭Fart

skipz wrote: »
    Find your self a ski slope!

I had the worst hangover in my life in Andorra.
    Sharted my pants, slipped countless amount of times on the ice, Pukin of the ski lift, fukin head was bouncing!
    One ski down the red track at about 65km/hr and was sorted! :pac::pac:

haha, no wonder you sharted your pants.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,574 ✭✭✭whirlpool

I've just come through a week-long hangover. I hadn't been out drinking in over three months (yes, you read correctly.)

Went out, pre-drank, then drank more. I clearly forgot how to drink and how to pace myself. Totally f**ked the process up. Can't remember 70% of the night, although I have it on good authority I didn't annoy anyone. Phew! That's generally my main fear, i.e. "the fear."

Was suffering for a good five days after. :-/

I've learned my lesson: don't leave it so long next time. :rolleyes:

P.S. Forgot to mention the 3-hour bus journey I undertook the next day. Worst bus journey of my life!! The bus was totally full. I was shaking, sweating, constantly mapping out in my head a flight-path to the on-board toilet. The people around me must have been thinking "WTF?!" I still can't believe I survived it. Very grateful for that. :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,494 ✭✭✭citizen_p

Water and food...
    man the fook up!

BaZmO* wrote: »
    I was being sarcastic, and in a round about way agreeing with your point about it being strange that alcohol is legal.

I wasn't disagreeing with you :pac:

You just reminded me of people spiking people with MDMA, etc.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 902 ✭✭✭DoneDL

Good sauna/steam room followed by plunge pool and if you`re still alive the rest will work itself out. Failing that McDonalds.

DoneDL wrote: »
    Good sauna/steam room followed by plunge pool and if you`re still alive the rest will work itself out. Failing that McDonalds.

Hangovers are mostly caused by dehydration, I don't think going to a sauna would be a great idea.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 884 ✭✭✭spider guardian

How about just drinking less? What good ever came out of being totally hammered?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,191 ✭✭✭✭Shanotheslayer

bluewolf wrote: »
    hey everyone i drink loads so i can complain about it for days, i'm so cool

Apparently I can't drink loads if I ended up with a hangover like that. I don't drink to get drunk, just happend unknown to me as I was having free beer all night and like anyone else would, I took full advantage.