Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

People taking stuff out of a skip on your property. Does it annoy you?

• 09-10-2011 02:47AM
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,724 ✭✭✭

Brother and myself were clearing out various stuff from the shed. Nothing of much value, just junk. While in the middle of it, a guy pulled up in his van and asked if we had any scrap or batteries. We didn't, asked did we want the skips taken, we didn't, as we have a guy coming already. Sound, he was polite etc. Went on his merry way.

The next day, my brother was doing some more clearing at the back of the house and went to the front to the skips and these two lads were taking stuff out of the skips. He said "what are yiz doing?" and they claimed they had knocked on the front door but nobody had answered. I thought it was the height of cheek, and fúcking dodgy that then proceeded to start going through our stuff. Granted it was all quite clearly in skip bags, but it was still coming onto our property (a car port) without our permission to take our stuff. He actually let them take a few bits and bobs but I was raging. This is in the context of a spate of break-ins the last while in the area including me catching someone in the gaff.

Anyway I don't know if I'm overreacting, what say you AHers?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,127 ✭✭✭✭Leeg17

Dey tuk er Junk!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,559 ✭✭✭Millicent

If you're happy to throw it out, why not be happy to give it away? Someone might get a use out of it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,228 ✭✭✭epgc3fyqirnbsx

That's happy days for you tbh
    Rubbish is expensive these days, they are welcome to it if I was in your boat
    I'd be more pissed off if they left rubbish into your properrty which is a lt more prevalent

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,609 ✭✭✭stoneill

They can have as much of the oul shíte crap that I'm throwing out as they like, as long as they don't make a mess and I don't see it a few weeks later dumped on waste ground near by.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 460 ✭✭murraykil

"coming onto our property (a car port) without our permission" = bad

"take our stuff [out of a skip]" = good

yin yang

Wheelie bin, which could contain bills, bank statements, etc. (though these usually get shredded before being binned) - I'd be annoyed.

Large skip, filled with random old crap I'm getting rid of - Take as much as you want, you're freeing up some space for me.

Maybe it's just my area, but I find the bigger problem is when someone gets a skip around here, every second cnut in the estate is throwing their old crap into it "ah sure seen as you have it handy, do you mind if I just throw my old mattress and cooker in?" - Feck off!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 662 ✭✭✭fran oconnor

I wouldn't be to put off by them taking stuff once they don't make a mess. I would never use any of these people that say they will take junk away for a small fee though, more times than not your old rubbish will end up on the side of a road and not disposed of in the right manner.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 325 ✭✭igorbiscan

Clearly they should've asked first,especially since the skip was on you're property..i mean if someone's having a root through your wheelybin you'd be fecked off...
    on the other hand,you're throwing it out so who give's a ****e?:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,724 ✭✭✭The Scientician

Yeah I just felt it was an invasion of privacy, and I know this is a silly hypothetical but had I a skip laid out and the scrap metal in a separate pill beside it to sell or otherwise give to someone, I've little doubt they'd have taken it and been on their way pronto.

I have to ask, why are wheelybins more sacrosanct than a skip? I kinda get it but why do you all think that would be less acceptable since it's all junk ultimately?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,915 ✭✭✭MungBean

Get it the whole time, have a fair bit of scrap about and there's been alot of people sniffing about. Asking if they can have it and poking through it, whether its in a skip, shed or back of the house. If it was in the front room they would be in rootin through it I'd say..

Put up a gate with private property on it and keep it closed as like yourself there's been a spate of robberies down this way (mostly oil being taken but also tools and trailers an the like) and some of em just open it, or jump over it and poke about.

I find though that if you give them nothing and make it clear they are not welcome on your property (just by not having much time for them) most dont usually make a habit of coming around again.

Hard to know whether its the same guys that are stealing stuff or not. Garda down here told a neighbour that was robbed that they had some leads and had recovered some stuff recently taken and it was young scumbag builder types.

Whoever it is knows what they are at and will have been on the property before. So if theres strangers pokin around your property where ya have stuff that could be taken then be very wary. 6 houses on my lane (back arse of nowhere) and 3 of them have been done, two of them more than once.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,559 ✭✭✭Millicent

Yeah I just felt it was an invasion of privacy, and I know this is a silly hypothetical but had I a skip laid out and the scrap metal in a separate pill beside it to sell or otherwise give to someone, I've little doubt they'd have taken it and been on their way pronto.

Fair point, actually, but I think once it's in a skip, it's safe to assume it's been chucked out. Anything valuable you had separated, you'd do well to keep inside. (Not saying that people should be trespassing--that's fecking annoying, but almost a certainty with a skip.)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 569 ✭✭✭CoolHat

I know what you mean OP.
    Like fair enough if someone asks first. Least they had to decency to ask. But most wouldnt ask, just take. Like those two blokes you mention (we both know they didnt knock on the door) ... So it is crossing a line. As if it was stuff people wanted you wouldnt of hired a skip. You would of just left it in the middle of the road for people to take.

While its bad. It has to be said dumping stuff in your skip is worse. Keep an eye out for that. Always one who wants to chance his arm dumping something at your expense.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 19,969 ✭✭✭✭mikemac

Hire a skip just after Christmas

You'll wake up and find it full of your neighbours Christmas trees

mikemac wrote: »

3. ?????

4. Profit!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,264 ✭✭✭✭Hobbes

mikemac wrote: »

Caught a neighbor trying something like that. When I asked what they were up to the answer was "Sure, its empty, there is loads of room".

When I asked them for cash towards the skip, they called me stingy.

Taking out, I don't have an issue with as long as I don't see it strewn across the road further away.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 60,305 Mod ✭✭✭✭Wibbs

Taking stuff fine, putting their crap into my skip, not so fine. Had one tosser of a neighbour who threw an old mattress and half a three piece suite(no, really, one chair and half a couch) into my skip in my driveway. I saw the bastard do it, so I just dumped it back in his driveway. He was not best pleased. The dick couldn't fathom why dumping his shíte in my skip might be an issue. Moron

Many worry about Artificial Intelligence. I worry far more about Organic Idiocy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 44,079 ✭✭✭✭Micky Dolenz

No problem with people taking rubbish, it's putting rubbish in that is annoying.

Top tip: always cover skip, if empty or half empty, stand a stepladder in it and then cover and tie. Looks full.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,145 ✭✭✭LETHAL LADY

When we hired out a skip recently our new neighbours asked could they put stuff into it. I told them to F**K OFF.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 773 ✭✭✭Wetai

"One man's thrash is another man's treasure"
    You were throwing it out anyways...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,159 ✭✭✭✭phasers

Little kids from around the estate climb into the skips and play in them here -.-

I've no problem with people taking stuff (I once found an awesome chair in a skip :cool:), it's people leaving stuff that annoys me.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,036 ✭✭✭cocoshovel

Ah, this brought back memories of when I was a child. If someone got a skip in the neighborhood we'd be all over it. It was like Christmas all over again.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,461 ✭✭✭dee.

When I was moving house earlier this year and having a big clear out, one of the neighbours had told her son we were having a clearout and he came knocking on the door saying he would take some of the stuff "off our hands" but he already taken several things from the garden. Turns out he was having a carboot sale. When he was going he even said he'd take our sofa despite none of us saying we were getting rid of it! Cheek.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,461 ✭✭✭dee.

cocoshovel wrote: »
    Ah, this brought back memories of when I was a child. If someone got a skip in the neighborhood we'd be all over it. It was like Christmas all over again.

LOL same. Or when we collected for bonfires and someone would throw out a book in perfect condition or a toy that was broken but still useable..those were the days.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 34,567 ✭✭✭✭Biggins

If they come up and clearly ask if they can take the stuff, as I'm throwing it out - fair enough but if they just decided to trespass on my property like its a public street then they can sod off!
    If they don't care for my property and show a bit of manners - they don't deserve to get rewarded with free stuff!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,822 ✭✭✭sunflower27

I don't see the problem. You don't want it anyway.

Maybe you are just annoyed that you actually paid for something and now even though you don't want it, you don't want others getting it for free.

Touch cookies :) Maybe you should just build a new shed and keep it all ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 69 ✭✭frozenbanana

JUst few monhs ago I saw two lads in court being convicted for taking stuff out of someone's skip. They actually got two convctions each, theft and trespass. So it's not only annoying but also illegal.

But at the end of the day, it's u to the homeowner whether it annos hm r not.

For me - in my driveway - keep away, or at least ask. Outside my prperty - it's a fair game.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,159 ✭✭✭✭phasers

If you're throwing stuff away, why would you care if someone else took it? Like who'd ring the gardai about someone taking junk out of a skip?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,036 ✭✭✭cocoshovel

phasers wrote: »
    If you're throwing stuff away, why would you care if someone else took it? Like who'd ring the gardai about someone taking junk out of a skip?

Im sure thats the last kind of shíte they want to deal with too, considering how under-staffed they are.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,952 ✭✭✭Lando Griffin

Skip free loaders are scum of the earth.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 44,079 ✭✭✭✭Micky Dolenz

Yeah, what a load of rubbish :p

• Closed Accounts Posts: 19,969 ✭✭✭✭mikemac

Any scrap boss?

Price of scrap metal these days can be sky high, there is money to be made from items in your rubbish

So maybe think about getting the money for yourself rather then giving it away

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,653 ✭✭✭✭amdublin

I would be delighted if someone took junk out of my skip.

And hence making space for me to throw more junk in.

Win win no?

Again if I had caught these people trespassing on my property, regardless of what they were doing, I would have confronted them and/or called the Guards on them. I caught a cúnt upstairs in my house last winter, I don't want people anywhere near my house unless they have a good reason to be.

FWIW, the car was parked in the driveway at an odd angle, and the skips were in the carport, so they had to negotiate their way in to get at the treasure. It's not the same as a skip lying out on the street. Then I wouldn't give a shoite and as others have said would have more of an issue with people putting their own stuff in it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,549 ✭✭✭✭cowzerp

If someone wants to take something and make more space in my skip for more rubbish then that's cool by me-it's not the same as someone rooting through your green bin possibly getting hold of bank details etc..

I like to recycle anyway so woulod rather someone use my old stuff than to see it thrown into a tip if possible.

Rush Boxing club and Rush Martial Arts head coach.

amdublin wrote: »
    I would be delighted if someone took junk out of my skip.

And hence making space for me to throw more junk in.

Win win no?

Yeah and if you ask me for permission to come into my carport and take it I might be delighted too. If you just start scuttling around on my property sans permission I'll be annoyed, hence the thread. :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,815 ✭✭✭imitation

Hang on, most people tend to have trouble stopping people from putting stuff into there skip.. I'm coming up with a business plan here !

1. Buy skip and locate it in an estate, more affluent the better.
    2. Wait for neighbours to fill it up with ****e
    3. Hang around the skip until some fella in a hiace shows up, charge him a few euros for the pleasure of rooting through it.
    4. Repeat until your a millionaire celeb, at which point you can bore the bollox offof people by appearing on RTE with your great ideas on how to fix the state of the country.

After having the house robbed last year and everything of value taken as well as every sentimental thing I owned, if I found a stranger on my property I would go for them with the hurl I bought after the robbery. Nothing makes me madder than these f**kers thinking they have a right to the stuff. It's my junk, my garden, now f**k off before I crack this hurley over your head.:mad::mad::mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,834 ✭✭✭Sonnenblumen

When we hired out a skip recently our new neighbours asked could they put stuff into it. I told them to F**K OFF.

How neighbourly:(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,481 ✭✭✭✭looksee

How neighbourly:(

No, how reasonable. If you have stuff to get rid of hire a skip. Your own skip.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,940 ✭✭✭4leto

Couldn't give a shyte they are wellcome to my junk.

But I a Taxi man who has no bins, he fill his neighbours bins up when he comes home late into the morning. That would drive me livid.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27 Insurance Works

Sounds pretty much like a win/win scenario to me. One mans rubbish is another mans treasure and all that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 513 ✭✭✭x_Ellie_x

What I really hate is when people get into my skip and start moving stuff about when I've specifically put all the stuff in it in such a way as to fit as much as possible in the skip. :mad:

Last time I had a skip I was woken up at 4am by 3 guys rummaging around in the skip. The only thing they took was a bag of clothes. I bet they got a big shock when they opened the bag of clothes. Our cat had given birth on the dirty clothes hamper & all the clothes were soaked in her blood. :eek: I hope it gave them a scare! :p

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,909 ✭✭✭✭Wertz

Gone are the days when you had to worry about f*ckers coming and filling your skip up with their crap before you got a chance to...now you leave it out front and they kindly remove some of the contents so you can get some more of your own junk in...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,235 ✭✭✭✭Cee-Jay-Cee

I was clearing the garage at my mothers house a few years ago and her neighbour came over and started taking out hlaf tins of paint and old golf clubs, a broken satellite dish and other junk. It amused me but didnt bother me as the skip was filling quickly and it meant i could get more into it. Then the next day my mums neighbour arrived with a friend of his and his friend started removing junk too. They took an old POS bike, old tyres and all sorts of rubbish. I was delighted.

Why on earth would it bother you if someone else wanted your junk. You clearly dont need it and they clearly do...would you rather it went to a land fill site than let someone get further use out of it?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,985 ✭✭✭Stovepipe

@scientician, I fully agree. Taking stuff out of a skip on the side of the road is one thing, strolling around your property is definitely out of order. Far too many burglaries going on to allow casual access by strangers.
    @4leto, how to deal with that taximan is to wait until you see him drop his trash into someone else's bin, film it and pass the gen to the bin owner(and put the video on YouTube). Alternatively, leave the trash back onto his windscreen.

regards
    Stovepipe