Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Tour of Beijing Stage 3 - Warning contains spoiler information

• 07-10-2011 8:33am
    Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators Posts: 11,669 Mod ✭✭✭✭

Stage 3 just finished

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 213 ✭✭The Crunch

Oops! Think I may have broken some sort of rule so I took the link out! Very excited...

For those who may be interested the Tour of Beijing is on Eurosport again at 12.30pm...

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators Posts: 11,669 Mod ✭✭✭✭RobFowl

Ag2r La Mondiale leader Nicolas Roche has turned around what has been a largely frustrating season for him by grabbing the first-ever WorldTour win of his career on day three of the Tour of Beijing. The 27 year old finished first into Yong Ning, outsprinting his compatriot Philip Deignan (RadioShack) to the line.

• Moderators, Politics Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 24,269 Mod ✭✭✭✭Chips Lovell

An Irish one-two. This is all kinds of awesome.

• Administrators, Social & Fun Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 78,456 Admin ✭✭✭✭✭Beasty

Thread title changed - now stage specific, and I'm removing the spoiler tags

• Closed Accounts Posts: 546 ✭✭✭elduggo

yeeehaaaaaa
    Roche will need a new edition of his book so he has more than just those junior wins to be talking about

I'm secretly disappointed that Deignan didn't take the win though. I've huge admiration for that guy

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,104 ✭✭✭morana

and its great for ranking points for the Olympics

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,669 ✭✭✭✭ednwireland

sounds like the highlights will be worth watching (8pm tonight eurosport)

great stuff

also ag2r were struggling to stay in the protour as they had so few ranking points this year, cant do deignan and roches confidence any harm either

ah theres the article
    Ag2r fighting to earn continued proteam status
    http://www.cyclingnews.com/news/ag2r-fighting-to-earn-continued-proteam-status

My weather

https://www.ecowitt.net/home/share?authorize=96CT1F

• Moderators, Politics Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 24,269 Mod ✭✭✭✭Chips Lovell

Delighted for Roche. He's had a miserable season and this goes some way towards rescuing it. Been a while since he's had a win too. I suspect it'll do his confidence a world of good.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators Posts: 11,669 Mod ✭✭✭✭RobFowl

Delighted for Roche. He's had a miserable season and this goes some way towards rescuing it. Been a while since he's had a win too. I suspect it'll do his confidence a world of good.

A stage in the Tour of Limosin 2008 was his last win !!

RobFowl wrote: »
    A stage in the Tour of Limosin 2008 was his last win !!

National Championships 2009 I believe.

Wasn't counting domestic races ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,524 ✭✭✭✭dastardly00

WOOOHOOO well done Nico! :)

he got a top 10 in the Stephen Roche GP in Meadowmount one year.

Thats almost as good as winning the national champs

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,268 ✭✭✭Decuc500

Fantastic result! Very happy for Roche. It's great to see Deignan doing well also. Hopefully next season as a team leader Deignan will have more good results.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,615 ✭✭✭Hail 2 Da Thief

Roche%20wins%20stage%203%20Tour%20of%20Beijing.jpg

293942_105912682852945_100003026418441_46877_70470392_n.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 492 ✭✭seven stars

Great news. I thought he was done for the season!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,147 ✭✭✭Morrisseeee

Live on Eurosport now, if you have a Sky account you can watch it on the Go.Sky.com website ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,615 ✭✭✭Hail 2 Da Thief

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,508 ✭✭✭Esroh

Great to see Nico win. And Philip showing he has recovered from all ills, hopefully he gets a good winter.

Sure I read somewhere the 2 and Dan are heading for Lombadry next week so all in good form.

Had link to last 10km but it not working

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,524 ✭✭✭✭dastardly00

Nico, Philip and Froome did amazingly well to hold off the peloton in the last few kilometres. It really didn't look like that they were going to be able to do it.
    Nico looks delighted with his win (stating the obvious), but it looks like he's just got rid of a big weight off his shoulders.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,511 ✭✭✭dave2pvd

Helluva TTT.

Nico almost celebrated too early - Deignan came close to pipping him.

Delighted to see Froome hold off the charging peloton.

I got the impression that Froome worked for PD/NR in that run in. Maybe some Euros changed hands? Or just credit in the bank?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,261 ✭✭✭Junior

dave2pvd wrote: »
    Helluva TTT.

Nico almost celebrated too early - Deignan came close to pipping him.

Delighted to see Froome hold off the charging peloton.

I got the impression that Froome worked for PD/NR in that run in. Maybe some Euros changed hands? Or just credit in the bank?

There was nearly a full bike length in it ? That's not nearly pipping him to me !

• Administrators, Social & Fun Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 78,456 Admin ✭✭✭✭✭Beasty

Then why did the 2 of them move to the other side of the road, stopping Froome getting back on their wheels? It seemed to me they were all working, and rightly so, otherwise none of them would have won it

Junior wrote: »
    There was nearly a full bike length in it ? That's not nearly pipping him to me !

TBF the straight on pictures do foreshorten it quite a lot.
    Well won and great result.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,511 ✭✭✭dave2pvd

Chaps, these are just theories. I'm not so invested in them that I'm going to spend time on a robust defense.

Great to see the 1-2. Love Roche's finish line celebration.

beijing_3_4922_600.jpg

beijing_3_4930_600.jpg

NotABikeLength.jpg

Great to see the 1-2. Love Roche's finish line celebration.

he has waited a long time for that one, onwards and upwards for both of them (hopefully)

My weather

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,831 ✭✭✭ROK ON

They both needed this, well done to them.
    It is always good to finish your season on a high regardless of sport/profession.

highlights on eurosport now

tob_stage_3_arrival_c_tim_de_waele_600.jpg

roche interview
    http://bcove.me/daro0kus

deignan interview
    http://bcove.me/u8oylc7v

My weather

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,031 ✭✭✭fat bloke

Woo hoo!
    That's fantastic.

Fair play to the 2 lads.

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 11,559 Mod ✭✭✭✭Hermy

Daniel Martin came in second according to RTE Radio 1 news at 11 this morning.:rolleyes:

Genealogy Forum Mod

Hermy wrote: »
    Daniel Martin came in second according to RTE Radio 1 news at 11 this morning.:rolleyes:

That's because they couldn't suss out how to view spoilers - bet they got it right once I removed them all;)

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 11,559 Mod ✭✭✭✭Hermy

I saved it to listen back in case I had misheard as Tony Martin is leading but quite a blatant error. It was also the last piece in the bulletin even though it was the only story of an Irish win.

EDIT: They had over an hour from the time you removed the spoilers and still they fecked up.

Genealogy Forum Mod

where are the spectators for this race? I thought I saw a few jammed behind a barrier at one point but can't be sure. Otherwise it was just lads with red hats spaced out too evenly to be cycling fans.

And as for that debacle at the finish with the dancing girls and the schoolkids with the flags (possibility these are robots).

Its not bike racing without the crowd. China needs to cop on

elduggo wrote: »
    where are the spectators for this race? I thought I saw a few jammed behind a barrier at one point but can't be sure. Otherwise it was just lads with red hats spaced out too evenly to be cycling fans.

And as for that debacle at the finish with the dancing girls and the schoolkids with the flags (possibility these are robots).

Its not bike racing without the crowd. China needs to cop on

I didn't just imagine it

http://www.cyclingnews.com/news/tour-of-beijing-slowly-opens-for-spectators

http://www.atwistedspoke.com/roche-saves-ag2r-in-china/
    How do you say “UCI points bonanza!” in Chinese?

The point-strapped AG2R sent a strong and desperate squad to the Tour of Beijing. The mandate: score points or no plane ticket back home. Team manager Vincent Lavenu even warned his French riders there would be no more breakfast croissants if they didn’t retain their ProTour status.

Well, mission accomplished. Nicolas Roche (Ag2r) beat Philip Deignan (RadioShack) and Chris Froome (Team Sky) to the finish line of stage three Men Tou Gou to Yong Ning Town. Crazy “points” party in Yong Ning tonight — there’s a thirty, happy Irishman in town.

Lavenu is now back at his computer with his special UCI point calculation software, running the improved set of numbers. By his previous assessment, AG2R was in a disturbing grey area between 15th and 20th on the totem pole. He was nearly forced to purchase the points with UCI president Pat McQuaid’s new “Pay For Points” program.

My weather