Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Ignorant receptionists

• 06-10-2011 6:15pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,574 ✭✭✭

Anybody, especially delivery people & couriers having trouble from ignorant or aloof receptionists. How do you deal with them without jeopordising your companys contract ?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,001 ✭✭✭Mr. Loverman

I would imagine you smile, get them to accept & sign for the package, and move onto the next job?

If you make any sort of scene you are the loser in the situation.

Maybe I am misunderstanding.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 130 ✭✭Larkenn

What exactly is the receptionist doing to annoy you so much? I can't really see anyway you can complain about a receptionist without getting someones back up in the company. The company will back their own staff in a dispute with a courier and you could jeopardise your contract.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,574 ✭✭✭Glencarraig

Well one particular person I have to deal with is truely obnoxious, you know the type, thinks she actually owns the company and looks at you as if you were something that came in on somebodys shoe, if she was EVER to smile then world peace would break out. As the first contact in a company she is a disaster, the only word I can use to describe her is totally ignorant. I may be "just a delivery driver" but I deserve some respect. I guarantee if I was to name the company I would get lots of people in here who would have had similar experiences with the same person......I almost typed lady there by mistake !

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,001 ✭✭✭Mr. Loverman

There is nothing you can do. Public facing jobs mean you have to deal with the public. As you know, many people are unhappy freaks.

Have pity for her, because in all likelihood she hates herself and is just taking it out on the world.

• Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 25,948 Mod ✭✭✭✭Neyite

Think of it this way - you get to drop stuff off and 5 mins later you dont have to see her for another while. Pity the poor sods that have to work with her every single day.

Seriously, how pathetic is she that the highlight of her day is being a b!tch to delivery staff

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,401 ✭✭✭evosteo

i love people like that, be happy and keep smiling, it will annoy the fuk out of them

makes my day

Well lads, I eventually decided that she must be going through "the change", you know, moody, flushed look, now perhaps she is concerned that at her age everything is "going south" and she cant handle that, but as she has been such a cow for the last 8 years I have been dealing with her I would hardly imagine that even "the change" could last that long!! I did have a conversation recently with a guy from a courier company and I posed the question "who is the bigget bitch of a receptionist you have come across" and yes you guessed it, no hesitation he said "yer wan in **** Ireland in S*******d

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,894 ✭✭✭Chinafoot

Well lads, I eventually decided that she must be going through "the change", you know, moody, flushed look, now perhaps she is concerned that at her age everything is "going south" and she cant handle that, but as she has been such a cow for the last 8 years I have been dealing with her I would hardly imagine that even "the change" could last that long!! I did have a conversation recently with a guy from a courier company and I posed the question "who is the bigget bitch of a receptionist you have come across" and yes you guessed it, no hesitation he said "yer wan in **** Ireland in S*******d

You're not exaclty painting yourself in a good light there either OP.

So she's a bitch. Either make a complaint about her to the company or just get on with your job. Posting on the internet about how she's a bitch because she's going through the menopause really just makes you look as nasty as you claim this woman is.

Why do you care what this woman thinks of you? You're a delivery driver, you deliver the goods and then you are on your way. Your interactions with this woman can't possibly be anything more than minimal.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 384 ✭✭hatetherain!

OP the best way to deal with people like that is to Kill Them With Kindness....it works everytime, be soooo nice and thankful to them and I gaurantee you, you will see a change in them! It might be hard for you to do but boy will you relish in the results!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,489 ✭✭✭sh1tstirrer

OP surely you mean arrogant. Ignorant means lack of education ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,502 ✭✭✭chris85

simple as she is your client if she says jump you say how high. That is the company-client relationship.

even for my normal having a laugh mentality you sound like an bit of an ass yourself. "The change", ah come on grow up and just get on with your job.

Yes I'm a delivery driver, I pride myself on being professional in my work, I think its only fair to expect the same from people I come into contact with, this receptionist is in my opinion anything but professional I would go as far as to say that her attitude is nothing short of disgraceful.

Perhaps I have been reading the signals wrong all the time, maybe I should buy her flowers and ask her out on a date, might be interesting to hear how her HRT and prozac programme is coming along!