Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Cloned Reg Plates.

• 06-10-2011 11:24am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 974 ✭✭✭

Don't know if this is the right place for this but I've recently gotten numerous fines for not paying my tolls on the M50. Only thing is that I live in Limerick and my car hasn't been in dublin since 2009!
    Had the car for sale on carzone and donedeal, pictures have the reg number.
    So someone living in dublin saw it and got copies of my reg plates made.
    Since I live and work in Limerick it's a bit easier for me to prove that it wasn't me. Still a lot of jumping through hoops and eflow are a pain in the a$$ to deal with.

Thought should give people a heads up especially those of you living in Dublin.

With the amount of places online selling reg plates its no wonder its not done more.

There are plenty of sites you can go to, type in a reg, pay with paypal and they will be out in the post in a couple of days.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,721 ✭✭✭E39MSport

See if you can spot a pattern in the toll times then come up to Dublin and hunt the fukker down ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 576 ✭✭✭turbodiesel

Remouad wrote: »
    Don't know if this is the right place for this but I've recently gotten numerous fines for not paying my tolls on the M50. Only thing is that I live in Limerick and my car hasn't been in dublin since 2009!
    Had the car for sale on carzone and donedeal, pictures have the reg number.
    So someone living in dublin saw it and got copies of my reg plates made.
    Since I live and work in Limerick it's a bit easier for me to prove that it wasn't me. Still a lot of jumping through hoops and eflow are a pain in the a$$ to deal with.

Thought should give people a heads up especially those of you living in Dublin.

Report it to the guards aswell, and modify your ad photos so you cant see the plates. If you cant edit them then retake the photos with the plates covered up.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 974 ✭✭✭Remouad

cisk wrote: »
    With the amount of places online selling reg plates its no wonder its not done more.

There are plenty of sites you can go to, type in a reg, pay with paypal and they will be out in the post in a couple of days.

I know you could get them in halfords not that long ago but I think they got in trouble for it and now you need proof.
    There really should be some restriction on getting them printed.
    E39MSport wrote: »
    See if you can spot a pattern in the toll times then come up to Dublin and hunt the fukker down ;)

There was kind of a pattern the journeys were all north bound.
    Report it to the guards aswell, and modify your ad photos so you cant see the plates. If you cant edit them then retake the photos with the plates covered up.

Garda report done and sent off. Had to send it to the traffic corp in phoenix park before eflow would leave me alone.

I've actually sold the car since. Was completely honest and told the person buying it all about it before they handed over the money. even gave them a copy of the Garda report. They just laughed about it.:confused:

As I said above just wanted to give people a heads up.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 347 ✭✭Wexfordian

I've actually sold the car since. Was completely honest and told the person buying it all about it before they handed over the money. even gave them a copy of the Garda report. They just laughed about it.:confused:

Honest soul. TBH if I was buying a car and was told there was a clone of it out there somewhere, I'd walk away. Brave soul, but fair play.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 92 ✭✭eFlow: Ciaran

Hi all :)

Just to provide clarification on this issue: we appreciate how inconvenient it must be, but unfortunately, eFlow’s automated system can only go by the registration plate that passes through the toll and is picked up by camera - any notifications (toll or otherwise) are issued to the name and address to which that licence plate number is registered (and we are unable to change it as that information can only be inputted/updated by the Driver and Vehicle Licensing Computer Services Division, Shannon).
    If a plate turns out to be a cloned one, it is a matter for the Gardai - any notifications from us and others do act as a flag to alert the customer that the plate has been cloned, and this help the Gardai in their investigation.

Once we have notification from the Gardai of a cloned plate, we are always happy to assist the customer and help get the issue resolved.

Regards
    Ciaran

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,921 ✭✭✭pudzey101

Alot of people hate seen the reg's covered up/hidden on dondeal etc... i think its the smartest thing to do when selling though:)

Hope you find him! and he gets his comeuppance !!:)

edit: this happened to my cousin up in Dublin.. Got numerious speeding fines in the post and court orders for filling up at tesco and driving away:) luckily he was able to prove through work etc it wsnt him but was a big pain in the A$$ :)

Hi all :)

Just to provide clarification on this issue: we appreciate how inconvenient it must be, but unfortunately, eFlow’s automated system can only go by the registration plate that passes through the toll and is picked up by camera - any notifications (toll or otherwise) are issued to the name and address to which that licence plate number is registered (and we are unable to change it as that information can only be inputted/updated by the Driver and Vehicle Licensing Computer Services Division, Shannon).
    If a plate turns out to be a cloned one, it is a matter for the Gardai - any notifications from us and others do act as a flag to alert the customer that the plate has been cloned, and this help the Gardai in their investigation.

Once we have notification from the Gardai of a cloned plate, we are always happy to assist the customer and help get the issue resolved.

Regards
    Ciaran

Just for clarification I was asked to get a register an incident with the gardai which I did but I was then told that I'd need to get a garda report and send it to eflow. I did this but was then told that wasn't good enough and that I would have get my local garda station to forward the incident on to the traffic corps phoenix park.

As for the bit about the Driver and Vehicle Licensing Computer Services Division, Shannon I was still getting fines for the car after I sold it and it was confirmed registered to the new owner by the aforementioned division.

In fact I only stopped getting fines sent out when I got my solicitor to send eflow a "stongly worded" letter.

I stand by my earlier comment "eflow are a pain in the a$$ to deal with."

Wexfordian wrote: »
    Honest soul. TBH if I was buying a car and was told there was a clone of it out there somewhere, I'd walk away. Brave soul, but fair play.

TBH I'd walk away too. Buyer had a full motor check done which it passed with flying colours, had 2 years nct on it and it was definitely priced to sell so maybe they just thought that it was too good to pass up!
    pudzey101 wrote: »
    Alot of people hate seen the reg's covered up/hidden on dondeal etc... i think its the smartest thing to do when selling though:)

Hope you find him! and he gets his comeuppance !!:)

edit: this happened to my cousin up in Dublin.. Got numerious speeding fines in the post and court orders for filling up at tesco and driving away:) luckily he was able to prove through work etc it wsnt him but was a big pain in the A$$ :)

I'm really glad that I didn't get any speeding fines. Penalty points are bad enough when you earn them yourself!
    Guess the guy didn't want to draw too much attention!
    One thing I wondered was if the car was stolen and the guy driving it was sold the car with my plates on it.

Did they catch they guy that cloned your cousins plates?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,921 ✭✭✭pudzey101

TBH I'd walk away too. Buyer had a full motor check done which it passed with flying colours, had 2 years nct on it and it was definitely priced to sell so maybe they just thought that it was too good to pass up!

I'm really glad that I didn't get any speeding fines. Penalty points are bad enough when you earn them yourself!
    Guess the guy didn't want to draw too much attention!
    One thing I wondered was if the car was stolen and the guy driving it was sold the car with my plates on it.

Did they catch they guy that cloned your cousins plates?

No he heard nothing back, and over the whole issue it made him change car..stupid i know !!:) i reckon they have loads of plates already made up at home and only use them on some specific days:/ (im sounding like a cloner now:o) lol seriously though imagine they knocked someone down and an eye-witness read the plates and it came back to your car, and you had no proof of where u were at the time!! awkward:/