Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Implications of Mitchell and FG's performance on Sunday?

• 03-10-2011 9:24pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 228 ✭✭

Does anyone have any views about the potential fall-out from yesterday's Gay Mitchell interview with Dunphy on Newstalk and the press release from Phil Hogan and tweet from Paul Kehoe?

To my eyes, it raises serious concerns about the aftermath of any possible McGuinness victory...

Would Hogan and Kehoe be obliged to resign?

They could hardly be in a government that refused to support the Head of State of this country.

Would they or other members of Fine Gael even turn up for the Presidential Inauguration?

Would they allow McGuinness to travel freely or curtail his movements and try to hound him out of office by a policy of non-co-operation a la De Valera and the last Governor General of the Free State.

Could McGuinness sue Kehoe for those extraordinary remarks?

If Donal Kinsella trousered €10 million for walking around a hotel in the nude what kind of money could you pick up for being accused of living off the proceeds of a huge bank robbery?

Seems to me we might be back to the kind of crisis that developed between FG and President O'Dalaigh when Paddy Donegan lashed him out of it at an official function.

FG have form in these matters after the Donegan incident and Alan Dukes failure to turn-up at the election declaration after Mary Robinson's victory.

Are there any cool heads around government buildings having a quiet word with these players about the potential constitutional fall-out from their current tactics?

Makes you wonder what kind of governance we get and the calibre of people who have to make decisions if we actually have another real crisis as a nation.

Looks like Mitchell has adopted the guise of a suicide bomber who has strapped explosives around his waist ready to detonate both himself and his nemesis McGuinness if he finds himself behind this one opponent in the lead-up to polling day.

Which appears like some kind of narcissistic, self-destructive madness looking at it from the outside in.

Any thoughts?

VG

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,272 ✭✭✭10000maniacs

There is only one thing I picked up from the Newstalk interview on Sunday, that is Gay Mitchell is a nasty little bully with a petty little agenda.
    Dunphy in my opinion fairly and professionally mediated the discussion, curtailing Mitchells extraordinary rants, and for his troubles, Mitchell then starts on him. It was definitely uncomfortable listening.
    It reeked of desperation, a vain attempt to curtail McGuinness.
    It was another P. Flynn moment.
    Before the interview, I had no opinions on Mitchell, now I just find his voice insufferable to listen to.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,012 ✭✭✭✭thebman

I think McGuinness should take him to court after the campaign over those wage remarks. He claimed he was receiving pay as an MP which he isn't as he can't because he doesn't swear an oath to the queen.

That is clearly a lie and Mitchell never apologised for it or rowed back on making the statement to his face in the studio.

Not sure what the law is on it but I imagine your not allowed that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,578 ✭✭✭jonniebgood1

LOL lads, are yous for real?- comedy on the politics forum:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,272 ✭✭✭10000maniacs

LOL lads, are yous for real?- comedy on the politics forum:D

Aw shucks, are we not right wing enough for you.?:rolleyes:
    I for one am getting tired of the right wing homophobic attitudes of the mainstream media, including a lot of the posters here.
    Here is a prime example, I give my independent opinion of the Dunphy Show, here and suddenly I am a comedian. Heres where I stand. I won't be voting for either McGuinness or Mitchell, because I don't agree with their political views, however, I found Mitchells tirade on Sunday a shameful episode. Undignified and unstatesmanlike. Wheres his pride? Wheres your pride as an Irishman? Dunphy was right to be flabergasted at Mitchells rant on Sunday.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 291 ✭✭Biffo The Bare

I don't like where this country is heading under Fine Gael. If Gay Mitchell represents Fine Gael, we are in serious trouble. If he cared to get his facts right when confronting McGuinness on Sunday, that would be something. I even knew McGuiness never claimed an MPs salary, Mitchell didn't. Also according to Mitchell the Irish Republic is made up of 22 counties.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,578 ✭✭✭jonniebgood1

Aw shucks, are we not right wing enough for you.?:rolleyes:
    I for one am getting tired of the right wing homophobic attitudes of the mainstream media, including a lot of the posters here.
    Here is a prime example, I give my independent opinion of the Dunphy Show, here and suddenly I am a comedian. Heres where I stand. I won't be voting for either McGuinness or Mitchell, because I don't agree with their political views, however, I found Mitchells tirade on Sunday a shameful episode. Undignified and unstatesmanlike. Wheres his pride? Wheres your pride as an Irishman? Dunphy was right to be flabergasted at Mitchells rant on Sunday.

I am not bothered what wing you think I would support, right or left.

The comments including yours are laced with hyperbole (P. Flynn moment- come on!) and yes I laughed at them as I am sure others would too. Naturally I am also sure people would agree with your sentiments so you have no need to be offended.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,417 ✭✭✭Count Dooku

Michael D. Higgins is the clear favourite, Fine Gael are the attack dogs. Mitchell’s function is now to take the fight to McGuinness, Norris, Dana, and anyone else that threatens Higgins. Mitchell does not care about transfers. His job is to hoover up enough votes and then when the time comes to convince that vote to transfer to his coalition partner. Job done for team government.

Michael D. Higgins has won the debates so far. It is above the attacks, with Mitchell getting stuck in Michael D. is presented as the calm unifying force that everyone likes. It is essential he remains so. It keeps him transfer friendly and it stops people getting annoyed by anything he says.

Unless other candidates wake up to the strategy, it could already be game over and Michael D. will be booking the removal vans to take him to the Áras. Fine Gael will not attack him, and the others are too busy responding to Fine Gael attacks on them.
    http://www.independent.ie/entertainment/tv-radio/last-nights-tv-primetime-presential-debate-2891656.html

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,417 ✭✭✭reprazant

thebman wrote: »
    I think McGuinness should take him to court after the campaign over those wage remarks. He claimed he was receiving pay as an MP which he isn't as he can't because he doesn't swear an oath to the queen.

He didn't deny though that he took expenses, which is what Mitchell was on about.

Why would you take expenses if you can't even sit in the parliament?

I am open to be corrected on this if anyone can clarify it.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,017 ✭✭✭flash1080

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,012 ✭✭✭✭thebman

reprazant wrote: »
    He didn't deny though that he took expenses, which is what Mitchell was on about.

Why would you take expenses if you can't even sit in the parliament?

I am open to be corrected on this if anyone can clarify it.

I don't know why you would do it, possibly because you are entitled to it despite not sitting in the parliament. It goes into SF anyway and not into MMG pocket according to them anyway.
    http://www.guardian.co.uk/politics/2009/apr/08/sinn-fein-expenses-martin-mcguinness

But it still doesn't excuse accusing him of taking a salary they aren't entitled to and it is impossible to get and then not apologising for making a false accusation. I think if it was anyone other than MMG, many would be taking the other side.

I don't really have interest in MMG becoming president but I think the above probably was against the law.