Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Public "Awareness" campaigns that get your goat

• 03-10-2011 7:05pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 237 ✭✭

I've been trying not to post this but I can hold my peace no longer.
    Every bus stop, hoarding, magazine or TV ad seems to be trying to re-educate me in some way, pull me up for some infraction or force me to think a certain way.
    They are like a visual form of chugging - no matter how noble the cause or sentiment, the judgemental/guilt-tripping/ bullying method turns me right off.
    So which campaigns make you scream internally?

Personally my current pet hate is the Amnesty one against discrimination based on mental health, the ones that go something like

"Which was worse for Phil? Having depression or having to hide it?
    "Mary survived a suicide attempt..having to deal with the gossip was worse"

or some such manure.
    This is such crap on so many levels, I won't even go into it. All I can say to the person who conceived this campaign is if you honestly believe that idle chatter is harder to deal with than a desire to do away with yourself then I have a new tagline for you

"What tortured Joe more? The voices in his head.... or the whispers behind his back?"

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,762 ✭✭✭✭stupidusername

Kumejima wrote: »
    Personally my current pet hate is the Amnesty one against discrimination based on mental health, the ones that go something like

that one pisses me off, because it actually says Mary survived suicide. :mad::confused:

but generally no they don't piss me off, I usually take hardly any notice of them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,438 ✭✭✭✭El Guapo!

I don't have a goat......:(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,030 ✭✭✭✭Chuck Stone

Awareness is everything. The ones about mental health are quite good I think.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,973 ✭✭✭SafeSurfer

Alot of these campaigns are a complete waste of money. People justifying their salaries.

My particular favourite was the one reminding people to wash their hands after they had gone to the toilet and intend preparing food.

I mean what must visitors to the country think after seeing that?

Multo autem ad rem magis pertinet quallis tibi vide aris quam allis

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,332 ✭✭✭Guill

The 37" waist one annoys me everytime.

If i am 4' 9" with 37" waist i am fat, however if i am 6' 5" with the same, I am more than likely not. Scare mongering pr1cks imo.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,808 ✭✭✭FatherLen

Dean09 wrote: »

what kind of loser doesn't own a goat

• Closed Accounts Posts: 19,986 ✭✭✭✭mikemac

He drives, she dies

pic one

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 843 ✭✭✭maygitchell

Cake

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,897 ✭✭✭MagicSean

that one pisses me off, because it actually says Mary survived suicide. :mad::confused:

but generally no they don't piss me off, I usually take hardly any notice of them.

Yeah survived is the wrong word.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,303 ✭✭✭Temptamperu

Guill wrote: »

If i am 4' 9" with 37" waist i am fat, however if i am 6' 5" with the same, I am more than likely not. Scare mongering pr1cks imo.
    :eek: Is that real?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,644 ✭✭✭✭lazygal

The ones about food poisoning. You know, where the faces are all blurred and the actors are like "Everyone who ate the burgers got sick, I can't show my face at the local GAA club I'm so ashamed".

Any over-graphic road traffic ads.

Any with a "won't somebody please think of the children" slant.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,439 ✭✭✭Kevin Duffy

The Bothár on got me quite a few goats. Village is full of them. Thanks Ireland, much love.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,739 ✭✭✭✭starbelgrade

You could be 6' 5" with a 37" waist and be overweight. That bit doesn't make much sense.

In fairness though, if you are 4' 9" with a 37" waist, you're definitely a porker.

You could be 6' 5" with a 37" waist and be overweight. That bit doesn't make much sense.

In fairness though, if you are 4' 9" with a 37" waist, you're definitely a porker.

Exactly!

So we are all agreed, waist size does not determine if you are over weight or not.

Linky

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,751 ✭✭✭Saila

mikemac wrote: »
    He drives, she dies

pic one

with women like that holding the sign it might aswell say "theres an orgy over there, but you are still looking at me arent you"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,076 ✭✭✭gman2k

This campaign really did not get any goats

Exactly!

So we are all agreed, waist size does not determine if you are over weight or not.

They could have made this campaign a lot simpler...

"If you think you are overweight, then look in the mirror.

If you look fat, then you most likely are fat.

Visit safefoods.eu for more information."

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,854 ✭✭✭✭silverharp

the one about how to use a roundabout or motorway exit. what kind of mulchies are finding this out for the first time?

A belief in gender identity involves a level of faith as there is nothing tangible to prove its existence which, as something divorced from the physical body, is similar to the idea of a soul. - Colette Colfer

silverharp wrote: »
    the one about how to use a roundabout or motorway exit. what kind of mulchies are finding this out for the first time?

From my experience, probably about 75% of Irish drivers.

They could have made this campaign a lot simpler...

"If you think you are overweight, then look in the mirror.

If you look fat, then you most likely are fat.

Visit safefoods.eu for more information."

<looks in mirror>

<cries>

:(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 34,418 ✭✭✭✭hondasam

or some such manure.
    This is such crap on so many levels, I won't even go into it. All I can say to the person who conceived this campaign is if you honestly believe that idle chatter is harder to deal with than a desire to do away with yourself then I have a new tagline for you

Do you not think they consulted with the experts before they ran the campaign?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 4,290 ✭✭✭mickydoomsux

silverharp wrote: »

That's more an indication (lol) of how poor Irish drivers are than anything else.

The vast majority of people don't know how to use a roundabout properly.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,940 ✭✭✭4leto

Cancer awareness campaigns, I know they are vital and probably do save lives, but they scare me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,551 ✭✭✭SeaFields

Any road safety advert. I believe they have been proven not to work yet anyone who has lost a loved one in a car accident has to sit through that agony every time one comes on the telly.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,128 ✭✭✭✭Oranage2

I think they should change the drink drive ads to - drink drive responsibly

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,929 ✭✭✭✭ShadowHearth

He drives - she dies....

I fecking go raging everytime I hear that **** on radio.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,933 ✭✭✭holystungun9

Dean09 wrote: »

what's got your goat?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 133 ✭✭SugarCoat

<RANT>Just think of how much money those premium ad campaigns are costing the government aswell.Surely a cheaply made website and a few pamplets would suffice.That way only people who actually want the info get it and the rest of us are left in peace.
    Also most of those tv license ads are absolute crap(except for the podge and rodge ones of course)</RANT>

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,257 ✭✭✭deandean

That brainwashing contra-statistics crap on TV from the RSA about how those screw-the-motorist, nanny-state Speed Cameras are actually "Safety cameras" (with signs of lifebuoys:confused:).

Heh, my first ever rant.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,736 ✭✭✭Irish Guitarist

The ones that bother me are the ones where they show someone being killed or paralysed in a car crash while they play a song I love in the background. "Man Of The World" by Fleetwood Mac was never meant to be used like that (yes I know that's going back a bit). Raise awareness all you like but don't ruin my favourite songs while doing it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 237 ✭✭Kumejima

deandean wrote: »
    That brainwashing contra-statistics crap on TV from the RSA about how those screw-the-motorist, nanny-state Speed Cameras are actually "Safety cameras" (with signs of lifebuoys:confused:).

Heh, my first ever rant.

Is that what it was? I thought it was a short film about French existentialism

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 237 ✭✭Kumejima

I must confess that the Say no to Ageism and Say no to racism campaigns have been very effective
    No way I'll touch that sh1t at parties from now on

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,512 ✭✭✭Oh_Noes

TV license ads with slogans like "could you live with the shame" and the likes, suggesting that not having a tv license is taboo or some kind of social stigma when it's not, nobody really cares who has or hasn't paid TV licenses.

Any road safety ad which has graphic imagery, screaming and tries to force the viewer into worrying about their family members. It's completely inappropriate and downright vulgar IMO. I doubt it changes people's driving either, I remember nothing from those ads other than the music and the drama, I usually switch over as soon as they come on.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,751 ✭✭✭✭For Forks Sake

mikemac wrote: »
    He drives, she dies

pic one

Stupid bint, those reg plates are not road legal, accident was probably her fault

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,372 ✭✭✭im invisible

The ones where the ould lad/one is having a stroke.
    Face
    Arms
    Speech
    Time to call... theres just something unsettling about them, have to change the station whenever they come on

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,398 ✭✭✭✭Turtyturd

Those WWE (it should still be F) 'don't try this at home' ads, we used to copy that sh*t all the time and turned out fine.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,573 ✭✭✭pragmatic1

It always seems to be starving kids in Africa when I'm eating my dinner.

Bring back the ones that used to be on about the dangers of speed (drug) and paramilitary murders in the north.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,611 ✭✭✭✭Sam Vimes

The ones where the ould lad/one is having a stroke.
    Face
    Arms
    Speech
    Time to call... theres just something unsettling about them, have to change the station whenever they come on

Face - has their face fallen on one side?
    Arms - can they lift their arms?
    Speech - is their speech slurred?
    Time - to get naked. The rohypnol's kicked in

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 133 ✭✭SugarCoat

el chupacabra ate my goat :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,202 ✭✭✭amacca

I
    "What tortured Joe more? The voices in his head.... or the whispers behind his back?"

genius..I'm taking that one for my own

• Closed Accounts Posts: 132 ✭✭Up de Barrs

The "Think contraception" ads. The dopey look on yer man's face when he hears the voice saying "have ye taken ye're pill today" would be as good as any contraceptive.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,762 ✭✭✭✭stupidusername

The "Think contraception" ads. The dopey look on yer man's face when he hears the voice saying "have ye taken ye're pill today" would be as good as any contraceptive.

haha :D i said almost the exact same thing about it!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 568 ✭✭✭TheyKnowMyIP

When joe falsified his insurance claim, you paid for it. Insurance Fraud is a crime. Report suspect claims, but leave the Politicians alone!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,417 ✭✭✭ToddyDoody

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,432 ✭✭✭StaticNoise

Forget that. That fecking Carbon Monoxide advert is annoying.
    And any shite that RTE make for their TV licences.