Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Today I did something stupid in my car....

• 30-09-2011 10:09pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 6,096 ✭✭✭

After driving the short trip home from work I entered a round about without slowing down, hit oil and spun.

I felt like a plank:o

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,694 ✭✭✭✭L-M

I went through a roundabout, I was doing about 25mph coming into it and I spotted an auld fart coming on to it, so I just kept going. He hadn't even left his exit before I'd reached mine and the pleasant :rolleyes: Gardaí followed me to tell me how I drove through roundabouts like a prick :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,096 ✭✭✭johnos1984

I was only going about the same speed but the roundabout is basically a U-turn to get to the 2nd exit.

Still felt like a spa though

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,987 ✭✭✭ottostreet

Nothing, I was a credit to talented and courteous drivers everywhere today. I was the essence of perfection, the very essence.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,096 ✭✭✭johnos1984

ottostreet wrote: »
    Nothing, I was a credit to talented and courteous drivers everywhere today. I was the essence of perfection, the very essence.
    That gets boring very quickly though.

I never expected the Passat to do anything remotely exciting like that so wasn't prepared for it

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,363 ✭✭✭alias no.9

I had a blowout on the M4 at 120km/h today, a nice speed wobble but thankfully came under control without much ado. The car was parked up for a week while I was away but I never did a walkaround to check the tyres before heading out this morning.

I just have a niggly feeling that the tyre may have been a little flat and I would have avoided both the danger and the cost of a new tyre had I taken a few seconds to do a basic check.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,434 ✭✭✭Damokc

I was eating sausage rolls and sure didn't I get pastry crumbs all over the seats.tut

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,222 ✭✭✭robbie_998

Damokc wrote: »
    I was eating sausage rolls and sure didn't I get pastry crumbs all over the seats.tut

im a right bollox for doing this

i just eat and drive... did it while following one of the lads in my car behind their van... que me eating sausage roll while driving and him not knowing where he's going and taking last second turns and all over the road too !

no consideration for me trying to eat the feck !

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,093 ✭✭✭Amtmann

I went through a roundabout, I was doing about 25mph coming into it and I spotted an auld fart coming on to it, so I just kept going. He hadn't even left his exit before I'd reached mine and the pleasant :rolleyes: Gardaí followed me to tell me how I drove through roundabouts like a prick :)

I did the very same last August and got two penalty points for "failure to yield", even though there was nothing to yield to. I should have fought it. :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,694 ✭✭✭✭L-M

Tremelo wrote: »
    I did the very same last August and got two penalty points for "failure to yield", even though there was nothing to yield to. I should have fought it. :rolleyes:

Jaysus!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,884 ✭✭✭101sean

I'll have to more careful then, always doing that, used to driving in London where you'd never get anywhere pussyfooting around. Going to get done for driving straight over the top of mini roundabouts as well one of these days, most of them are appallingly designed.

Just about to set off for Limerick and Adare so not had a chance to do anything stupid yet.....