Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

The Late Late Show (Sept 30th) WITH POLL

• 30-09-2011 9:54pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 12,078 ✭✭✭✭

So, you've seen all the candidates perform on the Late Late Show, but who impressed you most? who made the grade, who made a faux pas, who was lacking, which one was exciting, and who do you think should be the next President of Ireland?

The candidates who appeared on the Late Late are listed in no particular order, the Poll is open until 22:50 on Monday (03rd/Oct).

So, you've seen all the candidates, but who impressed you most? 119 votes

Gay Mitchell.
    0% 0 votes
    Martin McGuinness.
    2% 3 votes
    Mary Davis.
    20% 24 votes
    Seán Gallagher.
    0% 1 vote
    Dana R Scallon.
    11% 14 votes
    Michael D Higgins.
    8% 10 votes
    David Norris.
    34% 41 votes
    *None of them impressed.
    21% 26 votes

• Closed Accounts Posts: 24,878 ✭✭✭✭arybvtcw0eolkf

Although I'm in MMG's corner I think Micheal D came out best today.

Gay Mitchell came across ok, liked the guy actually.

Dana was fiesty if anything, but still a bible thumber.

Sean G. I know him pretty well through Judo (he's a Judo black belt) and what you seen tonight is him, nothing put on.

Norris - continues to give me the creeps.

Mary Davis - yuke, didn't believe a thing she had to say.. To me she came across as very insecure.

MMG - Strong, very strong. And sincere.

I wouldn't be making my decision on tonights LLS.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 687 ✭✭✭headmaster

Never liked him, but he's a serious contender, that's Mcguiness. I know after tonight that Mitchel and Davis are non runners

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,078 ✭✭✭✭LordSutch

I thought Higgins came across as being the most Presidential tonight. I thought Norris did well too, (if a little too shrill for my liking), Sean Gallagher also came across well in my opinion. Obviously McGuinness is beyond tarnished, so I won't even bother with him, Dana seemed to be on the verge of crying, and poor old Mary D seemed to be out of her league, nice lady that she is.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,806 ✭✭✭D1stant

Yeah to be fair Higgins was the only one who seemed to be able to genuinely speak off the cuff. Thats pretty important. Gallaghers inabilty on important Dail legistlation in tha last 7 years was extraordinary (even I knew the answer).

GM would just bore every European leader to death. Tourist figures would drop 40% just on the off-chance that they might meet him

Dana is Jim Corr in a frock

MMG is a liar, has never paid tax in this country and knows nothing about it

DN is a pompous whore

SG is on some ego trip and has the office completely confused with the Chairman of Fas

For me I can only choose between MD, MDH. So MDH it is.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,741 ✭✭✭✭Ally Dick

MDH has it in the bag "Come ye immigrants, one and all. You're most welcome in Ireland - despite our economy being up the sh!ts"

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,163 ✭✭✭✭Liam Byrne

I think "impressed" is a little strong, but Higgins was the best of a bad lot, and to some extent it was a little more than being the only one that didn't make me cringe at some stage.....he actually comes across as likeable, level-headed, knowledgeable and statesmanlike.

So "impressed" : no.
    Happy enough to have him as president : yes.
    Happier to have him over and above the others : by a mile.

My only reservation about Michael D is that he may become too frail, or God forbid 'croak' ala President Childers before the end of the seven year term!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,758 ✭✭✭Laois_Man

In the case of Dana, I think she remembered being treated in a mocking manner by Gay Byrne in the equivalent Late Late Show debate 14 years ago - on that occasion she got caught by surprise and allowed herself to be steam rolled and bullied. This time she came ready for it and I think went a little bit too far the other way.

14 years ago people were saying none of the candidates could do as good a job as Mary Robinson had done. This wasn't my own view as I didn't like Mary Robinson too much. But Mary McAleese has been far better. She's been superb. Maybe someone in this pack can surprise in the same way.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,972 ✭✭✭cofy

The role of President, is to make one proud to be Irish. None of the above are capable of doing that. Why fix something that's not broken? I would love to see a pole that includes our present President, How many people think that she is the best person do the job. After all she is the one who knows the job better than anyone else!

This poll closes Monday night (03rd/Oct) at 11pm.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 375 ✭✭superbad50

Senator Norris came across spirited and very amusing , Gallagher blew it on the legislation question , Mitchell gets my vote. He came across extremely well and quick minded in his ability to answer Ryan's questions.

I also think Tubridy redeemed himself and did an excellent job as interviewer. He was direct , to the point and didn't take any crap. Has definitely gone up a few notches in my book

2 certain outcomes from tonights non event were that Tubridy doesn't have a clue in these situations, secondly, Mitchel is out of this race.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,941 ✭✭✭caseyann

You have gotten very key happy with the polls LordSutch lol

Martin impressed me the most,he is articulate and calm and capable of anything thrown at him,he also is really on the side of the people and will not be anyone's guilly.
    I think Dana has heart in right place but no one takes her seriously.
    Michael D higgins is great man in his right, but he is one of them who ****ed this country over and is in to deep with them.

The rest unfortunately did not even make any impression on me.

[QUOTE=caseyann;74694697
    Michael D higgins is great man in his right, but he is one of them who ****ed this country over and is in to deep with them.

That's an interesting observation, can you explain "exactly" what you mean, or better still and probably easier, give us "ONE" example please? :confused:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,012 ✭✭✭✭thebman

cofy wrote: »
    The role of President, is to make one proud to be Irish. None of the above are capable of doing that. Why fix something that's not broken? I would love to see a pole that includes our present President, How many people think that she is the best person do the job. After all she is the one who knows the job better than anyone else!

Probably because she can't run again.

I thought Michael D Higgins was the best and clearly won out overall.

Norris came across as desperate to make up for all that time discussing his controversies and defensive.

Davis came across okay until asked what she did besides the Special Olympics then fell apart.

Dana came across like an honest, sincere, conservative Christian that doesn't like being stereotyped as that.

Gallagher came across as honest but decent enough but not able for the caliber of speech required by the position IMO. I don't think he knows enough about politics to be running TBH though at least he isn't annoying us with posters.

Mitchell might as well have just had a poster of himself in the chair. I can't remember a single point he made and Tubridy didn't ask him any of the questions he asked Dana despite Mitchell also being a conservative christian IMO.

McGuiness did well but too tainted to take it IMO and has to evade the questions everyone expects him to evade which I think actually plays to him a bit over the other candidates as it might shock a few people when they evade questions people don't expect them to need to evade such as Davis and her roles in other Quangos.

I think Higgins was superb. Only one able to quote legislation and what the role of the president is, never attacking another candidate, calm at all times and made his points very well though I still don't know what his changing what it means to be Irish plan actually is TBH other than community initiatives I imagine.

Thought Tubridy did an okay job. He did fairly well at the introduction to candidates except he clearly had a little go at McGuinness IMO. Then during questions he failed to put the same questions to all candidates and some of the questions that are important issues to some of the candidates were not asked of them. For example, Gay Mitchell on his views on Gay Marriage and Gay Mitchell's views on the Cloyne Report. Norris rescued Tubridy on that one by offering to answer the question but he was never asked it. He was either having a go at Dana or letting Mitchell off IMO, I think that was the purpose of the question.

In fact Mitchell seemed to not get any hard questions really which kind of made his entire appearance on the show forgettable.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,163 ✭✭✭✭Liam Byrne

Martin impressed me the most,he is articulate and calm and capable of deflecting and avoiding anything thrown at him

he also is really on the side of the people who agree with and support his blinkered mindset and hasn't a clue in relation to the rest of us.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,467 ✭✭✭jimmynokia

they are all talking through there hoop lets be honest,just like running for government they promise the sun moon and stars and as soon as they get in we get screwed

This 'Late Late show' poll closes at 11pm tonight (Monday/03rd/Oct).

• Closed Accounts Posts: 33 Irishgalclare

I like Michael D. Higgins - I've heard him speak many times over the years and believe he would make a very good President. He has been involved in politics for many years, is familiar with the Constitution and doesn't appear to have any skeletons in his closet.