Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Mary Davis-Individual Interview Late Late Show... your opinions?

• 30-09-2011 9:23pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 143 ✭✭

Mary Davis-Individual Interview Late Late Show...
    Some say she is bland and not very " Independent ", others that she is articulate and driven... How do you think she did?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,846 ✭✭✭Fromthetrees

Boring as ****.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,671 ✭✭✭GarIT

I thought she was terrible, and all she really said was that she wants to lead, lead and do what though?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 442 ✭✭doyle61

Was like watching paint dry

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 959 ✭✭✭maringo

Not impressed so far

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1 acostigan

anyone know what boards she was on?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,089 ✭✭✭✭hotmail.com

State boards, Dennis O'Brien - she's a goner.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,183 ✭✭✭dvpower

Campus Stadium Ireland - the Bertie bowl
    Dublin Airport Authority - the other Bertie bowl

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,824 ✭✭✭vitani

What's the story with this Denis O'Brien guy? I thought she seemed panicked when Ryan brought him up.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,759 ✭✭✭✭dlofnep

Forgettable.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,774 ✭✭✭raymon

Terrible performance.

Tubridy called her out on her quango addiction.

Definitely a trough-snout piggy looking for the next gravy train.

I hate spongers like her and Celia Larkin

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,080 ✭✭✭lmaopml

She did some good work but it's not been concentrated on in the media. She is a big candidate as far as special needs are concerned...- not something to be written off, that's for sure, it's huge in terms of on the ground support....although the very first cuts we've been privy to; thanks very much!

She did a reasonable debate, held her own, but imo didn't have substance for the job of president? - perhaps another day when people know her passion? or passions, which Ryan did a good job of questioning? Nobody seems to know exactly what it is that she would like to be representative of, other than the obvious - What is the brand new Ireland in her opinion? No substance!

Is there a new 'label'? and did everybody design it, and know the design, or is this a personal design? We just want a representative - Very simply, to be President.

Anybody could win this, under current circumstances....and they're all (mostly) mediocre, hair pulling candidates, to outright name calling ones, not to mention populist appealing candidates, whether you are a bleedng heart, or an entrepreneur, a socialist or very much a nationalist...

I'm finding it difficult to choose - there is certainly some choice. My mind is on the actual role of the President and who fits - even if it is square pegs in round holes. Headache....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 752 ✭✭✭cup of tea

Was Mary Davis on tonight?. I must have blinked and missed her.Damn :(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 19,986 ✭✭✭✭mikemac

vitani wrote: »
    What's the story with this Denis O'Brien guy? I thought she seemed panicked when Ryan brought him up.

Involved in all sorts of dodgyness with Minister for Communications when ESAT awarded their license

Once widely admired as a successful entrepreneur

Then sold ESAT and used his clever tax lawyers to transfer assets to Portugal

Now reviled and his publicity stunts like paying money to Irish soccer won't be enough

Not a man you want to be associated with. They did work together on the Special Olympics so not realy the fault of Mary Davis but guilty by association.
    Maybe not fair for Mary Davis but then that's politics

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 776 ✭✭✭Tomk1

lmaopml wrote: »
    She did some good work but it's not been concentrated on in the media. She is a big candidate as far as special needs are concerned...- not something to be written off, that's for sure.

Really did she (for nearly €100,000p/a), or did she just take the credit for the real volunteers. She was also on about 10 differnet boards......money money money, has she ever done anything for free.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 902 ✭✭✭scholar007

Adrianno28 wrote: »
    Mary Davis-Individual Interview Late Late Show...
    Some say she is bland and not very " Independent ", others that she is articulate and driven... How do you think she did?

Mary who? :confused:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,725 ✭✭✭charlemont

Did you see the mask slip when Dana was talking, She didn't look too happy...

I think she means well but she ain't getting a vote off me as she is too inside the system.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,930 ✭✭✭Jimoslimos

When asked what else she had done, she didn't give any sort of proper answer but tried arguing that Special olympics has been a full-time role for her, even post-2003. Which still begs the question, how could she dedicate the time to properly serving on all the quangos she was on?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 523 ✭✭✭jdooley28

really seemed in trouble when asked what had she done apart from the special olympics but I didn't think she did terrible either.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,562 ✭✭✭✭Sunnyisland

Imo she is not experienced enough and comes across as a bit arrogant also seemed to be getting a bit nervous when Tubbs started asking her about denis o'brien.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,588 ✭✭✭femur61

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,948 ✭✭✭gizmo555

acostigan wrote: »
    anyone know what boards she was on?

From her website - 24 in total, not all of them current. She seems to collect directorships the way other people collect stamps!
    • University College Dublin Foundation, Director, 2003-2005
    • Howard Housing Solutions, Director, 2004-2006
    • National Consultative Education Process, Trustee 2004-2006
    • Taskforce on Active Citizenship, Chairperson 2006-2007
    • One Foundation, Advisory Board Member 2006-2008
    • Social Entrepreneurs Ireland, Director 2007-2008
    • St Patrick’s Festival, Chairperson, 2004-2008
    • Broadcast Commission of Ireland, Director, 2004-2009
    • Dublin Airport Authority, Director, 2004-2009
    • Irish Sports Council, Director, 1996-2009
    • ICS Building Society, Director, 2004-2010
    • Bank of Ireland, Mortgage Bank, Director 2010
    • National Sports Campus Development Authority, Director, 2000-2010
    • Irish Times Trust, 2006-2011
    • National Institute for People with an Intellectual Disability, 2006-Present
    • Women’s Executive Network, 2008-Present
    • Boardmatch
    • 2003 European Year of People with Disabilities
    • 2011 European Year of Volunteering, Ambassador
    • O2 Ability Awards, Judge
    • North South Consultative Conference, Chairperson
    • Ireland Funds, Advisory Group
    • City of Science 2012, Advisory Group
    • ‘Your Country, Your Call’, Judge.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,012 ✭✭✭✭thebman

lmaopml wrote: »
    She did some good work but it's not been concentrated on in the media. She is a big candidate as far as special needs are concerned...- not something to be written off, that's for sure, it's huge in terms of on the ground support....although the very first cuts we've been privy to; thanks very much!

An important point is that the quangos she likes to sit on are planned to be shut down by FG or a lot of them anyway. So combining cuts to special needs etc.. and cuts to quangos, she could soon find herself out of job. Unless of course she was to get the presidency ...

I wonder how much of that thinking is behind her decision to run. Overall I do have some respect for her particularly because she comes across as someone that does get things done TBH and because she was involved with the Special Olympics organisation at a global level and not just in relation to its time in Ireland which I think is an important point.

I think she is probably an okay person but she was extremely poor on the Prime Time interview under pressure where as Ryan Tubridy's interviews were a bit fluffy and designed to allow the candidates to say what they wanted to say. Her message is good but when it is questioned, it seems she falls apart and immediately starts trying to dodge questions in an obvious way and sometimes they don't seem like they need dodging which makes you question her judgement.

• Moderators, Politics Moderators Posts: 41,217 Mod ✭✭✭✭Seth Brundle

I'm looking at her site to see why she was appointed to various quangos. Initially she worked with disadvantaged kids in Ballymun. Suddenly every quango all the way up to the Council of State wants her on board. Am I missing a link? Was it down to her association with the Special Olympics?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,388 ✭✭✭gbee

I wouldn't be taken by Mary. She did not have the intention to go for the job herself initially and whilst she would always 'fit in fine' I don't feel she brings any USP.

If I vote more than one, she'll be three or four for me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,774 ✭✭✭raymon

The closing off of the councils to other candidates showed a nasty mean streak.

Definitely just another snout in the FF trough.

This woman is no Mother Teresa

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,299 ✭✭✭✭MadsL

Irish Sports Council, Director, 1996-2009

http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showpost.php?p=58659963&postcount=1

Fiscal oversight is not her strong point

Mary Davis got €190,000 in Fianna Fail quango cash

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 763 ✭✭✭brownswiss

kbannon wrote: »
    I'm looking at her site to see why she was appointed to various quangos. Initially she worked with disadvantaged kids in Ballymun. Suddenly every quango all the way up to the Council of State wants her on board. Am I missing a link? Was it down to her association with the Special Olympics?

I hope the media will put in the missing link fairly soon....

Bertie Ahern and Mary Davis looked very well together in a photo i saw recently ( maybe the Sunday Indo )....

Is Bertie behind her presedential push as he was with her massive collection of Quangos.......

She has received a lot of Taxpayers money thanks mainly to Bertie and his friends

• Moderators, Politics Moderators Posts: 41,217 Mod ✭✭✭✭Seth Brundle

I see that her husband, Julian, has made quite a successful career for himself also with his PR company having the likes of the Department of An Taoiseach as a client.
    http://www.linkedin.com/pub/julian-davis/4/178/796

• Closed Accounts Posts: 264 ✭✭harrythehat

I thought she did quite well.

I'm not a fan but I could see her appealing to people who buy her "non-political" line. And to be fair, you can talk about the quangos and you'd be right, but she's the most non-political we've got.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,388 ✭✭✭gbee

As of now, Mary Davis is off my shortlist and will not be getting a vote from me.

Thanks to all contributors.

I thought she did quite well.

I'm not a fan but I could see her appealing to people who buy her "non-political" line. And to be fair, you can talk about the quangos and you'd be right, but she's the most non-political we've got.

I think she is too closely aligned to the last government and being on so many quangos has to take some responsibility for the mess they left behind....

Not many people will buy her non political line.... i hope

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,299 ✭✭✭✭MadsL

http://www.thejournal.ie/mary-davis-releases-full-tax-filings-and-encourages-other-candidates-to-follow-suit-243849-Oct2011/

Published her earnings. Fair play. Now we need to see MMG's UK and Irish expenses and accounts and GM's Euro expenses.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,012 ✭✭✭✭thebman

MadsL wrote: »
    http://www.thejournal.ie/mary-davis-releases-full-tax-filings-and-encourages-other-candidates-to-follow-suit-243849-Oct2011/

Published her earnings. Fair play. Now we need to see MMG's UK and Irish expenses and accounts and GM's Euro expenses.

Thought Mitchell already said he wasn't going to do that. He gave a rough estimate on the LLS though so maybe he is changing his mind.

MMG expenses need to be published since he says he is on the average wage and he is making it a cornerstone of his campaign pretty much that he will do so if he takes office.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 15 natterjack

kbannon wrote: »
    I see that her husband, Julian, has made quite a successful career for himself also with his PR company having the likes of the Department of An Taoiseach as a client.
    http://www.linkedin.com/pub/julian-davis/4/178/796
    and don't they look after Denis O'Brien too

gizmo555 wrote: »
    From her website - 24 in total, not all of them current. She seems to collect directorships the way other people collect stamps!
    • University College Dublin Foundation, Director, 2003-2005
    • Howard Housing Solutions, Director, 2004-2006
    • National Consultative Education Process, Trustee 2004-2006
    • Taskforce on Active Citizenship, Chairperson 2006-2007
    • One Foundation, Advisory Board Member 2006-2008
    • Social Entrepreneurs Ireland, Director 2007-2008
    • St Patrick’s Festival, Chairperson, 2004-2008
    • Broadcast Commission of Ireland, Director, 2004-2009
    • Dublin Airport Authority, Director, 2004-2009
    • Irish Sports Council, Director, 1996-2009
    • ICS Building Society, Director, 2004-2010
    • Bank of Ireland, Mortgage Bank, Director 2010
    • National Sports Campus Development Authority, Director, 2000-2010
    • Irish Times Trust, 2006-2011
    • National Institute for People with an Intellectual Disability, 2006-Present
    • Women’s Executive Network, 2008-Present
    • Boardmatch
    • 2003 European Year of People with Disabilities
    • 2011 European Year of Volunteering, Ambassador
    • O2 Ability Awards, Judge
    • North South Consultative Conference, Chairperson
    • Ireland Funds, Advisory Group
    • City of Science 2012, Advisory Group
    • ‘Your Country, Your Call’, Judge.

Interesting piece in today's (04/10/11) Irish Independent regarding her directorships of Social Entrepreneurs Ireland and One Foundation:

A LEADING public relations company, of which presidential candidate Mary Davis's husband is a director, was awarded a contract by a charity where the couple both sat on the board.

Fleishman Hillard was given the contract by Social Entrepreneurs Ireland (SEI) while Julian Davis and his wife were both on the board of the not-for-profit charity. Mr Davis personally handled the PR account in addition to his role on the board, the Irish Independent has learned.

Both Ms Davis and her husband last night denied there was a conflict of interest in the award of the contract, which is worth tens of thousands of euro a year to Mr Davis's company . . .

Fleishman Hillard has held a PR contract with the charity since, having previously done similar work for an associated charity, the One Foundation, where Ms Davis was also a director. Ms Davis stepped down from SEI in 2009, but her husband has remained in place.

Mr Davis last night angrily denied that his paid work for the charity represented any conflict of interest. He said both he and his wife had excused themselves from board meetings where the PR contract was discussed.

Asked to explain why he didn't believe it was a conflict he said: "Because it isn't. No is the answer." The charity's chief executive Mr Coughlan also denied the contract represented a conflict of interest . . .

gizmo555 wrote: »
    Interesting piece in today's (04/10/11) Irish Independent regarding her directorships of Social Entrepreneurs Ireland and One Foundation:

A LEADING public relations company, of which presidential candidate Mary Davis's husband is a director, was awarded a contract by a charity where the couple both sat on the board.

Fleishman Hillard was given the contract by Social Entrepreneurs Ireland (SEI) while Julian Davis and his wife were both on the board of the not-for-profit charity. Mr Davis personally handled the PR account in addition to his role on the board, the Irish Independent has learned.

Both Ms Davis and her husband last night denied there was a conflict of interest in the award of the contract, which is worth tens of thousands of euro a year to Mr Davis's company . . .

Fleishman Hillard has held a PR contract with the charity since, having previously done similar work for an associated charity, the One Foundation, where Ms Davis was also a director. Ms Davis stepped down from SEI in 2009, but her husband has remained in place.

Mr Davis last night angrily denied that his paid work for the charity represented any conflict of interest. He said both he and his wife had excused themselves from board meetings where the PR contract was discussed.

Asked to explain why he didn't believe it was a conflict he said: "Because it isn't. No is the answer." The charity's chief executive Mr Coughlan also denied the contract represented a conflict of interest . . .

Definitely no conflict of interests........ cause mr davis and his friend mr coughlan said so

brownswiss wrote: »

Definitely no conflict of interests........ cause mr davis and his friend mr coughlan said so

Oh well, that's all right so!

I thought the debate was rubbish....... None of them deserve the job...

Mare Davis might do it voluntarily if we pay her with donations that were meant for people with disabilities...... she and her husband have already done well in this regard...

Does Dana make you sick every time she waves her bible( constitution )...

I never thought I would be the sort of person to shout at a tv but every time she opens her mouth i let a roar to shut the .... up