Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Changes to Goverment legislation that would make money and help the motorist?

• 30-09-2011 9:39am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 71 ✭✭

With the Taoiseach asking for suggestions on how to improve the economy etc.I think the Legislation/system surrounding how the motorist is taxed in general should be changed to be fairer towards everyone.I have seen previous posts regarding VRT bands rates,VAT duty BIK for business etc and these all involve the goverment loosing some of the Tax take which is fair however are there any ways the system could be made fairer towards everyone without the goverment loosing its tax tax significantly nor the motorist being penalised??

I have one example regarding commercials for instance why cant these vehciles be dual use both private and commercial and have an new VRT rate between 13.3% and its C02 band say 24% and this would get rid of the loophole where private persons drive commercial vehicles (not insured either another issue) either this would allow farmers small business owners to by a commercial and use it at the weekends for tansporting the family (this is common in other european countries).However this would come into effect for new vehicles therefore also increasing tax take in the short term and not putting unessary burden of having two vehicles for the small business owner if the chose to.

Any other suggestions welcome

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 88 ✭✭phoenix0250

Significantly reduce insurance premiums. This will allow more people to buy a vehicle and pay motor tax, hence money going into the government's budget rather than some haughty insurance company that is there merely for profit.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,003 ✭✭✭bijapos

Get rid of motor tax and introduce a levy on petrol and diesel.
    • It gets rid of the whole commercial/private tax situation.
    • Those who use the roads the most will pay the most.
    • System would be fairer as nobody would escape paying.
    • The costs involved in issuing the tax discs and administering the system such as wages and office rental would fall away. The costs involved in court cases, garda time etc in prosecutions would fall away as well.
    • The tax intake would be at source, i.e. at the pumps and would cost nothing to collect.
    France introduced this system a few years ago, have a chat with them and see how they got on.

Put NCT and insurance stickers on the reg plates where they can be seen staright away if the car in insured. It would get more uninsured drivers off the road and might make insurance a bit cheaper in the long run for those who are properly insured.

FFS Enda Kenny/Leo Varadker do not toll the M50, it would drive cars onto side roads and increase congestion. Look at other countries such as Italy and France, they do not toll the motorways around their cities for a good reason.

Encourage people to cycle and use public transport by making it easier to use both. The more people who cycle/bus to work the more space there is for those who need to use the roads to make a living.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,694 ✭✭✭✭L-M

bijapos wrote: »
    [*]The costs involved in issuing the tax discs and administering the system such as wages and office rental would fall away.

I think that's why they're not doing it, all the jobs that will be lost :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,815 ✭✭✭✭Anan1

bijapos wrote: »
    Get rid of motor tax and introduce a levy on petrol and diesel.
    That would be a fairer system all around, but it would have to be done in the North as well.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,483 ✭✭✭✭Vicxas

What about judging everyone on Co2 emmisions? not just Post 08 cars?

Vicxas wrote: »
    What about judging everyone on Co2 emmisions? not just Post 08 cars?
    F*ck that.:)

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 16,620 ✭✭✭✭dr.fuzzenstein

Well, there will be a lot of very intelligent, workable, profitable and cheaply implemented solutions suggested, there will be a long debate, Matt Cooper and George Hook will have job security forever, Joe Duffy will go into meltdown, the tabloids will have a field day, there will be looong, boring and extremely detailed pieces in the more serious newspapers, government studies, reports and you know what will happen?
    Tax and fuel will go up. Because it's the solution that can be implemented in 5 minutes by some bureaucrats who can then go on their 15th tea break. Because the laziest, easiest solution is always the one that wins out once millions have been spent on leeches filing reports.
    Million bucks and my left nut.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,069 ✭✭✭✭CiniO

Anan1 wrote: »
    That would be a fairer system all around, but it would have to be done in the North as well.

Why?
    Fuel prices are higher in the North anyway, and probably still would be even if they put motortax into the price of petrol here.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,930 ✭✭✭✭challengemaster

Reduce the fecking motor tax. People don't pay it because they can't afford it, if it's affordable then they won't mind so much.

That and reduce the damn price of fuel, brings down the cost of goods / services all over, and people aren't afraid to drive more. Means people will travel more and buy more, which is a boost the economy needs.

Oh, and fire Gaybo. And Tubridy. And all the other overpaid RTÉ wasters.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 66,224 ✭✭✭✭unkel

Anan1 wrote: »

Not really. There have always been price differences between the North and the South. Either way. When the prices are higher over in the North, a few petrol stations over there go out of business and vice versa

A few excise dollars will go missing from people in i.e. Drogheda / Dundalk going cross border to get petrol but that's not significant in the total excise intake especially not given the massive benefits through free collection / near total compliance

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,066 ✭✭✭Sandwlch

No such change exists.

Motoring revenue can be collected in a variety of ways, with different aims such as; revenue maximisation, environmental targets, safety, fairness, or balance between private and commercial burdens.
    But modifying these balance of these only changes around who pays and how. You cannot gain more revenue, yet help (by which I guess you mean reduce his bill) the motorist.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,571 ✭✭✭eagerv

Just comparing average prices here and the UK.

At todays exchange rate we are approx 8 cent per litre cheaper for Petrol and approx 20 cent per litre cheaper for Diesel. Cannot see this difference lasting for long..

Sandwlch wrote: »
    No such change exists.

Motoring revenue can be collected in a variety of ways, with different aims such as; revenue maximisation, environmental targets, safety, fairness, or balance between private and commercial burdens.
    But modifying these balance of these only changes around who pays and how. You cannot gain more revenue, yet help (by which I guess you mean reduce his bill) the motorist.
    This is true, but i'd settle for a fairer regime myself.:)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 66,224 ✭✭✭✭unkel

Sandwlch wrote: »
    modifying these balance of these only changes around who pays and how. You cannot gain more revenue, yet help (by which I guess you mean reduce his bill) the motorist.

Yes you can. If you pass half the savings in admin cost on to the motorist, the state gets more revenue and the motorist sees a reduced bill :)

Win win :D