Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Want to join a cycling club?/Cycling Club Advice THREADS MERGED

• 28-09-2011 3:47pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17

Vladimir Kirtins
    Now's the time that most clubs are starting their winter training spins and accepting new members.

We had a thread last year where members of different clubs posted up details of their spins and it seemed to work quite well, so it may be a good idea to repeat the exercise.

I'll get the ball rolling.

My club, Orwell Wheelers, is kicking off its winter spins this Sunday (the 2nd of October) from Joe Daly's bike shop in Dundrum at 9:30. Details here. Check the spreadheet on the front page for routes and spin details for subsequent weeks. There's also a separate spreadsheet outlining distances/speeds of each group.

Anyone else want to post details of their clubs spins?

Hi all. I am looking for some advice please. Am recently back on my bike and looking for clubs around the Meath area. Have experience of racing and cycling in big groups.
    Am living in Dunboyne and looking for clubs in and around that area. Does anyone know of any clubs that are inviting to new members.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,236 ✭✭✭Idleater

There is Dectec in Dunboyne or Lucan cycling club?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 703 ✭✭✭happygoose

Dectek spins started back last weekend from the Grasshopper Clonee, ever Sat & Sun I think. Information on their facebook page.

• Moderators, Politics Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 24,269 Mod ✭✭✭✭Chips Lovell

Now's the time that most clubs are starting their winter training spins and accepting new members.

We had a thread last year where members of different clubs posted up details of their spins and it seemed to work quite well, so it may be a good idea to repeat the exercise.

I'll get the ball rolling.

My club, Orwell Wheelers, is kicking off its winter spins this Sunday (the 2nd of October) from Joe Daly's bike shop in Dundrum at 9:30. Details here. Check the spreadheet on the front page for routes and spin details for subsequent weeks. There's also a separate spreadsheet outlining distances/speeds of each group.

Anyone else want to post details of their clubs spins?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,085 ✭✭✭ba

The Dublin Wheelers have posted about beginners spins here

• Closed Accounts Posts: 172 ✭✭Rofo

Want to join up but don't want to miss the rugby! I don't suppose Orwell could start the spin at 11? :D

Would it be a problem coming along the Sunday after?

• Moderators, Politics Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 24,269 Mod ✭✭✭✭Chips Lovell

Rofo wrote: »
    Want to join up but don't want to miss the rugby! I don't suppose Orwell could start the spin at 11? :D

Would it be a problem coming along the Sunday after?

You could always tape the rugby. ;)

But, yes, there's no problem coming along the following week.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 706 ✭✭✭QueensGael

ThinkBike CC in Rathmines is starting back this weekend also.

MTB on Saturday, Roadies on Sunday. Beginners and Intermediate/Advanced groups for both.

Details here, meet outside the ThinkBike shop (opp Lidl in Rathmines) at 9.15am in both instances. Email teamthinkbike@gmail.com or follow this thread if you've any questions :)

See ye there! :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 411 ✭✭Sr. Assumpta

Website http://www.marblecitycyclers.com/

We are Kilkenny City (/town/whatever) based. We meet at The Castle Gates, on Saturday and Sunday mornings, @9am, until the clocks go back (forward/whatever), then meeting time changes to 10am.

We welcome new members anytime.
    Those who have experience cycling in a group but don't feel like they want to lead it, should aim for Sunday rather than Saturday mornings.
    Those who want more of a workout would be better advised to turn up on Saturdays.
    We tend to be better equipped to facilitate absolute beginners from April on, because this is when we start our member-led Beginners Group spins.

We are currently adapting our Sunday Club Spin to make it more appealing to those who took part in these Beginners Spins on Monday evenings through the Summer. The aim being to encourage these 'Beginners' to continue cycling over the Winter. Mainly this will take the form of ensuring that the Sunday group cycles at a rate, and over a distance, that will keep everyone together (and maybe a coffee stop.....).

The other cycling club in Kilkenny is Castlecomer-based Deenside Wheelers http://www.deensidewheelers.com/

Thanks!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,972 ✭✭✭fat bloke

Usher IRC are trying to get some new blood into the ranks. Going to be starting wednesday night spins soon - lights and high viz's's's. Time tbc. Also Sunday training spins going ahead at the moment, every sunday morning, meeting at the Maldron hotel Tallaght ca 9am.

There's talk of free kit for new members as well !!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 806 ✭✭✭tawfeeredux

From the Lucan Cycling Club's website:
    Beginner / Youth / Women Spins: LCRC riders will lead out the first Winter Beginner Club Training Spin of 2011, From Stagg Cycles at 9.30am on Saturday October 1st at 9.30am. These Spins would suit New riders , Youth Team Riders, and Beginner Women Riders. Contact us in advance through the website to book a place.

• Helmets are Compulsory
    • Riders must have a suitable Road Bike in good condition (Check with Stagg Cycles if unsure)
    • Bring A Mobile Phone , Food, Money, Drink, Spare Tubes and Tyre Levers.
    • Riders will be expected to join LCRC, and Cycling Ireland for 2012 before attempting their second Club spin.
    -
    This Spin will allow for Beginner / Youth / Women Cyclists to join club training at an introductory pace.
    Two experienced Senior LCRC Riders will lead the spin.
    We have added our experienced Riders to a Roster for the first Ten weeks (If you are not on the Roster and would like to help out - contact us ASAP).
    The Spins will leave Stagg Cycles at 9.30am on Saturday Mornings.
    The pace will be 15 to 18mph average
    The Distance will be up to 30 miles (50K)
    Dunno about the booking in advance bit, i'd say you'd be grand if you turn up with your bike on the day. Regular club spins for more experienced riders also at 9:30 on Sat & Sun mornings.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 806 ✭✭✭tawfeeredux

fat bloke wrote: »
    There's talk of free kit for new members as well !!

The old kit or the new one? Haven't seen much uptake on the new kit.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,365 ✭✭✭Lusk Doyle

Swords must not be looking for new members this year. No response to the other "canvassing" by other clubs!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,099 ✭✭✭morana

I will post when the Best team in Dublin resumes training...Ravens,. Small group best training!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,952 ✭✭✭funnights74

Anything in Cork City,nothing too serious, not racing pace but a good workout.:D

• Administrators, Social & Fun Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 78,393 Admin ✭✭✭✭✭Beasty

morana wrote: »
    I will post when the Best team in Dublin resumes training...Ravens,. Small group best training!!!
    ...ah yes - the local MAMILS club;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,992 ✭✭✭Plastik

Anything in Cork City,nothing too serious, not racing pace but a good workout.:D

I've been out with Midleton CC a few times, very friendly bunch. Worth the spin out to in my opinion.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 895 ✭✭✭Dubba

I've been out with St. Finbarrs Cycling Club a couple of times and mean to join soon.
    Friendly bunch of lads who leave from the Bandon roundabout at 10am on Saturdays (& possibly Sundays, not sure).
    The route I did with them was out to Kinsale and back around 60kms at 30k ave. tho I'm not sure if this spin has changed now that the racing season is over.

http://www.facebook.com/pages/St-Finbarrs-Cycling-Club/124680631929?sk=info

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 244 ✭✭murf85

Yeah, Midleton will be starting winter spins and would love to meet anybody who is interested in joining!
    Usually, they leave from the courthouse at 9am, but as far as I know, this week with the rugby we could be heading out around 11 so as you can see we are accommodating too :)

http://www.midletonctc.com/

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,555 ✭✭✭Roger Hassenforder

met those Finbars lads one morning passing Co. Hall, got a few waves of them.
    If I was to join a club, would fake tan be required for my debut?
    assume everything else is covered in OREC
    (http://www.facebook.com/#!/group.php?gid=2258201150)

• Administrators, Social & Fun Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 78,393 Admin ✭✭✭✭✭Beasty

Lusk Doyle wrote: »
    Swords must not be looking for new members this year. No response to the other "canvassing" by other clubs!
    You are allowed to post details yourself ....

Anyway, full details of Swords spins available here

Membership details and lots more very useful information available on www.swordscc.com

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 372 ✭✭ontheditch2

Living in Knocklyon, torn between Usher and Thinkbike. How welcoming are both clubs??

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,508 ✭✭✭Lemag

Cork County Cycling Club. Here's their facebook page.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,150 ✭✭✭kumate_champ07

Sundrive track team have training every saturday morning. theres also a touring section of the club starting this sunday from the phoenix park.
    http://www.sundrivetrackteam.com/

anyone looking for more info on this sundays spin send an email to
    SundriveTTTourGroup at yahoo dot ie

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,972 ✭✭✭fat bloke

The old kit or the new one? Haven't seen much uptake on the new kit.

New one. They had to recall all the first batch of new gear cos the sizing was off and members weren't happy with the quality -the old stuff was leagues better, and better looking too.

Hoping to get the new new gear soon.

Living in Knocklyon, torn between Usher and Thinkbike, have decided that Orwell is too big. How welcoming are both clubs??

Give Usher a shot. There's a good few of us living around the Woodstown / Hunters Wood area. Wednesday spins will be starting at hunterswood, and we'll also be leaving from there to go to Tallaght for the Sunday spins, so you can jump in with us.

You can do the interclub league as well if you join usher (same league orwell are in).

And you're right. Orwell are too big :).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,981 ✭✭✭Diarmuid

Living in Knocklyon, torn between Usher and Thinkbike, have decided that Orwell is too big. How welcoming are both clubs??
    If you plan on racing give Usher a shot. They are part of the best club league in the country,

fat bloke wrote: »

And you're right. Orwell are too big :).
    Can posters avoid making negative comments about other clubs - people unfamiliar with the forum may get the wrong impression even if things are said in jest

I'm in two minds whether to join a S.Dub club so that I can partake in the Usher/Orwell/Tiernans/Lucan club league or to join Bray Wheelers and race with Bray/Sorrento.

Logistically, Bray are the ones to go for so will likely go with them. Anyone have any info on their winter training/new members etc?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 623 ✭✭✭J Madone

Hello
    Brays spins are leisure orientated since the racing season finished, they leave Kilmac flyover at 10 every Sat and Sunday. Nobody gets left behind on the road.
    The routes are posted online
    Here is tomorrows

here is the proposed spin for Saturday....all being well....

- Ashford - Straight on to Wicklow and through Wicklow out on the coast road
    - past Blainroe, at the end of the Blainroe straight turn left (at the 5 mile turn!);
    - Keep going straight past Brittas Bay towards Arklow
    - After about 2 miles you will come accross a Concrete Road;
    - At the end of the Concrete Road there is a right turn which you will take;
    - At the next junction keep going straight;
    - This brings you to cross roads at the top of the "steep hill" before Jack Whites;
    - Turn left out on to the N11;
    - Turning right accross the road;
    - Take the next left (about 1KM) heading for Barrindarrig;
    - Straight through the next cross roads passing the church (Low gears required here );
    - On to the next cross roads, where we will turn right;
    - Dropping down to the Tap road;
    - Turn left at the T-junction and head for Deputy's Pass;

Then Glenealy - Rathnew - Mount Usher for coffee.... and home......

The long spins are normally 80/100 KM give or take
    If you want to do less distance mention it in the group, someone usually has to go back early.
    Coffee stop included.
    There are racers, tourists, Ladies and 70+year old members in these groups.
    A very enjoyable day out to be had. Normally back home before 2 incl coffee stop.
    Will be there myself in the morning.
    Look for a 10yr old white trek with mudguards
    Regards J Madone

Thanks J_Madone. Might make it to that spin in the morning, possibly. I've to sort out the brownie points at home first! Where abouts on by the Kilmac flyover do ye meet, up top on the southbound side?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 278 ✭✭littlemsfickle

Lusk Doyle wrote: »

The first rule of cycling club is you do not talk about cycling club.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,099 ✭✭✭morana

Beasty wrote: »
    Can posters avoid making negative comments about other clubs - people unfamiliar with the forum may get the wrong impression even if things are said in jest

yeah I love all the dublin clubs.....:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,124 ✭✭✭daragh_

I emailed Bray Wheelers during the week and was told-

Bray Wheelers committee members will undertake to run beginner spins from October 15th, starting from Kilmacanogue flyover at 9.45am.
    The spins are ideal for all new and inexperienced members.
    The spins will be approx. 30 to 40kms with a coffee stop included.

Plastik wrote: »
    Thanks J_Madone. Might make it to that spin in the morning, possibly. I've to sort out the brownie points at home first! Where abouts on by the Kilmac flyover do ye meet, up top on the southbound side?

Yes indeed

daragh_ wrote: »
    I emailed Bray Wheelers during the week and was told-

Bray Wheelers committee members will undertake to run beginner spins from October 15th, starting from Kilmacanogue flyover at 9.45am.
    The spins are ideal for all new and inexperienced members.
    The spins will be approx. 30 to 40kms with a coffee stop included.
    Hi Daragh
    Doubt it very much if you will need to join the 9.45 group! Maybe the 9.30 racing training group would be more your speed. Thats Good news about the beginners spins In October .

Plastik wrote: »

My jetski Won't start so will have to give this a miss today.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 167 ✭✭Big Mig

Daragh,

A Bray Wheeler here....give the 10.00am spins a go and see how you go on - if you've been out quite a bit you might be ok...

Bear in mind the beginner spin is to teach people group etiquette amoungst other things so its not just speed based....:D:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17 Albag

Thanks for help.:)

Take 2: Any first timers thinking of heading out with Bray this weekend? Sunday looks to have the better of the weather.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 119 ✭✭monkey 456

In two minds between orwell and a different club in dublkn for youth cycling?. Advice??